October Swap Matches Are Coming Your Way

The matching is done, and checked twice. The emails with October 2013 Swap partners are being sent over night and into tomorrow. If you do not have one yet, you will in the next day or two. I thank you for your patience, and I hope that you can connect with all your partners right away.

About the matching: I do make mistakes! If you find one, please let me know right away and I will work to fix it fast. No matter how many times I check, and then have someone else check, some errors still sneak in.

What a swap it was! Almost half the swappers are new to our swaps, which is great! Ten “newbies” from the last round are now swapping. There were well over 100 Newbie Gifts donated, and nearly 800 sets of charms up for swapping. I want to challenge each of you to find a quilting friend who wants to join the fun during the March 2014 swap. The more, the merrier!

The Basics Notes About Mailing The Fine Print


The Basics:

  • When you get your match lists, please take a minute to check the size of the charms on that list.
  • Then email each of your partners, asking for the mailing information. DO NOT FORWARD your email! The names and email addresses of ALL swappers are private and cannot be shared with someone they are not swapping with. I am serious about this, and expect you to respect the privacy of others.
  • Once you receive the mailing info, please send off your little parcels as soon as possible. Then please drop an email back to your partner to let them know it is heading out. See the Notes about Mailing below.
  • When you receive parcels from your partner, please email them and let them know that the parcel arrived. THIS GOES DOUBLE FOR NEWBIES, after all, it is a gift!
  • Check out The Fine Print (below) if you have concerns or questions. What the heck, check it out anyway!
  • Enjoy your new little treasures!


Notes About Mailing:

  • Spam in mailbox

    Check your SPAM folder if you do not see mail soon.

    Always send your fabric charms in little plastic baggies. It keeps them neat, keeps them together should the package get damaged, and keeps them dry. I recommend a slip of paper with the destination address on it be included in the baggies.
  • Put your complete return address on your parcel! This ensures that the person who gets them knows which swapper they are from (and makes that java-deprived postal worker happier too.)
  • Check with your postal worker for mailing options. I have mailed sets of 100 across the USA for about $1.85 in an envelope with a piece of card-stock cut to fit. Then again, I have mailed the same set across the USA for three times that in a bubble envelope.
  • If you are mailing a 50 piece Newbie gift, it should run under $1.00 for USA mailing, and about double that for international.
  • Some kind swappers include goodies like pictures or chocolate or other treats. This is very nice, but not necessary, and it will mean your postage costs are higher, and your packaging materials might be different.
  • When mailing internationally, unless you can squeeze it all into a first class envelope you will have to fill out a Customs Declaration. I always call the parcel “Fabric Samples” and value it at $5.00. In some countries the recipient has to pay a customs fee to get their parcel, and it is based on that value.
  • Remember that mailing times vary, city by city, country by country.


The Fine Print:

  • magnifying-glassFr the first time in these swaps, every set got matched! (Well, except for one newbie gift in the smallest size.) Some people will not swap internationally. That limits swap partners significantly in some cases. I make every effort to distribute available charm sets, and international locations, evenly between swappers.
  • I tried very hard to spread the new swappers around, so returning swappers had as few ‘repeats’ as possible. It didn’t always work. But I think that returning swappers will be pleasantly surprised to see how many new partners they have.
  • If you share your swap partner info with another swapper, even just trying to be helpful and get them connected, you will be on my WATCH list. Yes, people have been removed from future swaps for doing this. If you think swapper one would LOVE to meet swapper two, drop ME a note instead of linking them. I am careful about sharing your contact info, and expect swappers to do the same.
  • We are not swapping to judge each others’ fabric collections or cutting expertise. We are swapping as a fun way to expand our stash. Accept your charms graciously–even if you do not like them! What we like, or consider to be acceptable quality, is subjective. And it is a friendly swap, so please keep it that way. SHOULD THERE BE REAL ISSUES, perhaps start with a friendly email like “Hey Cricket, I got six duplicates in that set. Just wanted to give you a heads up so you can fix it before the next swap.” ANYTHING BEYOND THAT, please email me and let me deal with it. I coach people on fabric choices and cutting techniques. I work with them. If all else fails, I put people on probation until they figure out how to cut, or not to include chiffon pieces. Hey, we all had to learn, this isn’t inborn knowledge.
  • People have real lives beyond swapping, and that can get in the way. If you don’t hear back from your partner, nudge a bit, then let me know. Perhaps they are sick, on vacation, or have a really good reason that the swap has fallen to a low slot on their priority list. They will probably come through when they can.
  • The Curious Quilter (yep, that’s me) really wants people to have fun, share, and nurture their partners, as we all grow our collections. No Quilt Police allowed. Please do not wait for permission, start sewing!

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSwap Lists Are Heading Out© 2013 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to October Swap Matches Are Coming Your Way

  1. Barbara says:

    My first fabric swap!! I’m so excited and will put my envelope in the mail today.

  2. Nina Talbrant says:

    Thank You for the engament You have when getting us swappers together. I look forward to meet earlier and new swappers. Look forward to next swap and bring on friend with me.

  3. Carrie says:

    Many, many thanks for hosting this again. My husband thinks I’m crazy but I love it. It’s like Christmas when those packages arrive in the mail! I look forward to next years swap!

  4. Katherine Duwa says:

    Just wondering is it too late to get in the newbie?

  5. Lea Springer says:

    Thank you so much for including me the “newbie” swap! Doubly exciting when one of my matches sent me charms from Sweden from the same city where I was born!! (I now live in Canada) What a lovely coincidence! Looking forward to participating in the March swap.

Leave a Reply

