Half Million Hits Celebration: Giveaway Number One

Congrats to Beth T. and Sarah S. whose comments were randomly selected to win this giveaway. This giveaway closed May 3, 2014.

The Curious Quilter 500000 hits celebration logoA little over a month ago, my blog reached a milestone. It had received 500,000 hits, in less than four years. Again, I want to thank you all for coming to visit, coming back, and encouraging me as I pursue my fabric collecting, quilt making, and blog writing addictions. As The Curious Quilter’s fourth anniversary approaches, I will be doing a series of giveaways and tutorials to celebrate.

This time I am celebrating the first year of The Curious Quilter. I am kicking off with a little CQ blog tour, looking back to posts from May 27, 2010 through May 31, 2011. If you have been with me from the beginning, you know it started out pretty quietly, but I wrote prolifically. Actually I started blogging to keep my writing skills sharp, as I had just been laid off from a communications job. I had thought about a sewing or quilting blog for some time, so there I was, with time on my hands, and I dove in! At the six month point, I had an astonishing 50,000 hits.

By early June 2010, in Thoughts from a fabriholic–No Obsessions Here, I shared the first of well over a dozen posts about my own obsession with Postage Stamp Quilts–revealing my tens of thousands of little “two-inch treasures” stashed around my house. I went on to share some humor in a true story called Secret Dealings. That post brought visits from law enforcement officers who were searching for “stash conversations”–some of whom still follow the blog and email me from time to time! The Curious Quilter Glee Club logo-  © by The Curious QuilterThe CQ Glee Club made its first appearance in July 2010 with a rousing parody called Take Me Out to the Quilt Shop! The first two parts of The CQ’s “Cotton We Love” Chronicles appeared (parts three and four are overdue and presently in the works!) There were tutorials in the first year too, including Fusible Appliqué Gift Bags which still gets lots of traffic from beginners and youth groups.

For Celebration Giveaway One, I am giving away two sets of 80 five-inch charms, totally scrappy! Two sets mean two winners! The photo is of a typical set, but no two of my sets are the same. As many of you know, I have a pretty wild variety of fabrics in these sets. These are quilter’s cottons, some vintage, some very new. They are prewashed and rotary cut by a reasonably steady hand, and very handy to have in a scrap pile, or simply to make a quick little quilt.

A scrappy set of  80-5 in charms in fullHow do you enter the giveaway? Anytime before midnight CDT on Saturday, May 3, 2014, leave a comment below telling me something you enjoyed from any post on The Curious Quilter published between June 1, 2010 and May 31, 2011. The posts mentioned above are just a sampling, as there were over 100 in the first year. Click on the ARCHIVES button in the right-hand sidebar to find them all! Be it humorous, informative, a tutorial, or a random thought, please share a brief thought about why you like that post. A random drawing will determine the winners, who will be notified by email within 48 hours of the close of the giveaway. International entries are welcome. While I am telling people about the giveaway on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, all entries must be made in comments on this blog post to qualify.

Thanks for playing along, and for sharing your own quilting delights with me!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comHalf Million Hits Celebration: Giveaway Number One © 2014 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Half Million Hits Celebration: Giveaway Number One

  1. I was thinking about a 5″ charm quilt–just to have around for a gift. This would be a terrific addition, and they can easily be cut smaller should the urge arise. Thanks for your inspiration and for spreading the word on the addictive nature of small squares of fabric.

  2. I enoy all your posts. I have received postage stamp squares as a newbie and hope to join in a swap someday. I have so many projects going this year just cannot add any more at this time, though I am thinking of using my multitude of postage stamp squares as a leader and ender and eventually will have time to put them together.

  3. Pam L says:

    I love the Lady Bug Mug Rug from March 2011. Your blog is so easy to navigate. I looked back to the basic Mug Rug tutorial and it brought all the info back. I really enjoy your blog and am finding more ways to use my 2-1/2 charms all the time. Thanks!

  4. Vic in NH says:

    I’m addicted, too, now, LOL! The part of the Curious Quilter that I have liked the best has been the magnificent swaps and then, later, the beautiful “Show & Tell” expositions of how the swaps were used. Personally, I’m still hoarding mine, LOL!

