I’m in Book (and fabric) Heaven!

Heather Ross Blue Gnome FabricIn July of 2010 I wrote a post for Rae Ann Nilson on her great site Stash Manicure (the site is gone, having evolved into Sew We Quilt and changed along the way.) The post was titled Stash Mismanagement 101, and started out with this paragraph:

Somewhere in my house is a little bit of Heather Ross blue gnome fabric, like in this photo. I am absolutely certain it is here, and recall that there is less than one square foot remaining. I really do want to find it, and use just a teeny tidbit of it. I savor this fabric, and only nibble away at it in the tiniest useable bites. read more . . .

I do admit to loving all my Heather Ross fabrics, but the gnomes have always been my favorite. Most of her earlier fabrics, printed on gloriously smooth and sensual cottons, are out of print. Actually, you can find some of them on eBay, with incredibly high price tags. I saw a fat eighth of the gnomes on pink a couple of months ago, bid up over $43.00.

Heather Ross Prints book and CD

There’s a giveaway coming in this post!

So when the book Heather Ross Prints came out last year, I knew I had to get a copy. I had no idea just what an amazing book it was, though, until I finally picked it up last month. Most often books about a designer, or a set of fabrics, tell how the creative process developed, and give lots of ideas for using the fabric lines. This book is no exception, but it goes so much further.

Heather Ross and her publishers have provided quilters, sewers, and paper-crafters with a book of how-to instructions for reprinting many of her out-of-print fabrics. Her charmingly drawn and nicely colored horses, flowers, frogs, cars, mermaids, bicycles, fish, matryoshkas, fairy tale images and so many others are there. Alas, the original gnomes shows above are not, but the newer version is.

Heather Ross Unicorns from Far and AwayThe book also includes a CD full of her designs, suggested uses, and when you buy the book you are completely free to print any of her original designs on paper, fabric, wallpaper, stationary, curtains, or whatever surface you want. Of course, it is only for personal use, not for resale items, but hey, these are delightful designs! The book has complete directions for items from journal covers to decoupage, aprons to votive lights. And more.

Heather Ross Tadpoles from West Hill linePerhaps even more surprising is the fact that not only does Ms. Ross share these prints, she makes it all doable for beginners with lots of instructions. The book includes chapters on how to use a sewing machine, beginning to use programs like Photoshop, and tons of resources. For printing fabric there is, of course, Spoonflower. But I never realized there were places to print wallpaper and many other things as well.

HEather Ross flower fields from Far Far AwayWell I liked it so much I went back and found another copy to share. Yep, a giveaway for all of my wonderful readers and followers!

The Giveaway–Enter now through 8/11/2013 at midnight CDT

This giveaway is now closed.

This giveaway is open to all my followers and readers anywhere, not just in the United States. The winner will be selected by a random drawing, and the book will be mailed as soon as they give me their address. How long it takes to get to the winner’s hands will depend on where they are.

Heather Ross VansTo enter, leave a comment below. Additional entries can be earned by commenting on my Facebook page. You can share the giveaway announcement on your blog or Facebook page, but drop me a another comment below to tell me where you put it! And, if you share it on Twitter be sure to tell me below. I will also post this on Instagram, if you do too, please cite @thecuriousquilter, better yet repost my Instagram post and tell me about it. Sorry, I am not putting this giveaway up on Pinterest, but I think I am giving you plenty of options for entering the drawing.

I will announce the winner sometime after noon CDT on 8/12/2013, and they need to email me asap to claim the book.

If you want to learn more about Heather Ross and her fabric lines, check out the Heather Ross Blog. And, in case you are wondering, no one else is sponsoring this giveaway, just me!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Signature© 2013 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to I’m in Book (and fabric) Heaven!

  1. Beth T. says:

    What a fantastic giveaway. I was going to leave a comment with my favorite Heather Ross print, but it is impossible for me to choose. The goldfish? The dogs? Those campers? The little girls playing with Breyer horses? Let’s just say that this giveaway is filled with treasures. Thanks so much for sharing.

  2. Mary K says:

    I love the cute prints she has. Thanks for finding the book and sharing with us.

  3. Gill says:

    Thank you for a fabulous giveaway!
    I’m off to check out this book just in case I don’t win!!!!!

  4. Claire says:

    Thanks for sharing! I am a fabric lover and have never seen these. The prints are so cute, and my mind is already churning with ideas!

  5. Lyn Smith says:

    Wonderful giveaway. Would love to win this one.

  6. Lucy D. says:

    I like gnomes too, but those campers are SOOOO cute!

  7. treadlemusic says:

    I wasn’t even aware of this awesome book. It would be a wonderful addition to my “library”. Hugs…..

  8. Kathy Rideout says:

    Hi there. I’m from Canada and I can never find any of her fabrics up here, only when I visit the States, so it would be heaven to be able to print them! As it is I now hoard them too, just using tiny bits in my quilting projects.

