Ode to Stray Threads

Mary has a few stray threads, they wander to and fro;
And everywhere that Mary goes, some threads will surely go.

They hitch a ride upon her coat, and on her shirt so green.
Which makes some people point and pick, like stray threads shouldn’t be seen.

So Mary vacuums off her clothes, and lint-brushes her brassiere.
But every time that Mary sews, more stray threads do adhere.

“Why don’t you care about your looks?” the eager critics cry.
“Why, don’t you know—I’d rather sew!” is Mary’s sure reply.

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comMary, The Curious QuilterOkay, I couldn’t help myself. I must me getting punchy, having just spent hours cutting precuts for my eBay sales, and charms for swapping, and pieces for baby quilts, and more . . . yes, the lint and threads are everywhere! And guess what? I don’t care!Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature©2012 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ode to Stray Threads

  1. Marianne says:

    You are quite the clever one with rhymes! I love it! I was just picking at my shirt on the way back from picking up yesterday’s mail.

  2. I should have set it to the tune instead, then the whole Curious Quilter Glee Club could sing it!

  3. Martin says:

    “So Mary vacuums off her clothes, and lint-brushes her brassiere…”

    FUNNY!

  4. I love it! I only wish my name was Mary so I could steal it! Thanks for the laugh!

  5. merrie says:

    my name IS mary and how true how true..i have just finished cutting probably 2-3,000 2″ and 2.5″ squares…it has taken me most of 2 weeks but i have gone thru every box of fabric and scraps i have and talk about threads!!! well mary did that for me..!!!! thank you so much for my laugh of the day..i may just take that little ditty and make a wall hanging..it is perfect for here..!!!

  6. Evelyn G says:

    That should hang on every quilters wall. I gave my son-in-law a Cotton Picker for his birthday. May I share this with guild members?

  7. I love it..so true…can I post a link on my blog to this on yours??

  8. Betty Grove says:

    I love it! Anything to do with fabric is okay with me. Plus the swap has given me one of the nicest friends I could have ever hoped to meet. While we are separated by continents and will probably never meet in person she will be my friend forever. Our love of quilting and fabric spans the miles, See how much good has come from the fabric swap?

  9. Funny you! At this house people will pick up a bit of something off their clothes and say, with exaggerated innocence, “Hmmm…an odd thread on my shirt. I wonder HOW it could have come to be there?” And then they look at me.

  10. patp. says:

    What a cute rhyme!!! Brassiere and adhere- that’s when you had me!! I’ve copied this and it is on the cork board in my ‘inner sanctum’ I don’t mind the stray threads,in all those little ways they let me know that I really am getting things accomplished! Have a great week…

  11. Pingback: Ode to Stray Threads | Orange Grove Quilters Guild

  12. Carrie says:

    My mom shared this with me months ago…and wouldn’t you know it…in church on Sunday I had a stray thread on my shirt!! Thanks for making me smile once again!!

Leave a Reply

