Domain frustrations, finally FIXED

Oh, my restless and patient or impatient swappers. I have been in a black hole online lately. My apologies, but I feel like I fell down the rabbit hole and am struggling to come back!

phooeyI spent 48 hours getting the matches done, and a few more emailing them out. That was a while ago. But no one got them!

The company that I had my domain registered with closed out and moved us all to a new company. It was supposed to be seamless, and it looked like it. I had a couple hundred emails in my SENT folder. But no one replied, no one had questions. Had I finally managed to pull off a swap without messing up someone’s swap partners? Unlikely.

I watched, and then I got coupe of notes in Instagram, and hey, you guys didn’t get the emails! So I went through and RESENT everything from my SENT folder.

Again no replies. Now my domain is tied to my blog so I wasn’t seeing the dozens of comments either, sorry.

Last week I finally got a live person on the phone at the new domain place. They at first said I was wrong, but several phone calls and a lot of persuasion, and they realized it was a mess. This charming customer service rep said they could recover my sent mail and push it out.

YEAH!

But did it happen? Nope. The emails have now disappeared from my SENT folder as well, and gone nowhere. Poof. vanished. I spent a night being furiously pissed.

Tonight after work I will begin replacing them all. Since I have a busy work week, it will take me a couple of nights at least to get about 200 emails out.

You have my sincere apologies. But thanks for hanging in there too!

After the emails are out I need to figure out what other things got lost in the switch as well.

Also, yes the people with questions all answered me eventually. Turns out we had several guilds and multi-quilter households this round. That messes the ease of the swap up, a they usually share stash, You can guess, if 6 people from a guild all join the swap, they can’t swap with each other. But that means I really have to treat them collectively like ONE person, so their swap partners can’t repeat. 6 people, 16 sets each, that’s 96 partners needed. MESSY. Watch for some rule adjustments next round.
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSwap Signup Closed!© 2015 by The Curious Quilter, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Domain frustrations, finally FIXED

  1. Oh my! What a mess for you. So sorry, hope all goes well now.. Glad to help any way I can, just email. Uh

  2. You are a real hero, Mary, to be able to cope with all that! But it was fun to read your account of the situation.

  3. YVONNE MARTIN says:

    Gotta love technology!! So glad to hear from you Mary and though I hate that you have been dealing such a terrible mess I am glad to know that you or a loved one had not fallen to serious illness or worse. God bless you for everything you do….and on what sounds like a minimal amount of rest. Let the swapping begin!

  4. Merete says:

    My oh my – so good to hear everything is ok 🙂 Looking forward to the mail!

  5. btdean042863 says:

    Just glad to hear this was a technical and not a personal/family problem. Technology is great, when it works!

  6. Suzie says:

    Sounds like a nightmare. Thanks for organising this and bearing all the problems with such good grace!

  7. Lea Springer says:

    Oh you poor soul!!! And here I thought maybe there was something wrong with my email–you just never know! As far as guilds go, why can’t their members do their own exchanges internally or take the chance as individuals that they may end up exchanging with one of their own? What a nightmare trying to organize that one!! My sympathies!!

  8. Nina Talbrant says:

    If something goes wrong everything goes wrong. I admire the work you do for all of us.

  9. Lyn Smith says:

    What a mess. Because I’d joined towards the end of the join up period I assumed I’d not been in time. Maybe I’m still in with a chance.Glad everything is sorting itself out at long last. Thanks for organising another great swap.

  10. lboneberg says:

    So sorry you have had a hard time! Thanks so much for all your hard work, persistence. Although I am a newbie this time, I can imagine how frustrating it is for you. I assumed because I am a newbie all was well with the swap. Thank you so much for organizing all this.

  11. Sandra Gross says:

    Whatever you do you take your time. I, for one, bow down to what you do. Thank you. When the names get here, they get here.

  12. Astrid says:

    Mary, soooo glad to hear from you! I was worried something had happened to you.
    What a pain and mess! Take your time to get the job done. Thanks a million for your hard work!

  13. Salley says:

    Oh Mary. I guessed something was “up”.
    What a ghastly business. You have our admiration. I know how hard it is to be a Swap Mama when things go well . . so this must have been a nightmare. Take your time and put yourself “first” 😀

  14. Ronda says:

    Mary you must have the patience of a saint! I really appreciate your perseverance. Thank you for all your hard work and I am wishing you better luck with tech issues from now on!!!

  15. Lea Springer says:

    I hope I didn’t offend any guild member’s feelings-I realize that my earlier comment could be misunderstood and I didn’t think it through carefully… Apologies if I offended members…

  16. Jacque T says:

    Mary, so glad to hear you are alright!! I was concerned. What a bummer with all those glitches you had. I hope the worst is behind you now. Take your time and take care of yourself, I am fine waiting as others stated above. I truly appreciate your efforts and commitment to this swap. Blessings to you dear lady!!

  17. Julierose says:

    Have you moved? I am just now putting together my postage stamp blocks from last year (2015) and thought you might be interested…Mary. Hope you are ok…and still quilting away..hugs, Julierose

  18. Julierose says:

    Oh I so miss your swaps–I am still doing postage stamp quilts–started a blues one with strips separating the rows….how are you Mary–are you still sewing…. hope so..hugs, Julierose

Leave a Reply

