Plain and Simple, Learning to Quilt — A Giveaway

This giveaway is now closed.
If you followed the saga of The Quilt that Gretchen Made, both the beginning and the finishing, you read about two super books. Perhaps Gretchen’s journey has made you want to learn more about these books, or to purchase them for yourself.

S. Bender_Plain and SimpleThe first book, Plain and Simple, A Woman’s Journey to the Amish, was written by artist Sue Bender in 1991, and follows her as her love of Amish quilts takes her to Iowa. There she lives in an Amish household, and learns more about quilts, life, and the importance of simplicity and calmness. This book is a classic, with insights on quilts, life, family, and the process of living.

Learning to Quilt by Lori SmithThe second book, Learning to Quilt—A Beginner’s Guide by Lori Smith, is still a standby on quilting bookshelves. With very detailed instructions for both hand and machine piecing, it is an excellent starting point for any new quilter wanting to try many techniques. The main quilt is a sampler, but there are smaller projects included as well.

When I dropped by my local used book store, I was delighted to find super-clean (near new) copies of both books. I even managed to talk the store into donating them (it pays to be a good customer!) Now I have two books to share in a giveaway! So read on, to see how to win one for yourself.

charm-swap-banner

Want to sign up? Click here!

Now, it may seem unrelated, but recently I asked one reader if she noticed that I had removed my “Other Quilty Giveaways” links from the sidebar. She said “What? I never noticed it was there!” Well, that may have been the problem. For 15 months I worked to keep it current, and people were sharing their giveaway info with me. But, over time, your clicks through faded, and people quit telling me about their giveaways. I am very willing to set it up again, IF there is enough interest. But it takes reader’s suggestions too—sites with giveaways to add to the list.

Thus a book giveaway. To enter: FIRST tell me which book you want (one copy of each available) AND leave a comment about giveaways in general. Do they interest you? Did you use my list? Should it come back? Have you found another site for lists? Any thoughts you have will be appreciated.

Please comment below anytime now through midnight CDT on October 20, 2012. Two winners (one for each book) will be selected randomly, and announced sometime on October 21, 2012. International entries are always welcome. Good luck to all!Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Plain and Simple, Learning to Quilt — A Giveaway

  1. Valerie says:

    I would love either book, as I am a beginning quilter who is a big fan of Amish quilts 🙂

    I am sorry to say that I did not use your list, but I do love giveaways, and I will definitely use it if you bring it back.

  2. love tham both thanks for sharing

  3. betsy says:

    I would love to make an Amish quilt.. I am not familiar with a list. Thank you for the chance.

  4. I’m very interested in the book plain and simple and would love to read that one. I do like givaways but since the chance of winning is slim I seldom participate, only when I really want the price. I feel guilty about not noticing your giveaway list but think the idea is great!

  5. Carolyn S Cecil says:

    Hello! I would like to win Learning to Quilt…. I have purchased Plain and Simple and passed it on to a friend last year. So enjoy living close to an Amish community and being able to enjoy their simple life.

  6. Susan says:

    Hi, Mary. I would love to win the book Plain and Simple. I have sometimes participated in the “other
    quilty giveaways”, and would like to see them come back. It is fun to win something! I also like the “instant stash” links on your sidebar.

  7. Angela Bacon says:

    I would love a copy of plain and simple! I like giveaways but I had no idea you had a link to a list… Lol I probably would have used it! So I vote “bring it back!” 🙂

  8. Margarita says:

    I would love to own ‘Learning to Quilt’, I would give it to my Daughter who wants to make her own quilt but is not game enough to cut into the fabric.
    I too had no idea you had the link, but I love give aways so lets have it back

  9. Sonja Doyle says:

    Hello,

    I would love the book by Sue Bender. I adore her writing, and how she can bring simplicity and order to everyday tasks. I too would love to spend time with the Amish-to be in a simple time, where hard work is looked at as a meditation or prayer.

  10. Roberta says:

    i would love a copy of the learn to quilt. I had used your list to visit other sites and then forgot where i had fond it. Never used it after that.