  5. Cocoplum says:

    I thought your post in early 2011 was very cute: “Basting away again in Margaritaville, Searching for my lost baggie of pins. Some people claim that basting sprays are great, But mostly, to me thread wins.”

  6. Diane says:

    I enjoyed your post of Sept. 13, 2013, reading about the cousins’ farm in Minnesota. What great memories you have about the farmhouse and the pheasants.

  7. Nina Muller says:

    Reading your post from January, 2013 regarding the disposal of rotary cutter blades, made me stop and think of the many sharp things I thoughtlessly throw in the trash. From now on, I will be sure to wrap my old rotary and razor blades, and other sharp objects in a secure little package before it’s tossed. Who knows what treasure someone 500 years from now will discover that he/she will have a use for?

  8. yvonne weiss says:

    I always enjoy reading all your posts, your emails are the ones I don’t hit the delete button! Thanks for all the info you share with us.

  9. annenrob says:

    I loved “Thoughts from a fabriholic–No Obsessions Here”. There is nothing more annoying to me than those quilting magazines that showcase “scrappy quilts” that are made from collections of matching fabric — say what?

  10. Cheri says:

    Oct 21, 2010 – More Stash becomes a Quilt. I am not a scrappy quilter, but made a goal this year to learn to be one …at least a little one! I am learning that there are other ways to use the scraps to make a pretty quilt in stead of just sewing them together! Thanks for the drawing!

  11. Donna DuMouchel says:

    I found your “Things I Have Learned while Cutting Squares” post back in 2011 very helpful. Organization is always a challenge for me.

  12. TexPat says:

    I so enjoy your blog I’m not at all surprised you’ve had a half million hits in such a short time! “Secret Dealings” is one of my favorite posts along with “Thoughts from a fabriholic – No Obsession Here.” I was already becoming a collector of 5″ charm squares and through your blog I fell for 2.5″ little darlings…my goodness they are sooo addicting! Thanks for the chance to win.

  13. Candy Beardsley says:

    I forget the date of the post I was reading, but it was sometime in 2010. Thinning out & shopping your stash sounds like a plan I need to try!! I also am working on cutting up my scraps in specific sizes, in the hopes that will jump start me! LOL….

  14. treadlemusic says:

    November 30, 2010. I jumped into your bloggy world and at the right time!!! It was mug rug time and that’s what was given as hostess gifts, Christmas gifts and, well, ‘any’ gift that year!!!! LOL!!!!! That was the first time I heard of them!!! (sheltered life????) Anyhow, that would be my choice for a fave!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!! And hugs…………………………

  15. ROberta Wilson says:

    I loved your story about the snowy Halloween as I remember how cold Halloween was as a child and how many of my perfect costumes were “ruined” by mom’s insistence that long pants and sweat shirts had to be worn under the princess dress and that even a princess worn ear warmers under her crown – at least those with ear infections died.

  16. Cecilia says:

    I love collecting the charm squares and hope to make a postage stamp quilt one day as well. I enjoy all of your posts, but I really like your batting chart. I am trying to learn about the different batting sand your chart is very helpful. Thanks for the chance to win the squares.

  17. I’ve enjoyed each & every one of your blogs, but I think my favorite is “Thoughts from a fabriholic – No Obsession Here.” I think it was what got me hooked! I love looking at the tutorials & your Gallery. I’ve made several of the PSQ using the 2″ charms & am thoroughly addicted thanks to you! I’m getting ready to make one of the Hundred Hugs quilts for a new grandchild due 10/4. You have a great blog so it’s easy to see why you continue to “get hits!” Happy upcoming anniversary. I’d love to win the give-away & put those charms to use in the Hundred Hugs quilt.

  18. Lydia W. says:

    I enjoyed the applique tutorial post from December of 2010. It is easy to follow. I’ve only tried applique once, and I hope to get better at it! Congratulations 🙂

  19. Mary K says:

    I receive your posts by email. I love reading what is going on in each post. They always inspire and brighten my day. Thanks for the give away.

