Postage Stamp Quilt Swaps & Fun Will Continue

2013-postage-stamp-quilt-challenge-buttonMovie and music lines are running through my head tonight:

“If you build it, they will come.” Movie: Field of Dreams

“You may be right, I may be crazy.” Song Lyrics: Billy Joel

Yes, I built it last year. And you came. And now, you probably are right, I may be crazy, but I am bringing back two swaps for 2013.

I have been a very quiet blogger recently, and many of you have noticed. The 2012 swaps had a much larger response than I expected, and took some time to keep together. As a matter of fact, I cut charms, resolved issues, fielded questions, and tried to keep the wrinkles out of the swaps so much that I barely got time to sew at all last year. Then I found an exciting new job, and gave up only one of my two part-time jobs, and my life changed quickly. Good changes, happy times, but shifting priorities.

I thought long and hard about ending the PSQ madness with 2012, but have decided that there will be two swaps this year. I am aiming for the first one in March 2013, but will announce dates later. I do not anticipate a ton of rule changes, so if you are new to swapping, please read the Postage Stamp Charm Swap pages, found on the content list above. That way you can be ready to sign up when the swap period opens.

On the Postage Stamp Quilt front, please watch for one new post dedicated to the topic every month. This is the first one, just a teaser for the year. Next month will introduce some tweaks to the swaps, and also some partners online, and updates to the supporting pages on my blog. Two months of the year will be devoted to swaps. Others will be show and tell, visits with other PSQ fanatics, and more.

New Year, New Resolutions
And yes, there will be other posts each month, with no mentions of postage stamp charms! Despite the silence lately, as I have been adjusting my life here, I have been busy planning out and preparing a lot of posts for the coming months! You see, I really do love sharing my fabric additions with you, hooking you all on two-inch treasures or other tiny charms, and coming up with tutorials to share as well. Since I have stopped most of my teaching of sewing and quilting in classrooms, I am concentrating on shifting more coaching and sharing back to The Curious Quilter.

I also intend to SEW this year. My UFO stack is horrendous. I need to take in a lot of clothes (another good thing!). There are weddings and babies coming up in our circle of friends—more quilts to sew. My brain is full of questions, inspirations, and ideas waiting for the chance to come out and play!

Mary, The Curious QuilterSo Happy New Year to you all, and I hope you are ready for some more fun, PSQ and otherwise! I know that it is going to be a great year, and am delighted that so many of you want to join in the fun and share the passion for quilting, sewing, fabric, and anything else that comes up. – Mary

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comPostage Stamp Quilt Swaps Will Continue© 2013 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Postage Stamp Quilt Swaps & Fun Will Continue

  1. Mary, you are right, you may be crazy, but it is the kind of crazy we LOVE! Here’s to more fun with little squares!

  2. Alberta in N GA says:

    we knew you couldnt not have at least one or two… great, shall start cutting

  3. Sharon Jones says:

    Long as you are ok, crazy is good lol, these addictions are very time consuming, but no adverse effects, til you start to run out of room and have to buy more storage boxes.

    I admire you Mary, I too have started a new job and moved, so know how priorities have to be prioritised.

  4. Lee says:

    I so enjoyed the swaps last year, but we don’t want you burning out. Whatever you can handle we will take. I look forward to your posts, inspiration and creativity.

  5. Wendy says:

    Mary
    Thank you for everything that you do to keep the swaps going I can only imagine the amount of work it takes. Please know that if you ever need a helping hand I am willing and able.

    All the best, Wendy

  6. Marge Gordon says:

    Nice to hear from you, we’ve missed you!

  7. rutigt says:

    First I thought OH NO………not another swap. I want participate 🙂 LOL Of course I´ll participate! I´m working on my 2 inch rainbow quilt right now and I can´t wait to start on my next PSQ.
    Gun, Sweden

  8. Love your swaps & you have gotten me addicted to the 2″ PSQ charms. I have 2 more under construction! Will look forward to the next swap & your posts. Thank you for keeping this going!

  9. Vic in NH says:

    Hooray! I’m still guilty of just hoarding my pretty 2″ swaps, but I love them! Please also let me know how to purchase extra sets from you on Ebay, thanks!

  10. steph baucum says:

    moved to tiny house with lots of cloth which is all about the tiny house -i Iwill start gathering my squares

  11. Laura Malo says:

    Hi … I would love to participate and have been waiting with bated breath since the end of January for the start date. Will it be posted soon. Thanks … looking forward to it.

  12. Debbie S. says:

    So much work for you, but I’m looking forward to it. Will there still be a swap in 2013?

Leave a Reply