  11. Shari says:

    Lori Smith’s book would be perfect for me as I very often guide people in to quilting. I’ve already ordered the other book. 🙂

    When it comes to giveaways, I do enter occasionally but I won’t jump through hoops to do it. A simple specific comment is about all I will do. I don’t want to jump around from blog to blog hoping to get free stuff. I have won giveaways in the past, and have hosted giveaways. But these days my time on the PC is more limited and I’d rather read a select few of the blogs I follow to hear their news. Less time on the PC = more time to sew. And let’s face it, and my family will certainly confirm, I don’t need more stuff. If I win this book I will most likely give it or loan it to a new quilter.

    So, while I did notice your list (but not the absence as I usually read your posts on my email and the sidebar is not shown), I did not make use of it.

  12. Rene Trahan says:

    Hi Mary!

    I would be interested in “Learning to Quilt—A Beginner’s Guide.”

    I think I may have been on the tail end of your “giveaways” link. I think I may have spotted a fabric giveaway but it was already closed when I read about it. I generally read your blog entries through my yahoo account on my cell phone versus going to the actual site unless I am looking for something in particular. So, I’m thinking I’m missing quite a bit of information.

    I would be interested if you or anyone else had a giveaway again if it wasn’t something that is very time consuming to complete.

    Thanks for asking for our input 🙂

  13. Donna says:

    I would love to win either book. Thanks for the opportunity. I have participated in other blog giveaways, but only on blogs that I read on a regular basis.

  14. Allison says:

    yes, bring back the list! 🙂 I did use it some for finding giveaways, but when I had one of my own to add to the list, I noticed it was gone. I only enter giveaways for something i very much want, and that don’t make you jump through hoops. {please don’t enter me for the book giveaway. they look lovely, but I’ve run out of space on my quilt book shelf}

  15. Plain and Simple, please.

  16. carol says:

    i didnot ever win and thought it had expired come back and yes I would love the books thanks

  17. Angie says:

    Learning to Quilt is a book I’ve always wanted. May have to buy it if I don’t win! 🙂
    I would check out the link whenever I came by to visit, but I wouldn’t visit just to check out the link. I say do what is easiest for you!

  18. Lucy says:

    I would like either, but prefer the Amish one…that sounds very interesting.~ I missed the list too. I enjoy giveaways and tell people about them too.
    Thanks for this chance to win.

  19. buntyw says:

    I would love to win ‘plain and simple’
    I do not notice your giveaway link but I would definitely use it!

  20. jgp60 says:

    Hi, I just discovered your blog today and have enjoyed reading the story of Gretchen’s quilt – what a great way to finish it for her! This is only the second giveaway I’ve come across. The Learning to Quilt book sounds great: as a beginning quilter I’m sure I would get a lot out of it, so that’s my pick of the two you are offering. I’m not sure if your giveaway applies outside the U.S. though – I’m in New Zealand! The list sounds like a great idea. Thanks!

  21. Hueisei says:

    I love giveaways 🙂 I would like to win Learning to Quilt.. Thanks for the great chance 🙂

  22. happygrape2 says:

    I would love to read the Learning to Quilt —- A Beginner ‘s Guide.
    I enjoy giveaway, it should come back.
    Thank you for sharing your blog and great giveaway.

  23. Turtle says:

    either book would be wonderful, i love giveaways! For crafting they usually get me to try something new i may not have chosen for myself , and I love that! Nope, I seem to have missed your giveaway link as well.

  24. Fran says:

    Plain and simple sounds like the way to a happier existence and I would like to read that book! Qinning is for quilters! I love the thought of using your links and do often as it is fun…

  25. Katie says:

    I would love, Plain and Simple, A Woman’s Journey to the Amish although a quilting book would be useful to me.

    I may have clicked on your link before, but I really don’t like to jump around finding giveaways. I prefer to enter giveaways on blogs I follow, or if I stumble across a giveaway I will enter if I love the blog.

