February PSQ Mini-Challenge Winners

Thank you all for taking part in the February Mini-Challenge, one event in the year-long 2012 Postage Stamp Quilts Charm Swaps and Challenges. There were so many interesting comments, I can feel the energy from all the great ideas for quilts floating around out there! Thankfully, the winners were randomly selected, courtesy of a shoebox and a helpful neighbor.

Novelty Charms

Chain Gang award sets include many fun novelties similar to these.

The two quilters from the Chain Gang Team who win little sets of 100 two inch fabric charms are:

Anne, from Georgia, USA, who wrote:
Chain Gang for me! My goal is to chain at least a 100 pairs and to complete at least 2 blocks of 64 2 inch squares. This is fun!

…and Janet, of Caribou Crossings, from Yukon Territory, Canada, who wrote:
I’m joining the chain gang. I have 500 charms so far. I will try to have 200 of them paired together this month.

Rainbow Charms

LIttle fabric charms make great rainbows, no two alike!

The two quilters from the Rainbow Makers Team (or undecided) who win little sets of 100 two inch fabric charms are:

Amy, who wrote:
I’ll join the rainbow makers. My goal will be to cut charms from the fabrics I already own this month and hopefully have enough extras to participate in April’s swap!

…and Miss Lane, who wrote:
I really want to try to make PSQ. I am new to quilting and umm…. sewing as well. So I don’t know what team that makes me, but GO TEAM!

Winners, please email me with your full name and mailing address. Let me know if you are using 2.5 inch charms, otherwise I will assume that my standard two inch charms will be perfect for you.

I am so glad that many of you are already sewing! However, I completely understand just how addictive the desire to simply cut little squares is! If you haven’t started to chain pairs together yet, I hope you will soon.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Signature©2012, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in PostageStamp Quilts/Charm Swaps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to February PSQ Mini-Challenge Winners

  1. Toni says:

    Hi Mary – I am looking forward to following your blog. I started a postage stamp quilt in the fall. I don’t know why except that I wanted to. I figure I will have between 7-8000 “charms”. I didn’t know they were called that. Mine is scrappy – with repeats. I’m careful not to let them touch too closely though. I can’t help myself though, because I’ve started cutting charms for a red, white and blue only postage stamp quilt and have plans for a red/orange/yellow or all out rainbow one.
    So, I agree with you that it is addictive – although I don’t know why!

  2. anne says:

    Thank you, thank you Mary! I emailed you my information! I am SO excited!

  3. kimr says:

    Congratulations! I forgot when the challenge ended–I was just coming to post that I did get through ALL of the scraps I had and cut them into squares. I am happy to say that I have 5 bags of 100 squares each ready for the next swap. I also have several other smaller piles started.
    I think I also decided on a design for mine…I am going to have white stripes running through it. Still haven’t decided if the colors will be in order or not. Still cleaning off the guest bed so I can lay it out and play around with it.

  4. mandy weaver says:

    congrats winners!! I have been chaining my 2-1/2″ charms tonight! Sew much fun!!! Ready for the next swap.

  5. YAY to the winners, but I am certain we are all enjoying our personal scrappy payoffs. Thanks for a fun (and more to come) batch of projects..

  6. merrie says:

    congrats winners!!!!! what fun this is going to be…i am now looking forward to the next swap….i found another batch of scraps to cut!!! so off to the cutting table..

  7. Susan says:

    Congratulations to the winners of the mini-challenge! And thanks, Mary, for posting the photo of the novelty squares. (I just love the rabbit and the girl in the kimono.) I have never cut squares before, and this is very helpful to me as a reminder that I can use larger prints and just cut portions of them.
    I would also like to add my vote to having some smaller swaps (50 squares) for those of us who don”t have much fabric yet.

  8. Narelle says:

    Congratulations to the lucky winners 🙂
    Last night I finished chain sewing 300 charms into pairs. Now to press.

  9. Sam says:

    Congratulations to the winners!
    Your words have got to me Mary, I need to stop cutting and start sewing! I want to sew blocks of 10×10 charms that I get from each swapper and somehow put the swapper’s name and state/country on each block. Any ideas on how I might do this???

  10. merrie says:

    this is for Sam..make your middle square white and use a permanent marker with the name and year or something like that..have seen them done in larger blocks…or as mary says embroider them..but that is a fun idea..

  11. MissLane says:

    Oh wow! Thank you so much.

  12. GA Quilter says:

    Congratultions to the winners.I have finished 2 borders for my Nine in the Middle and have 2 more to go.Also have another idea for the 2nd top with my swap squares.Already have a lot of squares cut for April.Have to get them redy because April is going to be a full month.My guild quilt camp the 2nd week and 6 of us are going to Paducah the 22nd to 29th.

  13. anne says:

    Thank you Mary! I received my charms from you! I have already started sewing them! It was so much fun to look at all the unique and unusual charm squares. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

