Feelin’ Good is Good Enough for Me…

No Postage Stamp Quilt Blues
Sung to the tune of My and Bobby McGee, with serious apologies to Janice Joplin and Kris Kristofferson.

Curious Quilter Glee CLub - harmonicaPiecin’ up a stack of charms, totally obsessed
And feelin’ like there’s never enough cache
Time to beg some off of friends, make it a charmfest
Soon everyone is slicin’ up their stash
I pull random scraps out of my piles of bins and baggies
Cut them, count them, send them on their way, yeah
Old machine is stitchin’ fine, it’s chainin’ novelties divine
Waitin’ for more charms for my array, yeah

Sewing’s such a peaceful thing when matching up my pairs
Nothin’ don’t mean nothin’ hon’ if I can’t sew, no no
And feelin’ good is easy, easy, when I cut these squares
Ya know, feelin’ good is good enough for me
Good enough for me, and my quiltin’ posse

musical notes 1From the Newfoundland coastline to the California sun
We’re shippin’ charm squares all around the planet
Past many Malaysian isles to cross the Indian Ocean
By Dutch windmills and over Swedish granite
These tiny parcels we send forth will warm a Yukon night
Serve a South African’s picnic or Aussie’s barbie, yeah
And I find myself a thinkin’ that the world’s a better place
With Postage Stamp Quilts spread all o’er the place, yeah

Sewing’s such a peaceful thing when matching up my pairs
Nothin’ don’t mean nothin’ hon’ if I can’t sew, no no
And feelin’ good is easy, easy, when I cut these squares
Ya know, feelin’ good is good enough for me
Good enough for me, and my quiltin’ posse

La-da-da La-da-da-da La-da-da da-da da-da
La-da-da da-la-da la-da, PSA charms, yeah
La-da-la-da-la-da La-da-la-da-da
La-da-la-da-la-la, Postage Stamp Quilt, yeah
La-da-da La-da-da La da-da La da-da
La-da-da La da-da La da-da
Hey, I’m thrilled to send my little charms, yeah
Lo-da-lo da-la-lo-da-la
Lo-da-la-lo da-la-lo la-la-lo la-la-lo la-la
Hey, hey, me and my quiltin’ posse, yeah, yeah!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comCurious Quilter Glee Club, a chorus of quilters.Come on, admit it. You knew there was a Curious Quilter Glee Club tune coming out of all this swapping! If not, you really should hop back in time and revisit these CQ Glee Club favorites:

My Manicured Stash, sung to the tune of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music
Shall We Sort? sung to to tune of “Shall We Dance?” from The King and I
Take Me Out to the Fabric Shop, sung to “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”
Or any of the numerous other CQ Glee Club offerings!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Feelin’ Good is Good Enough for Me…

  1. J. Johnson says:

    Good grief girl! Do you ever sleep???

    I have known you for over 25 years, and heard you sing (hey folks, she CAN sing!) but am still amazed at the crazy things you come up with sometimes.

    Well done!

  2. Gretchen fogo says:

    It’s Swedish hip hop. You go girl. Gretchen

  3. caroltipton says:

    I think she sleep walks talks sews and sings.

  4. D J says:

    Posse UP!

  5. I will be humming all day–YOUR FAULT!

  6. Mary Kirwin says:

    I’m not in your charm swap, but may have to join one of these days. This is a fun group and the song is terrific! Especially love the refrain. Happy sewing y’all!

  7. Betty Grove says:

    An amazing quilter, an organizer of a world fabric swap and also a writer of the best song ever! For one I’m impressed and thank you!

  8. Barbara says:

    Love the songs, I can’t get one of them out of my head now. Busy cutting squares as I wait on my newbie gift so I will be ready to start creating a new quilt.

  9. Sarah says:

    I love it, but Shall We Sort is still my personal favorite. And I dance when I sing it!

  10. Samantha says:

    Love it!

  11. Hooray! ALL of my eleven swaps are mailed out and I just heard back from my very first recipient that she had gotten hers already! What a great feeling! Thank you so very much for arranging this swap.

  12. Anne says:

    Hi! Im Anne from Oslo, Norway. Can I join your next swap? In oktober? I love swapping! But i have just swappen small quilts, not fabric yet! Annek:-)

    • You are welcome to join! Just decide if you are using 2.5 inch, 2 inch, or 1.5 inch square charms.

      Then, if you have a good stash of quilting fabric, start cutting! We swap sets of 100 charms but each charm must be different. If you cut more than one set, you will be swapping with more than one person.

      And if you DON’T have enough stash to cut 100 different charms, you can request a Newbie Gift.

      Learn more under the Postage Stamp Charms pages shown above. And welcome aboard. This can be addictive!

  13. Pingback: Tuning Up the CQ Glee Club Again . . . | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

