Wandering Wednesday – Fading Charms

Greetings to all, from Minnesota, where spring is feeling almost tropical, and my silly lilacs have BUDS already! If you followed my Lilac Watch last year, you might recall that we didn’t even start to see evidence of leaves until April 20th then. While the warmth feels really nice, and we hardly had any shoveling all winter, it still feels kinda wrong. Ah, weather! Always changing, and not much we can do about it.

Visit Wedding Dress Blue to see this quilt.

Fading Charms at Wedding Dress Blue.

Before I post a bunch of Postage Stamp goodness this coming weekend (yes, I hear the cheers out there!) I wanted to share a lovely little gem with you. Deanna over at Wedding Dress Blue posted a really wonderful quilt called Fading Charms. Lots of photos over there, and a tutorial will be coming soon. Nothing like a bit more inspiration for ways to use all the little gems you are acquiring in your own collections. I hope you will wander through her delightful blog while you are there, and even find out why her wedding dress really was blue.

Need more inspiration? Megan Fisher sent me this photo of her stunning quilt “Flying Colours.” It was featured some time ago in Australian Quilters’ Companion magazine, and it is certainly worth the recognition. I am amazed at the diversity of quilts that people create using small squares. While they seem so basic and simple, they remain interesting and are so much fun to play with. When my kids were younger, they called my fabric squares my Legos® and they were right! Many thanks, Megan, for letting me share this picture with my readers.

courtesy of Megan Fisher, Flying Colours quilt

Megan made superb use of postage stamp charms in this glorious quilt, "Flying Colours."

And yes, the next Postage Stamp Charm Swap starts in April 2012. I hope you are cutting pieces to swap. Details will be posting very soon, stay tuned. Happy cutting, piecing, and quilting!Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature©2012, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wandering Wednesday – Fading Charms

  1. Astrid says:

    WOW! Gourgeous quilts! I hope this is inspiration enough for me to finish my postage stamp quilt from last year, just the binding left to do. Wonder why that takes ages…..?! 🙂

    • Ahem… Astrid! Just the binding left? Maybe I should require that everyone finish binding something before the next swap LOL!! I too have many things waiting for that last step…but I know myself well. I love the process of making the top and the quilting, I pretty much could care less about the finished quilt. That may be why I keep so few at home…

  2. Thank you for sharing the Fading Charms quilt. The tutorial will hopefully be ready for Friday. It is being written for 2-1/2″, 2″ or 1-1/2″ squares, so it will be something your visitors can enjoy regardless of their charm size preference.

  3. Alberta in N GA says:

    Sure glad to hear from you… People were starting to get worried about you and all their squares they have been cutting,… stay healthy and we shall all keep cutting more and more and more

  4. GA Quilter says:

    Hi Mary,so good to hear from you.Hope you are sew good.Have my squares all cut and bagged.

  5. Sam says:

    Mary, so glad to hear you are okay, I obviously wasn’t the only one to wonder what had/might have happened to you… Love that you keep sharing lots of ideas for the charms. So many ideas and always so little time when working fulltime!

  6. merrie says:

    around here life brings a lot of good intentions to a halt!!…but i am ready when you are…and i am working on the Fading Charms quilt also..lots of good projects for scraps.. that Flying Colours quilt is gorgeous but i don;t think i will tackle that one..

  7. Megan Fisher says:

    Mary – thanks for posting the image of my quilt. I so enjoyed making it, and I hope that it inspires others.

    Megan Fisher

  8. Beth in AZ says:

    Do you have any idea what issue Flying Colours was in? I would love to purchase that issue, but I cannot even find a site for the magazine. I would purchase just the pattern if it was available. thanks!

  9. Megan says:

    Beth – the instructions for this project were published in “Australian Quilters Companion” magazine, issue #47. Unfortunately, this pre-dates the time when the magazine became available electronically on Zinio and similar sites, so it’s only available in print. It may still be available from the magazine publisher, Universal Magazines. However, I’ve just tried to check online and the website, http://www.universalshop.com.au, is ‘down’ at the moment. Leave it with me and I’ll check again later today and post another comment here to let you know if copies of this issue of the magazine are still available.

  10. Megan says:

    Beth – I’ve now phoned the publisher. Copies of issue #47 are still available to buy. The price of the magazine (which includes a DVD) is A$12.95. The cost of posting it to the USA is A$14.50, making a total price of A$27.45.
    The publisher’s website for ordering back issues online is down while they sort out how to add PayPal facilities to it. In the meantime, you can email them using this address:
    mailorder@universalmagazines.com.au
    You will need to organise a secure means of providing your credit card details. This might be in the form of a phone call, a fax or a series of emails (so the credit card number doesn’t appear all in one place). I’ll do a little more investigation as it may be the case that there are some outlets in the USA that have some back issues in stock. That would be cheaper and faster and, presumably, less mucking about with payment.

  11. Megan says:

    Beth – I’ve checked http://www.ericas.com and http://www.brewersewing.com. They both stock Quilters Companion magazine, but don’t have any issues as old as this one. (It was published in January 2011.) So, it looks like the only realistic alternative is to deal with the publisher here in Australia.

  12. Sarah Cooper says:

    Postage stamp quilts are always fantastic, but THIS one, oh my! That is just gorgeous, a delight to the eye!

Leave a Reply

