Happy Thanksgiving!

It has been a wild and crazy fall, with a big PSQ swap, a new job, an extended bout of pneumonia, and winter deciding to crash the party and hit early and hard. But this weekend brings Thanksgiving, and a time to enjoy friends and family.No Shopping on Thanksgiving! We all need a break from deadlines and are ready to make simple decisions. Apple or pumpkin pie? Why not both?

Personally, I am looking forward to a quiet Thanksgiving, with family, food, football, and conversation. If you have to work on Turkey Day, you have my sympathy. I am not heading out to shop on Thanksgiving Day. I can think of nothing that I need more than time with family and to decompress. Certainly not anything I can only buy on sale that day.

111123052640_small-business-saturday-logo (1)After Thanksgiving, I know the stores will be busy.Why not off to shop until Small Business Saturday. I will visit shops in my area, family run business, small enterprises that help keep my money working in my neighborhood. I will find great gifts and unique items. After the gifts are found, I hope to also shop for me at a local quilt shop. Check out my post Small Business Saturday: Nine Great Ways to Shop Local, Shop Small on that other blog I write for. It includes a link to a site where you plug in your zip code and get connected with small businesses in your neighborhood.

All that said…

Quilter's Despair!

Nightmare on Quilt Street?

It has been four years since I wrote The Dream of the Mad Quilter’s Ball. Nothing like visions of hopeless “to-do” lists and piles of fabric and lint to give someone a nightmare. I had to have some fun with our collective goals for making gifts.

“Now, Singer! now, Brother! now, Janome and Elna!
On, Kenmore, Bernina, on Pfaff and Gammill!
Each machine in its place, Though we know it’s still Fall!
Just stitch away! stitch away! stitch away all!”

That’s a sampling. If you have not read the entire piece, you might enjoy it!  It may inspire you to take some time this weekend to edit down your own  to-do list.

I hope you are able to enjoy your holiday, stay safe, and recharge for the busy month ahead!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comCurious QUIlter Happy THanksgiving© 2014 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. jfruehwirth says:

    My kids are on the MN roads to meet up and head home with friends who live in the area. I have put up the fabric, I have packed the sewing machine and have shopped for their favorite foods. I have made their beds and cleaned the house. I can’t wait to hear their voices and moan about all the laundry they dump in the laundry room. But that is family and I wish you joy during the weekend and thanks for the charms that winged all over the world this Fall because of your passion that had now become my joy. Take care. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. treadlemusic says:

    I absolutely, 100%, agree with your approach and the plans we have made coincide perfectly with your post. Family, food (some football), Macy’s parade and a great deal of thankfulness for all the blessings that have come our way!!! May the Lord heap Thanksgiving Blessings upon you and your loved ones and hugs from a (currently snowing) S.E. MN………………………………..

  3. djmat says:

    What a wonderful day spent cooking, laughing with friends, a parade, and cuddly animals who probably wonder who these people are & where’s that good smell coming from! It’s just another thankful Thanksgiving at our house! Our youngest went to upstate NY to care for elderly aunt until college next semester, so she is enjoying the snow there, but made me queasy until she arrived safely – said a chunk of ice fell off a hwy sign onto her mini-cooper windshield – 10,000 angels on every corner, it did not break! So I’m taking it easy now, kitchen is almost clean & I can dream of quilting again! Good night & blessings to you all!
    hugs,
    DJ

Leave a Reply

