Three Years at Seven Dollars

Well, life has repeated itself. Over three years ago I wrote Behold the Steadfast Steam Iron. There I shared the saga of my iron dying (rather dramatically) in the middle of the night. A trip to a 24 store in the wee hours brought me home with a new steam iron, bottom of the line. It cost $6.99.

night owlThe other night, well after 1:00 am, that amazing little workhorse gave up the ghost and shut itself off for good. Three years, seven dollars, a pretty good deal! Especially when you consider how hard a quilter uses an iron.

Off I went to the same store. As you might expect, most the shoppers at that hour are after munchies. Or they, like me, have a personally urgent mission. A lady had a bag of disposable diapers, a pair of teens had a can of Fix-A-Flat and a case of soda pop, a disgruntled-looking middle-aged man was sheepishly buying female sanitary items. “Bet you have teenaged daughters,” the clerk said to him. He nodded and practically ran from the store.

My new iron was going to set me back $10.99, as their lower-priced model was missing from the shelf. “That’s not something we sell every night,” the clerk said with a chuckle. “Let me guess, job interview in the morning?”

“Nope,” I said. The clerk looked at me as though she expected more information. I simply cradled my new toy and sauntered back to my car. Out in the parking lot, the teen boys were struggling with their flat tire. The father of teen girls had stopped to help them. Kind dad, or maybe just in need of some male bonding.

Dreaming of ironsI didn’t take my new iron out of the box until the next day. Sure, I could have waited for morning to go shopping. But somehow I slept better, knowing it was waiting for me on my ironing board. It has a two-year warranty. Being more expensive, I hope it outlasts my last one by at least a year. Time will tell.
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Signature©2013, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Three Years at Seven Dollars

  1. I love this. I still have (and use) the hand mixer that I got as a wedding gift in 1971.

  2. Mary Kirwin says:

    That’s a great iron story! Last time I needed a new iron was earlier this year. I picked the cheapest one at Lowe’s for about $25. The brand name is Shark. So far, so good.

  3. Melissa W. says:

    My mother-in-law got me one as part of our wedding gift knowing that I had been using one from the Salvation Army. When I left my first husband I had absolutely nothing but the clothes on my back and I landed at my Aunt and Uncle’s house. I ended up getting just a very few outfits of clothes from local thrift stores until my divorce could go through. This all started in October of 2010…. I met my now new husband in very late March 2011 and knew then he was so totally different then the abusive man I had been married to for 21 years of my life. His family welcomed me with open arms and we soon moved in together even while I was still fighting through my divorce because my ex was being totally uncooperative about everything. His family helped us get the basics we needed for our apartment which was sparse me being disabled and my now husband working back then (now he is permanently disabled do to a serious back injury).

    My future mother-in-law went crazy buying me clothes because I has so few to wear the next thing I new I had a whole closet full. She then learned I loved to quilt, but of course I did not get my sewing machine until the divorce went through. That did not stop my mother-in-law from helping me get my quilting fix. We bought me an ironing board and iron at the Salvation Army Store and found lots of scrap material at thrift shops and she hit the clearance racks like nuts until I had quite a stash started. I washed them all and pressed it all and I took a and made me some patterns for a hexagon quilt and I cut and cut by hand all the pieces and started sewing that quilt by hand. I am still working on that quilt when I go places as it makes a good travel project. I will eventually finish it!

    I did get my machine and started sewing quilts on my sewing machine again. But my point is where there is a will there is always a way when you have a true hobby. I absolutely love my hobby and, by the way, my new hubby of two years now.

  4. Great story. I bought one high end iron several years ago and never liked it. It died quickly and there was no help from the company. Now I have a cheap-o iron that has been faithful for three years and counting.

    • djmat says:

      I keep 3 irons – my quilting iron, the household iron & an old one for my young adult. My iron is awesome & has a cradle on the ironing board, I sing it to sleep when I finish a quilting job while I clean up. Like my computer, I talk nice to it like an old friend! Shh, don’t tell, I have another iron hidden in a box in the garage. Oh, yes, I have a cute little mini-iron in my hobby gear. Grannie’s old iron is my door stop, I beg you, do not tell!

  5. treadlemusic says:

    So curious. I am in need of a new iron and will go the same route you chose. My Rowenta is 25 yrs old. I removed the water reservoir years ago due to leaking.

  6. I will check out thrift stores and look for older good quality heavy irons and then I will test it on low, if an old Iron will hold temp on low it is good, I have a few in reserve that I give to friends starting to quilt, I usually pay about 3/5 bucks and they last . but be sure and check low temp. The old GE with the black handle is a good one, I have found some still in the original box. I love your blog just found it today I am an obsessive fabric hoarder but I do make a lot of quilts. I tend to find one pattern and make it until I get tired of it usually about 10 . but lately I have obsessed over a pattern by Trisha Cribbs turning 20 stained glass and I can’t stop whoa… I am a scrap quilter and only by fabric at the store when absolutely necessary I search thrift stores and good friends left overs. I guess we all have obsessions, I am going to try the postage stamp wish me luck,

Leave a Reply

