Thanks for your patience!

I am pretty close to finally getting the emails ready to go! I have to admit, it has been nearly impossible to work on it this week. Five years ago, when I lost my ‘real’ full-time job as communications director for a local nonprofit that closed, I acquired three part-time gigs to keep some cash flow up. I kept looking for another ‘real’ job, while juggling all the other gigs. I interviewed for my new job and started work five days later, so this has beMailbox common licenseen a whirlwind here! One part-time gig is cut off immediately, one is fading over a couple of weeks, and the third is staying with me (the other blog I write for and manage.) Have no fear, The Curious Quilter is not going away. This has been my sanity and happy place ever since I started it, and I love hearing from all of you. (And I absolutely love my new job too!)

Now that I am nearly ready to send out things, I am very aware that email and mail on the U.S. East Coast could be greatly interrupted this coming with the “Frankenstorm Sandy” onslaught. Hopefully, the storm weakens or shifts course, and our New York, New England, and Eastern Canadian swappers are spared the worst. Clearly patienceFrankenstorm Sandy will also be required though if power outages are wide-spread, so please keep that in mind as you try to reach people. And to our friends in British Columbia and other places in the range of yesterday’s earthquake, I am glad that the damage and tidal surge turned out to be as insignificant as it did! I have been on Vancouver Island for a smaller earthquake—a very weird experience.

This week one swapper emailed me asking if I was getting any sewing done, as I keep encouraging all of you to do so. Well, frankly, not much all year! Samples for teaching sewing and quilting mostly, a couple of baby gifts. I am hopelessly behind. After this swap gets done, I intend to park at my sewing machine a lot, however. I really miss it.

Again, thank you for your patience. Watch for the “in the email” announcements soon!Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thanks for your patience!

  1. Fran says:

    Good to hear from you! Good luck on your new job! Three part time jobs are a wonder in this economy….

  2. We, too, have done the make-ends-meet-with-lots-of-smaller-pieces lifestyle. Not fun. But, a blessing all the same. We became grateful to have enough skills that we were still able to find work, even if only in bits and pieces. Now we have a full-time job and almost miss the odd flexibility of being partially employed. Thanks for all you do for all of us.

  3. merrie says:

    all you can do is the best you can do ….quilters are patient people—how else would we be able to produce such beautiful works??? keep up the good work—at your own pace…we all understand…

  4. Karolina says:

    I to work in 3 places and I agree about the six times the effort comment. I´m happy for you and wish you good luck on your new job, and happy sewing!

  5. Wendy says:

    Is it too late to add a name to the list?

    • Sorry, but yes! We will have at least one swap next year though, so keep cutting!

      • DJ says:

        Mary, I hope all is well with you. I suppose quite a few of our precious quilters in the NE are very busy trying to overcome that horrific storm with standing water, ice & snow. My prayers go out to them & to you, dear Mary, for all that you do even with your new job and a LIFE of your own! Hugs, DJ

  6. JLVerde says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for having this swap. I just discovered it (for the october round) and am looking forward to getting my newbie gift.

    I’ve been cutting away and have a set ready so I can be a swapper NEXT time. It’s fun to see how many “to be swapped” groups I can make up while I’m cutting charms for myself.

    I’ve already cut and sewn together (into 4×4 blocks) 200 charms. So I’m well on my way to a quilt top.

    Thanks again for the inspiration (this will be my first quilt!)

Leave a Reply

