October 2012 Charm Swap Closes, the Waiting Begins

closed signThe October Postage Stamp Quilt Charm Swap Signup is closed. Quilters everywhere, feel free to keep cutting and saving up charm sets for at least one swap in 2013.

Now I am going to bury myself in the matching process! I will be joined again by Barbara in Michigan, who is doing the Newbie Gift matches. I know that you all the swappers are eager to get your matches, mail your sets, and get new ones in return. I must tell you that I did not expect to land a new job that starts today when I set this date, but it might slow me down for a day or two. Please bear with me for a few days while I sort it all out!

Two Inch Treasure Frames

Frame fabric with charms.

Newbie donors, and people getting newbie gifts, you will be getting emails from Barb Kibler, who has once again graciously volunteered to shepherd that process along. She will also need a few days to get it all ready to go.

If you haven’t shared your own progress with using up all your fun charms, please do go to our pages on Flickr and share pictures of your charm sets, or your PSQ quilt
progress! Then come back and tell people what you posted, and what you saw there that inspired you.

A stack of charms chained together

500 two-inch treasures, sewn together in a chain of pairs, makes a nice stack.

Oh, and, at the risk of sounding like a broken record, this swapping is not just about collecting charms. You should be SEWING! Even if you do not have enough, you can chain pairs and begin to make your Postage Stamp Quilt grow. If you are not motivated to colorwash or use a fancy design, the classic random look is still stunning, and blocks can be built over months, or even years.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
Signature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October 2012 Charm Swap Closes, the Waiting Begins

  1. Cathy says:

    Thanks Mary for all you do. It must be quite and undertaking to get this all accomplished. I am not on flicker but am on FB so will post a pic there of my granddaughter who did the first block to the quilt we are putting together. To anyone who may get my name. I am going to be on vacation for the first 2 weeks of Nov. But mine are cut and packaged and ready for the mail. All I need is the addresses. And I will have access to a computer, so I will get out my address as well. So if there is any delays from me you will know I am gone. Thanks again Mary!

  2. Sharon Jones says:

    You are a real trooper Mary, do not know how you do it all and a new job to boot. Am excited about this adventure and will continue cutting charms for 2013 swap.
    Thank you for everything you do for us. 🙂

  3. kimr says:

    Hi Mary! Congratulations on the new job! I can’t even imagine trying to organize this whole swap. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your love with us! I just wanted to make a note-that with this impending storm set to hit the Northeast, I may be without power for several days. (I HOPE that isn’t the case, but last August we were without power for 6 days after Hurricane Irene.) So, while I have all of my charms ready to go–I may not have access to my computer for several days. We do have a generator, but my husband is not comfortable running the computer on it. I will get on and get the charms sent out as soon as possible. (Last time I couldn’t have even gotten to the post office, since there were large trees blocking both routes from our street…)

Leave a Reply

