March 2014 PSQ Swap Wind Up

First things first, because so many of you have asked. There will be a swap later this year, with sign up open from September 20 through October 5, 2014. While you are waiting, I hope you are cutting and packaging. But I also hope you are inviting friends, sharing the swap on your own blogs or on social media, and generally spreading the word. Stay tuned for more info at a later date.

2014-postage-stamp-quilt-swapI really want to thank you all for joining the March 2014 PSQ Charm Swap. Hopefully you are receiving your little parcels and enjoying the wide variety of fabrics that we collectively own. And I do mean variety. When I open a parcel I often find no repeats of fabrics that I have used. Considering that I have made PSQ quilts with 4000 charms and no duplicates, I thought I had seen a lot. But no!

In January 2012 I held my first PSQ charm swap, and 62 people took part. By the second swap that year we had over 230 swappers. Every swap goes on a spreadsheet, which I keep. Last night I combined them all and sorted out the repeats of people who took place in two or more swaps. In the seven swaps to date, 813 different people have traded charms. They have also donated Newbie sets to 227 new quilters who are just starting to collect or sew with these lovely little fabric charms.

Two Inch Treasure FramesWhen all the swap emails are out I always brace myself for the ensuing chaos. This time I received over 500 emails in three weeks, ranging from lovely thank you’s to pure distress. I wish I could just hold off the other parts of life, like cleaning and earning a living, and concentrate on replying and getting things working perfectly. Alas, I can’t, so it takes a while to figure out all the mix-ups or omissions, calm the stress, find the missing swappers, and so on. In the midst of it all, I find out that I left one swapper out by mistake, another one withdrew because of illness, one took three weeks to reply to anyone, and I did some reassigning when swappers failed to follow the rules.

So if you heard from all your partners, and got everything, remember to thank them! Please thank them even if you do not love what they sent you, be it not to your taste, poorly cut, or whatever. If you wrote me about a problem like that, I always followup with the person who sent your charms–an opportunity to educate people about what makes a great PSQ quilt. Sometimes they don’t like what I have to say, but more often they are happy to get some tips.

The point is, the swaps are fun! Do I always use every single charm I get? No, probably not. But my feeling is that every quilter is at a different place in their quilting journey. © CQ PSQ Flickr Photo SamplerAs a community that loves fabric and sewing, it is important to support them all in the best possible way. And, as one person wrote to me when commenting on a problem they had last time, “It’s just fabric, nothing life-threatening.”

Now it is time to stitch up your charms! Remember to share your progress on our flickr page as well.

With this swap finishing up, I am still happy to work to resolve issues if they are out there, but I am planning to put it all away in a week. After all, I have UFOs waiting, the snow that is falling on Minnesota today will surely give way to tulips, then lilacs, and I want to get out in the sun! Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature © 2014 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March 2014 PSQ Swap Wind Up

  1. Nina Talbrant, Sweden says:

    Thank You Mary, I have had fun with swap and especially with the newbie gifts. Will start cutting soon for autumn, and this time I hope I can give to more newbies.

  2. Victoria Osborne says:

    Hi, I received a huge amount of squares today from DesMoines, with no name and no address, I would like to thank whomever this was. Also, I need someone to send the squares I cut, but don’t have aname yet.

    • Victoria – Please check your email for a note from me. You signed up as a NEWBIE, and people receiving Newbie gifts can not swap. Next round! As far as your “mystery donor” the email you received listing your Newbie donors would have the person’s (male or female) name, email, and state. – Mary

  3. djmat says:

    This was a wonderful swap, Mary. Loved sending overseas, always a treat to get charms from them! I got some cool email thank you’s from newbies, they inspire me to finish my PSQ. Have begun selection of all new fabric to cut for the fall. Looking forward to hearing about your activities this summer, love your interesting stories and cool pictures!
    Mary, thank you for hosting, YOU ROCK!!!

  4. Barbara Fisher says:

    Thank you it was fun!! I received seven swappers.

  5. Patti Hacker says:

    I have received two newbie gifts and couldn’t be more thrilled. I am awaiting one from another country and am looking forward to seeing postage from another country! I have been cutting up my scraps and can’t wait to be a full participant next time around. Thanks so much for organizing this!

  6. Astrid says:

    All charms shipped and so far I have received from my swap partner in Europe.
    To my swap partners in the US and Canada, please be patient! They are on the way! 🙂
    Mary, thank you so much for organizing the swaps! You are doing a fabulous job!

  7. Debbie H says:

    Mary, I’d like to thank you again for hosting the swap. I received so many lovely squares from such generous and thoughtful people. I look forward to being a full participant next time!

Leave a Reply

