September 2015 PSQ Charm Swap Signup Begins!

It is time to signup for the September 2015 Postage Stamp Quilt Charm Swap! Please review these simple rule reminders:

Swap CountNewbies

  1. You can only be a NEWBIE once. After that, start gathering for the next swap.
  2. You can request which size charms you are interested in. Every attempt will be made to get that size to you.
  3. You must agree to send a Thank You email to your donor/s once the charms are received.
  4. You understand that your signup information will be shared, but only with your swap donor/s.
  5. You agree to not share your swap partner/donor contact or other info with anyone else and to respect their confidentiality.

Swappers

  1. You may swap sets of 100 DIFFERENT charms in these sizes: 1.5 inch, 2 inch , or 2.5 inches. Charms must be cut from quilt-quality cotton fabric, not flannel or homespuns. ALL SETS MUST BE CUT and ready before you signup to swap.
  2. You may swap up to 8 sets in each size.
  3. You are asked to share sets of 50 charms for Newbies, which is a gift, not a swap.
  4. Mailbox common licenseOver half our swappers are not in the United States, which makes for a terrific variety of fabrics. Everyone is expected to accept at least some International swappers (remember, our swappers who live in Malaysia or Australia always have to ship internationally, so it is fair to return the favor.) If you are swapping more than 8 sets, I suggest you accept at least half international swappers. If you package your charms in a legal size letter envelope, postage rates are often just the “oversize first class rate” Bubble mailers run the cost up significantly. If you are not certain which to do, talk to your swap partner about their mail service before you mail your packet.
  5. You understand that your signup information will be shared, but only with your swap partners and Newbies.
  6. You agree to not share your swap/newbie partner contact or other info with anyone else and to respect their confidentiality.
  7. Angels needed! Please leave a note in the comment section at the end of the signup form (not on this post) if you have some extra sets in case I need “angels” to help round out a swapper’s sets, or replace a lost one.

Everyone
I am serious about the confidentiality factor, so no sharing info about one swap partner with another. People are banned from future swaps if they do so.

Likewise, failure to get your packets delivered to your partners in a reasonably timely fashion can get you blocked from future swaps. If you have a problem, please let me know, or your partners.

Novelty CharmsAnd FINALLY: The point of the swap is to have fun and build the variety of your stash on your way to creating a postage stamp quilt. Everyone has different tastes, budgets, and cutting skills. Please accept your charms with a quilter’s grace, and leave the quilt police out of it. HAVE FUN!

Now, SIGNUP!
This has changed this round. DO NOT signup in the comment/reply section below, just share your excitement over the swap there!

To signup you MUST use this button and complete the form. That’s all there is to it.
SIGNUP IS CLOSED!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2015 by The Curious Quilter, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to September 2015 PSQ Charm Swap Signup Begins!

  1. LM says:

    Will we receive a confirmation once we’ve officially signed up ?

  2. lboneberg says:

    Thanks so much for hosting the swap. I am a newbie and super excited to be part of this.

  3. Gramma Bonnie says:

    Thank you for all your hard work organizing, communicating and following up – with exuberance, skill and lots of enthusiasm!

  4. Love the new form. Hopefully this will make it much easier for you.

  5. Rebecca P says:

    100 different charms per swap? Really? That’s unfathomable to me. Bummer, was looking forward to this! Oh well! Have fun everyone!

    • I asked people a month ago to read the FAQs and Basics-so sorry you were surprised! Consider requesting Newbie gifts as you build your stash!

      • Rebecca P says:

        I’m so sorry! My email came off much harsher than I intended. Just mad at myself for not paying attn to the details. Have a great swap everyone, can’t wait to see the finished products!

    • sukiandme says:

      Really, Rebecca, you can sign up as a Newbie if you do not have 100 different fabrics. Newbies don’t have to do anything but sit back and appreciate the generosity of those who have large stashes!! I was a Newbie in the spring, and now I get to participate with the fabrics I collected over the summer. I am so excited to be able to “give back”. Give it a try. Newbies have fun too. Just remember to show your appreciation with an email!

  6. Vonn says:

    I really like the new format for sign up. Thank you for the additional time it took you to implement that change. Also just want to say that I appreciate you for sharing your love of quilting with all of us and the dedication and hard work it requires of you to host this fabric swap. You certainly have my admiration and respect!

  7. Nina Talbrant says:

    Swapping is so addicting and I appreciate you Mary for hosting this for us. I meet many warm and kind people too and sewing together the pieces from swappers with my stash is very meditative for me

  8. Liane says:

    Due to a shoulder injury, I was unable to cut earlier this year, so I am even more excited to do the swap now! Last year was my first and I enjoyed it so much; the pleasure in sharing and the excitement of receiving each packet in return is just wonderful. Let me add my thanks that you do this. I really need to figure out how to share the pictures of my work in progress; I know that looking at other people’s quilts inspires me.

    Knowing the dates for the swaps this year enabled me to be sure I had time to prepare and allowed me to have more newbie gifts, so I will keep watch for when you announce next year’s dates. Thanks again, Mary!

  9. RM says:

    So excited to be joining this swap. Thanks for all your efforts in hosting.

  10. Sharon Coates says:

    I don’t remember the form asking me how many sets I have to swap. I have 8. Thanks!

    Sent from Windows Mail

  11. Pingback: Day 10 | handwroughtquilts

  12. Virginia Berghuis says:

    I submitted the form earlier but don’t remember seeing a ” thank you ” screen. Is there a way for me to check if I’m in? Sorry about the bother, this is a little like Christmas, isn’t it?

  13. Astrid says:

    Just signed up for the swap. Love the new form Mary!

  14. Pingback: Day 12 | handwroughtquilts

  15. Merete says:

    I’m in – just sent the form 🙂 There were no questions about unique or matching sets – you dont need that info this time?

  16. Tami Moore says:

    I love the new registrations form also. And of course I was careful to make sure I only checked the correct boxes I forgot to see if I got a thank you screen also. You are a saint for organizing this swap. I can’t even get organized enough with get just my own stuff together, lol.

  17. julierose says:

    I am so excited to join in this year as a second year swapper–I have really been able to work on my Rainbow Scrap Challenge squares (2.5″) because of this swap–thanks so much Mary and I am willing to be an angel if needed…hugs, Julierose

  18. Tina Cox says:

    I’m not able to do the swap at this time. I hope be to notified for the April swap. Thank You

  19. Anne Kari says:

    Hello! I entered the swap with 2 to swap and 1 to giveaway, but I can manage 4 to swap and 2 to giveaway. Can you cange my form?? Anne Kari Holli, Oslo, Norway Thank you 🙂

  20. Tammy Zamichiei says:

    Very excited for the swap, have been searching for one for a long time! When I signed up I forgot to add I would be an angel if needed and have plenty cut for newbies also!

  21. Natalie says:

    I can hardly wait! This is my first time taking part in this swap. My squares are cut, sorted and packed all ready to send away. Thank you very much for organising this swap.

  22. Catherine says:

    Thanks so much for organizing this! I’ve signed up as a newbie as it’ll take a while to build up my stash to have enough to donate or swap but I absolutely aim to pass on the generosity in the future. You’re all very kind to do this

Leave a Reply