  9. June Smasal says:

    Your web site has opened another world for me. I live in the USA…25 MILES FROM A QUILT SHOP so your site gives me information that I would not obtain else where I would love to have her book for my library and share with my two quilt guilds. Our guild sews 250 baby quilts per year for a neo nalal unit in a local hospital.

    June

  10. Carrie says:

    A great giveaway. Thanks for the chance!

  11. Cecilia says:

    I would love to win this book. Just think of the possibilities. Thanks for the giveaway.

  12. charlotte l says:

    I just love the Heather Ross prints. Id love to get my hands on those campers 🙂 Thanks

  13. *Wisher* says:

    wow.. what a great giveaway and i would like to enter the contest. Have followed you over wordpress and also FB> 😀
    thank you for organising a lovely giveaway.

  14. Gretchen Fogo says:

    count me in for the drawing. Liked the variety of the things included, even for more or less non-quilters

  15. Angela Bacon says:

    This book sounds like a must have!! Thanks for the chance to win! 🙂

  16. Brenda says:

    oooh, I’d love some more of the happy camper fabric. thanks for the chance.

  17. Jan says:

    What a great giveaway

  18. Paula says:

    What a lovely giveaway! This book’s been on my wisht list fr so long! Totally out of my budget 😦
    Tks fr the chance! x

  19. mumsyblossom says:

    This book sounds totally amazing! And very generous in spirit. Thanks for a great review!
    Shari

  20. KatieQ says:

    This book does sound heavenly. I have never heard of a designer doing anything like this before.
    Thanks for the generous giveaway.

  21. KatieQ says:

    I already like you on FB so I left a comment.

  22. Sarah Craig says:

    Sounds like a great book – I’ll have to check it out if I don’t win! But I hope I win! Thanks for the chance!

  23. Patty says:

    I love her fabrics. I have a few pieces and don’t want to use it!! The book looks greaat. Thanks for the great giveaway.

  24. Sandy says:

    Thanks for pointing out this book. Amazing design.

  25. Looks like a good one. Thanks for the chance!

  26. M says:

    The pink gnomes is my absolute favourite:)

  27. Nancy Brodeur says:

    I love Heather’s prints too! This book sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

  28. sew surprising says:

    I love it when you learn something new, arent the possibilities endless 🙂

  29. Rachaeldaisy says:

    It’s great to hear a review of this book. I adore Heather Ross fabrics and have a treasured pile that I use sparingly. It’s hard to pick a favaourite but if I had to I’d say the icecream van fabric, and the swimming pool fabric that came out as munki pyjamas. I’m signing up to follow you on Bloglovin.

  30. Astrid says:

    Love the gnomes, so cute. What a lovely giveaway!

  31. JLVerde says:

    Wow. Just wow. I’m relatively new to designer fabrics so there’s a lot of her designs I missed out on. Thanks for having a giveaway.

  32. Rebeckah says:

    Oh gosh! I would love to win!

  33. Karen Richardson says:

    The book sounds great. I’ll look for it at my local library. Would love to win it though!

  34. Glenda Becker says:

    I just accidently ran across your web page today and just loved it. I signed up to receive your e-mail posts before I read about the book give away. You mentioned saving 2″ charms since you were a girl. How long have you been quilting? I just started 3 years ago and am definetly hooked. I have such a long list of quilts I want to do, but the postage stamp it going to the top of my list. Thanks for all your info and the great give away.
    Glenda B.

  35. Sharon Jones says:

    What a marvelous give away 🙂

  36. barbara woods says:

    great book would love to win it

  37. Shawn says:

    I have heard about this book, I would love to win!

  38. What a great give-away. My favorite is the little girls playing with Breyer horses, so cute! I’ll also LIKE you on FB & leave a comment. Thank you for the chance to win.

  39. Nancy D says:

    The campers grabbed my attention! I love fabric that has anything campy on it. The book is new to me but sounds like a winner! Thanks for the chance!

  40. Nancy D says:

    I shared on my Pinterest.
    http://m.pinterest.com/pin/53761789275100512/
    I hope this counts?

  41. Alice says:

    I love those gnomes! I would love to win…

  42. Pam says:

    I recently read a review of this book and it sounded awesome. Your own review confirms that. Thanks so much for this generous opportunity to win! And thanks for your inspiring blog. I love your postage stamp quilt. I have a lot of scraps and am thinking about cutting them into two inch squares.

  43. Chris says:

    This looks like a great book. I can’t wait to actually see it.

  44. Melissa williamson says:

    The gnomes are so cute

  45. Heather Ross has great fabrics. So whimsical and perfect.

  46. Laurie K says:

    Very interested in the book and new adventures

  47. Bonnie says:

    This book would be great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