  26. Cheri Moseley says:

    I would enjoy Plain and SImple,.just learning about the real history and purpose of quilts and what they mean to people would be amazing. I like giveaways, I have just never won any in all that I continue to participate in! I have clicked on links in your blog and frankly.. I much prefer that way as if an expert quilter is recommending a site, I know it is good…. as opposed to doing a search for something and having to go to so many sites hoping to find what I am looking for! I enjoy your prespective on things and it always encourages me to continue quilting and learning more about the craft.I appreciate your sharing your talent

  27. Nancy says:

    I adore the Amish quilts and have spent many family vacations in the Pennsylvania Dutch country. I always drool over the beautiful quilts I find there! This is one of my favorite spots of the face of the earth! I would love the second book, Learning to Quilt.
    I’m sorry to say I didn’t notice the giveaways on the sidebar, which is weird for me! I do find them on other blogs and use them too! I love the giveaways and have been a happy winner on more then one occasion. It’s always so exciting!

  28. I enjoy reading about the Amish community and their quilts so I would like to win the first book, Plain and Simple, A Woman’s Journey to the Amish. I do use your list and I love your blogs. Love the give aways too! Hope I win.

  29. Joy says:

    I would love to win “Plain and Simple”. I love give aways. I found you through http://blog.petitdesignco.com/p/quilty-giveaways.html. Bring back the list.

  30. Debra Neiman says:

    Either book would be nice, But :Learning To Quilt” would be great!

  31. DebG says:

    I would like the first book Plain and Simple, and I love giveaways. I definitely use the Quilty Giveaways list as i have it bookmarked.

  32. Kathleen says:

    I would like the Learning to Quilt book if I win. I just discovered your blog but the giveaways list sounds great. Thank you.

  33. Anya says:

    Plain and Simple would be my choice. Thanks for the chance. I participate in some giveaways, but won’t jump through hoops to do it. I especially dislike the giveaways that require me to follow someone’s blog or like them on Facebook, etc. I appreciate those who keep lists, but sometimes I forget to check!

  34. Jenny says:

    I would like the Learning to Quilt book please. I am very new to quilting so haven’t seen many giveaways. I try not to spend all my time reading blogs about quilting but I do get sucked in quite a lot. I probably wouldn’t use a list.

  35. wordygirl says:

    I am a big fan of Lori Smith and would be delighted to win her book.

    I appreciate lists of giveaways. Sometimes I fall behind and don’t enter, but other times I click right through and cross my fingers. If it’s not too much of a hassle, I hope you’ll keep your giveaway list going.

  36. Miyavi says:

    The Learning to quilt very useful for me ^^
    TQTQ 🙂

  37. Sarah says:

    I would love Learning to Quilt! I have looked at it many times, because I was to try hand piecing too. The directions seem so well thought out! Thanks for the chance, and please bring back your “other quilty giveaways” list – the Petit Design one is pretty small!

  38. Charlotte says:

    I would love to read Plain and Simple. I always love a good giveaway. I would cone to this site to look for other giveaways too.

  39. rutigt says:

    I´m a fan of the amish living, so I would love to win that book. I try to participate in different give-aways. A list where I can find them would be nice. Then ,on the other hand, there are days when I couldn´t care less, when I don´t know what to write in a comment and I never win 🙂 I do think I prefer a list after all………., it´s a bit exciting with give-aways 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  40. lee says:

    I would be happy with either book. I didn’t notice your giveaway list button before..darn it. I like giveaways, most especially if I win…lol

  41. Susan says:

    I would prefer the Learning to Quilt book. However, I would be thrilled with either book. There is a community of Amish folks about 50 miles east of where I live. One of my good friends has an Amish granddaughter-in-law. Among other things the Amish are known for their beautiful quilts and beautiful cratmanship. I did not find this through your list. I found it looking around on your blog. I’d love to see a list of giveaways. I think that is a wonderful idea.

  42. Cynthia says:

    I would love Learning to Quilt and would send it to my sis-in-law who wants to learn to quilt. I am very intent on creating a quilting buddy in the family and although she lives across country from me, I have a fantasy that in our old age we will get together to quilt! Fortunately she wants to learn to quilt, lol, so my fantasy could very well become reality!

  43. Thanks all for your entries. I will announce the winner later today, but this giveaway is now closed.

Leave a Reply