  20. Cynthia says:

    Love the story of fabric shopping with new quilters. Who hasn’t loved introducing people you know and love to your favorite hobby?

  21. Angela B says:

    Oh this is easy! I LOVED the Mad Quilters Ball. I couldn’t stop laughing and I have gone back and reread it many times. :). Your loved of PSQs is contagious and I’m HOOKED! Thank you!!

  22. djmat says:

    In the summer of 2011 I discovered your site by surfing the web looking for something to occupy my time constructively. Your blog had humor, which I needed at the time, and gave, without a cost, great information in a format that a new quilter, such as myself, could understand. You gave me confidence that I could actually make a quilt (6 finished & 16 in line, plus many more on a wish list). I was inspired to join the fall season swap to see how it worked & have been gathering & cutting fabric for swaps everywhere I can. I love the fun songs, the Christmas ones still make me laugh. I have gone back to work but dream of weekends in my fun room with all that fabric! I am amazed at so many quilters in your swaps that are so giving, friendly, and helpful. It speaks volumes of your networking character. Please don’t put my name in the drawing. I just wanted to tell you how special you are and how you’ve given me renewed purpose & I get an object to visualize the effort. I’m still learning, so keep it coming!!!! Oh, Mary, girl, you ROCK!

  23. Pam S says:

    I loved reading about the history of spam in your July 2010 post! I grew up eating spam and it was a fun blast from the past! I love all your quilty posts too of course. 🙂 Thanks for the fun!

  24. Patty says:

    I’ve been reading your older posts and found the March 2011 post about the zoo at the fabric shop. That was a cute way to describe a few hours at a fabric store.

  25. Willie Loudermilk says:

    I have enjoyed all but 1.This last was great.My fellow swappers responded right away and received all of my beautiful charms.Thanks guys.A special thanks to you Mary.
    I especially enjoyed making Bonnie H’s Nines in the middle with my first and second charmswaps.

  26. Cindy says:

    I’m not sure when I started reading your blog, so I went back and re-read a couple of posts from the first year. The one from May 16,2011 about your love of scrappy quilts ‘hit home’ with me. I love scrappy quilts. When I saw the detailed picture of Summer Breeze, I thought that was just
    like the one I had on my bed. But when I saw the full picture, I knew that you used larger squares than what I had. I think I used 5″ squares cut on the diagonal. I love my quilt. Thanks for all that you share with us.

  27. Linda v says:

    Love the fusible appliqué tutorial!

  28. Chris says:

    I have really enjoyed the several posts on the Cotton we love series. I now live in the South and I have just begun to learn about cotton and how important it is to our economy. I’m a quilter so I know I like to sew with it but that’s all I knew. Thanks for the information.

  29. I like all your posts, but the one I really identify with is “Where´s Mary?” from July 26, 2010.

  30. Beth T. says:

    From July 2010, I remember your post about Chelsea Clinton’s wedding, wondering if she would receive a quilt and reflecting on weddings, marriages, gifts, and wishes. With her newly announced pregnancy, this post seems especially sweet.

  31. Marion Yates says:

    A couple of things stand out for me….Firstly, 27th May is a special day for me too because it is my birthday! Secondly, I can relate to your need to write after being laid off, I have been looking for ‘something’ after I had to leave work to look after my son (has Autism) full time. Finally, I have only just found your blog (by searching for that ‘something’ on the internet) and am so pleased to read you are an avid ‘scrapster’ because I now have to utilise all my scraps, for financial reasons, and am so blessed to find your blog about using all the tiny treasures in my life.

  32. Rhi H says:

    I think my favourite post is the mug rug tutorial (Nov 2010). Not only is it a great tutorial, it was also what brought me to your blog in the first place and discovering charm square swaps. This March was my first swap and I hope to do many more so Thank You Mary for everything you do in making it possible.

  33. Quilting Tangent says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your story of Halloween 1991. You have a nice way of writing, your story flows and you can picture whats going on.

  34. Sherry VF says:

    Love your humor and insight. I especially like your blog about ‘Things I Have Learned while Cutting Squares.’

  35. buntyw says:

    I enjoyed your post back in September 2010 about your mom’s only quilt – it was a fabulous quilt and I loved the hand smocked dress too!!

