Are We Having Any Fun Yet?

flickr 2012 PSQ button and link

Share your progress on our FLICKR pages.

I have heard from so many of you about the fun mail you are getting, and the joy of planning what to do with all those little charms. I hope most of you are actually sewing some together! Welcome to my addiction, I still get excited with every new two-inch charm I cut. If you haven’t done so yet, please take a few minutes to pop your charms or progress photos up on our Flickr page.

You will probably not be surprised to know that all my “quilting time” lately has been centered on the swaps. It took a long time, but I think I am pretty much down to only two loose ends from the swap. This will mean absolutely no thing to most of you, but… Anyone still waiting for resolution on the Double Heather swaps, I am still waiting to hear from one of the pair. As soon as I do, I will have a solution. Next post I will share some of the questions and answers that I have had via email. By the time we get through the next swap, I might just be getting the hang of this.

It did not help that last week our neighborhood internet connection went whack-o, although the service provider said it was all in our imaginations. Once they realized that ten people were having the same trouble, it still took four days to resolve. I wound up spending a lot of time at a coffee shop, on a borrowed laptop. That time was spent on that ever-present “real work” that needed to get done, so I feel really behind with The Curious Quilter. Hopefully, all issues are resolved and I can get online at home when ever the spirit moves me. I have many new things to share with you all!

Yummy SpinachI simply cannot believe that May is flying by so quickly. Here in Minnesota, we have hit the 90 degree days of summer, and now plummeted back to the upper 50’s. Our roller-coaster weather has the growing things confounded, but I am excited to see my two favorite veggies, the sugar snap peas and spinach, progressing nicely. Makes winter seem so long ago. Before you know it, my garden will be available for quilt photos again. If I ever get any finished!

Now I need to go look through all the little parcels that I received and have been patiently waiting to open. More fun coming very soon…Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mom & gramma, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Are We Having Any Fun Yet?

  1. J. Johnson says:

    I can well imagine the complexity of getting these swaps together. I would never take it on myself.

    Forget sending Mary FABRIC treats, people! I suggest we send her our frequent flyer miles so she can take a vacation!

    And THANK YOU for putting these together. I love all the little charms I received, and am cutting for July already.

    – Janet

  2. D J says:

    Mary, Thank you so much for all of your efforts, the charms I received are awesome, my swap partner is grand!!! I got the sweetest Thank You’s from the Newbies for the ones I sent & had so much fun doing it for them. I am preparing for the next swap & hope I get enough to finish my PSQ this fall. In the meantime I am almost done with a Kitty themed, twin Yo-Yo quilt. Hope to post a Sampler Quilt top when I find that camera with internet capability. Off to hunt for it! Take care & thanks again, you are wonderful!

  3. Mary Jean Price says:

    I’m having fun sewing my charms together…however I never received a response to my 2 emails. I signed up for the swap on the first day and never got a partner. I guess I now have to wait until July.

  4. strangemodegirl says:

    Thank you so much for all the effort you put into it! I received some fabulous charms and very nice notes. I am finishing up a larger squared patchwork quilt that I am making for a friend and then plan to get started with my PSQ! I will post pics once I get it underway.

  5. Astrid says:

    Mary, you are doing a fabulous job! Yes, I’m having fun these days, because the charms from my sweet swap partners find their way to my mailbox! I received the first ones last week and there should be more coming this week – just can’t wait! 🙂

  6. Lyn Smith says:

    Mary, I’m a bit behind the 8 ball at the moment. My apologies but I had a Heather as a partner that I never heard from. All my other sets went out, still 1 more to go. Love getting all these little squares of fabric. You are doing a great job with the swaps & I’ve already started cutting for July.

  7. ~ Julie ~ says:

    Being a “newbie” I have received my little charms from MerryMary, Bunny Eisele, and Barbara Walsh! I LOVE what each of them sent!!! I feel a little guilty receiving these, but I’m so grateful for the great start to my charm collection! I can’t wait to have enough to make a whole quilt! That’ll take a while, but I’ll be having fun collecting them! Thanks for organizing such a great swap and thanks, again, to these special women who were willing to share with me! Hugs to all!!! 🙂

  8. Pingback: » Design Wall Monday and Meandering Feathers - L & R Designs Quilting -

  9. Ria says:

    I’ve got most of my charms from the swap, and can’t wait to start sewing! Some of them are so lovely, though, that I’m almost afraid to sew them for fear that I make a mistake and ruin the fabric somehow!

    • Cathy Kieser says:

      Ria, I know exactly how you feel! It is like they are so precious I dont even want to take them out of the baggie.

    • Have no fear, they will be even more lovely in your finished quilt!! PSQ’s are very forgiving of imperfect corners, and there are no rules about color placement. It is the amazing variety of fabrics that make them so fun.

      • Cathy Kieser says:

        Very well said Mary, they are just so yummy looking…kind of like a new box of crayons or a box of Fanny May chocolates….you just dont know where to start!!

  10. GA Quilter says:

    I have received all my swaps,Thanks swappers.Also received e-mails from my 2 newbies,that they had received theirs.
    Mary a great big THANK YOU for all you do.

  11. Cathy Kieser says:

    I have received most of my little treasures. I am still waiting on two. I was a bit dissappointed though when the post man came to the door and said I had to pay postage on two of them if I wanted them. Part of the postage was paid and I had to pay the rest. I am not blameing the person who sent it, I just dont know how this happens.
    I received a very nice not from a newbie. And so glad they are making the effort to start a quilt.
    I want to start on my quilt, but dont know what design to do! So many options! that I just dont know where to begin.
    I also ended up with a Heather in NC. We had already had our swap done before I even noticed the mix up. I do collect 2 1/2 in sq too so not a problem. But if they belong to someone else, I would be happy to send them to someone. But I will be short a 2 in set.

    Mary, you have done a great job. Thinking that I am going to stick with one size next time so it will be less confusing. I am already cutting for the next one! Is that addiction or what?
    Happy sewing everyone!

  12. Astrid says:

    I can add I received 700 charms yesterday, from my swap partners in the US! It was like Christmas and I’m so excited! Still more to come – can’t wait! All my charms were sent out May 4th, newbie gifts were sent May 10th. To those of you who are waiting for my charms; pls allow up to 4 weeks. Don’t know why, but sometimes mail to/from the US and Canada take ages… Heather in VW was on my 2inch swap list, but I was informed before the charms were sent…

    • Barbara Kibler says:

      I received a package of charm squares from Astrid….they are beautiful. I can now say I have fabric from all over the world in my quilt. and an island in the Indian Ocean!
      Barb 🙂

  13. Barbara Kibler says:

    I have received all of my swaps…I have 1000 little squares on my ping pong table! Oh what a sight! Hopefully I will post a picture. I can now start sewing…I wanted to wait until I received all of my squares. also out of 1000 squares only 2 were matches!!!! I thought that was amazing!
    Barb

    • Barbara Kibler says:

      I finished my first project with my little charm squares. i made a sofa cover that will be placed just on the seat of my sofa. I made it with 12 (12 x 12) squares and added two more rows on to make it the right size. It looks wonderful now I have to quilt it. I think I will try machine quilting for the first time. I used 504 squares for this project.
      Next I am making something similar for my car. I blanket to lay on the car seat. It will have more of the children fabric that I have and use it like an “eye spy”.
      I hope to get this on flicker soon.
      Barb

Leave a comment