Wandering Wednesday, A PSQ Heart from OZ

The July PSQ Charm Swap is now closed. I still appreciate hearing if you do not get your charms, but I can no longer try to drum up replacements. I know that there are a few loose threads out there still, and I hope the people trying to cope with them stay in touch with me!

Start cutting for October, if you haven’t already. Even experienced swappers should review the basics, or brush up on fussy-cut novelties. Remember, you need to create sets of 100 DIFFERENT charms.

And hopefully everyone is now sewing them together. The goal this year is not to simply collect, but to create something with them. Chain away, make blocks, get quilts assembled, whatever it takes, but sew those charms together!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Shari’s Friendship Heart from Australia

Quilters make friends pretty easily, I think. We can live on the other side of the world from each other, and still delight in quilty goodness. Our politics and senses of humor may vary as widely as our taste in fabric, but still our friendships grow.

Mumsyblossoms PSQ Friendship HeartShari of Mumsyblossom’s World is a friend I found through blogging. She has created a lovely set of directions for using Postage Stamp Quilt fabric charms of any size, and making a Friendship Heart.

Take a visit, and consider making a few of these in any size you want! She included hers in a very special Heart Quilt that you will find on her blog as well.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
© CQ PSQ Flickr Photo SamplerHop over to our FLICKR Group and see the marvelous photos.

There are a surprising number of finished quilts, even from NEWBIES in there! And the works in progress are so varied, I am getting way too many ideas and may have to make a dozen more PSQ quilts myself.

If you haven’t shared your own progress, please do.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Signature
© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wandering Wednesday, A PSQ Heart from OZ

  1. Fran says:

    So good to hear from you and see the pictures on Flicker….I also enjoyed the visit to the instructions for the Heart Quilt and think that is what I might do with my squares….very sweet! Her blog is really nice, also! I received swaps as a newbee…they were delightful!
    They are cut so perfect and I am thinking they used that cutter instead of a rotary…..It would make cutting squares easier for sure!

    • Practice with the rotary cutter! This is an ideal project for improving rotary skills. Perfect is nice, but PSQs are forgiving, Fran. Die cutters often leave more waste, and are not as useful for fussy-cutting novelties.

      I cut all the time, but some days I do better than others, but I use them all.

      Welcome aboard!

  2. I have nearly finished another small-squares quilt. It will be a long time before I tire of these I think.

  3. Sarah says:

    So many PRECIOUS THINGS on Flickr! WTG EVERYONE!

    I may have to start one of these myself, but my UFO pile has become a mountain….

  4. D J says:

    Flickr pics are wonderful! Thanks for the great ideas!

  5. merrie says:

    so many good ideas….i just keep sewing and finding new ways of putting them together..after the Oct swap i will put blocks of a color together and i think it will be beautiful!!! and this one will be mine!!! i can truthfully say it was made from fabric from all over the country!! what fun…

  6. Samantha says:

    Flickr photos are fantastic!
    A really lovely idea that a few of my swappers did this time was include a postcard of their town or city or state…they now all have a place on my sewing room wall.
    Thanks again for another great swap Mary!

    • merrie says:

      what a neat idea…i live in a very small town in the thumb of michigan and have recently found my step-father’s slides which include the main street from 1953 when we had a thriving business area downtown…i will have to have some made up for that..thanks for the idea..i would love getting those too..

  7. Sonja Doyle says:

    Hi Mary, I thought I’d drop you an FYI that all my charms were mailed out the week of August 26th. Yeah! Now to start cutting for the next swap. 🙂 I’ve started sewing my first PSQ and it’s addicting. I had to force myself to stop and make my 4 year old a back to “pre” school outfit. Sincerely, Sonja

  8. Sartenada says:

    Heart is beautiful. I have nearly the same kind of quilted heart in my post published in May4 2012:

    Finnish quilts

    Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

