July Swappers: Anyone looking for Two Inch Charms?

Whew! Finally! I think I have it. But frankly, it is well past midnight and only some of the emails are out. I am going to bed anyway, lest my tired eyes cause me to mess up the rest of the emails. So please check your emails later tomorrow, and check your SPAM folder if you do not see it by midday. (And read about yet another distraction, below!)

Update Friday at 1:30 pm CDT: All the two-inch swapper matches are emailed out!

Fabric Charms Flight Paths

Like lint in my sewing room, fabric charms will be flying everywhere!

A total of 59 people are swapping an amazing 514 sets of these amazing two-inch treasures! That means about 1028 emails will be exchanged this weekend (not counting mine!), and soon all those little parcels will be heading out, from the tip of Africa to the Yukon. For this part of the swap, almost one-third of the sets are from outside of the USA, which makes it a lot of fun. It also means people get a wide variety of fabrics, and perhaps new friends as well.

Actually, I had the matching done a couple of days ago. Then two people had to withdraw, for good reasons–like being in the hospital. Lots of re-shuffling took place, but I think I have it! There are a few issues though. People who had tons of charms to swap, like 25-50, may find that I ran out of available sets to give to them. That 514 sets above does not include the 60+ sets cut but not finding a match this round! If you do swap a large number of sets, you are also more likely to have repeat swappers from a previous round.

Swappers with many sets, who elect to only ship in the USA, will also find that I had to stop assigning after 12-18 sets. If you are in that group, and really want one or two more people, email me and request an international partner, and I may be able to connect you. First come, first served though!

The challenge of the quantity issue will make for a change next round. I am planning to set a limit of 15 sets per swapper next round, to improve my chances of getting sleep, as well as your chances of getting all your sets matched.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com

Spicy Noodle Bowl to celebrate with our newest citizen.

Mother and daughter after the ceremony. Nothing like a bowl of Spicy Noodles to celebrate!

This week held a very special, once-in-a-lifetime distraction. My daughter-in-law’s mom, who came to this country from Laos over thirty years ago, was sworn in as a citizen of the USA. Our family joined hers at the naturalization ceremony.

On that day there were 430 new citizens who took the oath, coming from 70 countries and every continent except Antarctica. Add all the family members to the mix, and we were awestruck by the crowd, the energy, the diversity, and the excitement. It was all quite impressive, and humbling. For many of these new citizens, the application process took years and involved a lot of hard work. I wanted to shake every hand myself!

The judge who officiated stayed after, standing by the flag, until all 430 people and their families got their photo taken with him–and their new Certificate of Naturalization.

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature© 2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to July Swappers: Anyone looking for Two Inch Charms?

  1. Happiness is diversity – in fabric, friends, family…. all the things that count! Congrats to your daughter-in-law’s mother – and to the judge who understood how important the ceremony was to each and every person there.

    And thanks for sharing that.
    Barb

  2. catskillquilter says:

    What a wonderful event to be able to attend! Congrats to your daughter in law’s Mom — that is a huge milestone! Again, thanks for all of the work you are doing so that we all can have such fun swapping!

  3. Such a happy thing for the individuals and for our country. Immigrants make this country great and always have! Welcome to life as an American!

  4. D J says:

    Warm, fuzzy feelings here. Congratulations! She looks so happy. USA is blessed with her!

  5. merrie says:

    i wonder how many of us could pass the test they have to study for and pass to become a US citizen???? wonder how many of us would be ‘banned’???? makes you think huh??? we –the USA– started with immigrants and we continue to welcome them with open arms..you are fortunate to have them in your extended family…

    and i got my list and i am soooo excited!!!!!

  6. I have remedied a couple of pretty minor mix-ups, but it seems to be going pretty smoothly out there. Do let me know if you are having any trouble.

  7. Janet says:

    Mary, I am not one of the ones with many blocks to swap, but I would be willing to swap two more sets of 2 inch blocks if you want to match me up with someone.

  8. Amy Kinard says:

    I got my list and 7 out of the 10 are going out in tomorrow’s mail! 🙂 Plus, 3 of my newbie gifts!
    I wish I could swap more right now, but due to some life stuff, I just don’t have time to cut extras right now, but I have talked to a couple of my swap partners about doing so at a later date and will be saving their contact info. 🙂

  9. Tina Coplan (@TinaCoplan) says:

    Hello. I have read your blog several times and just a couple of days ago decided that I would like to start collecting fabrics for a postage stamp quilt. I thought I had quite a fabric stash but as I went through cutting my strips and making them into 2″ squares I was only able to come up with 53 fabrics. Many of my fabrics seem to look similar so it didn’t make much in the way of variety. I did manage to make 7 bundles of those 53 though and I am wondering if it might be possible to swap with someone who may be in a similar situation (maybe swap 50 instead of 100). Please let me know if this would be possible, I would really like to get involved in swapping but just can’t go buy another 50 fabrics right now. Thank you very much!

    • Tina –

      Welcome to the fun of Postage Stamp Quilts! The little pieces are rather addictive. We just closed the July swap, so the next one is in October. Any quilter who does not have 100 different fabrics is encouraged to request a NEWBIE gift – other quilters send you sets of 50 charms to use! That way you can actually start planning and sewing your own PSQ.

      I am going to be doing a poll as we approach the October swap, and one question will be if people are OK with getting duplicate charms sometime. There may be an option to trade ‘double sets of 50’ or 100 charms, two of each. Many people do not mind duplicates, as it takes a lot of time to collect unique charms to make a bed quilt! Some people use charms in memory matching quilts, so they may be interested, others simply have a smaller stash, but plenty of that to share. If there is any interest then, it will be added.

      Sorry that I cannot offer an immediate solution, but I am certain that you will be able to enjoy some fun come October, without having to go buy 50 fabrics!

      – Mary

  10. Yay! Thank you very much. I appreciate your quick reply and I will look forward to October! Maybe by then I’ll have more fabric to swap as well. : )

    • Cathy Kieser says:

      Tina, Just email Mary and ask for my email. I would be happy to swap 50 with you. And I always throw in a few extra. A little bit a hint to you is to go to your quilt shops and get there scrap bags. They have lots of variety. Also, go to the goodwills or Salvation Armys, sometimes you can find scraps there, even in the clothing. But just make sure it says 100% cotton. Hope this helps and would be glad to help you out

    • Tina, the email address you supplied when commenting is invalid, and my emails are not reaching you. Please email me! Thanks – Mary

  11. kimr says:

    I am just seeing this post! I am not sure if all the spots were filled. BUt I received a name on my swap list and she didn’t receive mine, So I was down one swapper. I have a set left I could swap if there are any still unmatched.

    • Kim – watch for an email! I appreciate hearing ASAP after I post the partners if I messed up, so I can fix it while I have my “reserve” sets available. I am finding you one now, just a little slower to do now.

      – Mary

Leave a Reply