  36. Carrie says:

    I started following you in late 2012. I enjoyed reading the early posts. Secret Dealings – I laughed knowing it was about fabric but can see why you got a visit from law enforcement.

  37. Shari says:

    While I thoroughly enjoyed ‘secret dealings’ – a favourite from this time was the election candidates ‘I am the Curious the Quilter and I Approved this Message’. Too funny and very memorable. You have a great blog – you have a great sense of humour, write well and share what you know. Thank you.

  38. I started following you just before the October swap. when I found you I went looking for your tutorials on postage stamps. I even printed out so I could have my own postage stamp some day. Last april I started sewing my postage stamp quilt I have the top together, 2 of the 3 borders on and it’s KING SIZE! wow! I love it! already planning my next one…. thanks for the chance….

  39. Sarah says:

    I just found your blog a couple weeks ago, and since I LOVE scrap quilts, I was hooked. 🙂 Congradulations, and thanks for the giveaway!

  40. auntymagpie says:

    I loved Secret Dealings posted on June 29, 2010. I am forever sneaking my purchases into my sewing room before my husband sees. It’s just really nice to know that there are others out there that do that too!

  41. Lyn Smith says:

    I also loved secret dealings, I think every quilter can relate to this. The other one was April 6, 2011 The Big Hug quilt & all the tips on cutting squares.

  42. Donna says:

    I tried to think what was my favorite post and I couldn’t remember any one in particular. Then I saw your sidebar and the easy mug rug and remembered that that was one of the blog entries that help start me on my way to making the numerous mug rugs I continue to make. So I decided to leave a comment which led me to the other comments. As I read them I said “Oh yeah I remember that one too! So now I don’t know which one to chose because there are so many! Keep it up!

  43. auschick says:

    I found this post helpful for understanding fusible appliques. Fusible Appliqué: A Tutorial, A Demo, and a Giveaway

  44. Janet says:

    I couldn’t find the archives button, but I remember the Secret Dealings post. Funny what quilters will do to get their fix. You really did inspire me to put my own addiction to using small bits and pieces out of the closet with your enthusiasm for quilts made with small blocks.

  45. Janie says:

    Your cutting squares 2011 made me start to get my stash a lot more organized. Thanks for the chance.

  46. Sarah S. says:

    I love the cotton stories. I had never thought about all the “hands” that touch fabric. It also made me value my grandmas quilts more. It would be lovely to win the charms! Thank you.

  47. Susan says:

    I first found out about your blog through a picture of your Big Hug on Pinterest in November 2012. I fell in love with the PSQ and wanted to make one. I went to your Postage Stamp Quilt Block – My Demonstration (Aug. 2011) and asked permission to print out the directions. I had started collecting fabric scraps from my friends near & far to get enough little 2″ squares to make my own. My friends thought I was nuts until they saw my finished top. Three of them have now caught the “bug” and any newly acquired fabric scraps that can get four 2″ squares out of it are shared! Thank you for sharing your obsession!

  48. stvitalkatie says:

    I love the scrappy postage stamp quilts you have made and looking at finishes, so my favourite is probably Another Big Hug! Finishing Feels Great from Sep, 2010.

  49. Lea says:

    I like your quilting humor. Two favorites are The Fabric Whisperer and Taking Up Quilting May Make You a Happier Person. The joy of scrappy quilts is another good one too. 🙂

  50. Deb Lovejoy says:

    I enjoyed reading Betsy Ross posted on July 4, 2010. I have a great love for history which also may be why I am so drawn to quilting because I mainly like the traditional style quilt blocks not so much the new modern quilts. Thank you for all the information you post on your blog, I enjoy reading each post as they come online!

  51. Iris says:

    Love your quilted versions of the Christmas songs (December 2010) – oh how they make me laugh – you are really fabulous at rhyming!
    Let me sew let me sew let me sew!

  52. Angie says:

    I enjoyed your August 2010 post entitled Homespuns Have History. I inherited a good amount of Homespuns and didn’t know the “tricks” for dealing with them. Glad I read through the post! It was very informative!

Leave a Reply

