UFO Crash? My list certainly has!

Everywhere around the world, people are making lists, setting goals, and naming resolutions. I am NOT doing that this year! Not that goals aren’t a great idea, but stating them out loud does not seem to help me accomplish them at all.

Sun Moon and Stars quilt, an eternal UFO.

This one was high on my list if things I INTEND to finish this year. I never touched it!

Last year at this time I made a great list of all my UFO’s (UnFinished Objects in quilt-speak) and recently I took it out to check my progress. Every item on last year’s list is still there, unfinished, except for one quilt. Since there were at least 15 items on the list, my finish rate is about six percent. Not that I haven’t been busy! I have started and finished several other quilts, and tons of small projects, and made dozens of clothing examples for sewing classes I am teaching. Yet, my UFO list is sitting there, fermenting like sauerkraut.

But hold on a minute there! Perhaps it is all one’s perspective. Are we really planning to knock all those items off our lists, or is they just notations of works we are proudly pursuing? THAT puts a different spin on things. Maybe a UFO list really is a proud banner showcasing tons of great ideas that make quilters smile.

In that case, I am proud to say that I have an even longer UFO list this year, which includes last year’s list (minus one) and at least six new items. Reviewing the list is like meeting old friends. Some I am excited to look forward to. Some I would like to bury somewhere dark and ignore for a very long time. A few I had nearly forgotten. Better yet, maybe the items on the list are like fine wines, getting better with age.

I do not need a list to recognize that I sometimes like starting things better than finishing them. I feel no guilt over unfinished quilts. And I am telling myself that New Year’s Day is just a line in the sand, a marker. If I change my mind, and want to start checking things off my imaginary UFO list, I can start on it anytime. Maybe in March.

Then again, maybe not. Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comSignature©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to UFO Crash? My list certainly has!

  1. Betty Grove says:

    Thank you for sharing your amazing talent. You have the most terrific tutorials I’ve found online. My absolute favorite is the Crumb Quilt and it is on my to do list for 2012, I imagine it will still be on my list in 2013 also.

  2. Martin says:

    How about March, 2015?

  3. J. Johnson says:

    Sauerkraut and quilts, now THERE is an image I will chuckle over while sewing!

  4. Judy Purman says:

    Any chance we could get a charm exchange going? I am enjoying the process so much but need more 2″ squares?

  5. Marge Gordon says:

    hmmm I see dots before my eyes on here, must be snowing there!
    And as far as UFOs, I did OK, but am not ahead either, I don’t think we ever will be.

    • Once again, snow was forecast, but only a flurry passed by, nothing on the ground! Golfers were playing here this week, grass fires made the news, an odd start for a Minnesota winter.

      Perhaps we should say we all COLLECT UFO’s!!!

  6. Meloney says:

    To have so few UFOs. LOL You are doing wonderful!!!
    I have a list of over 100 UFOs. I use it when I need a quick quilt. I check the list to see if anything in there would be useful and make the finish in a timely manner. If I have one that will work, then I make it happen.
    I also have a set of windows with white curtains on them (boring) that I use to hold 1 -2 UFOs that I could work on during the year. They are the ones that take many little pieces to finish a block. Then, the blocks are hung with pride. I have an ocean waves quilt on there now that I am using bonus blocks (you know, those corners from snowballing a block) for. It has many pieces of memories hanging for me to see. I must admit that it is getting big enough to take down and sew together and then another UFO will be finished. I finished 24 UFOs this year and 26 last year, so I’m working on them. I like to take them out and look at them to enjoy the progress made or not made during the year. They are fun items for me. They are located under a window seat and they do like to breed. LOL
    I love lists, so it helps me to list and check off when I can.
    Have a productive 2012 with completing UFOs or starting new, as long as it is enjoyable.

  7. carol kumer says:

    My goal this year is to organize my sewing room….So I started by going through some of my UFO’s. Or as I call them WIPS…works in progress. Something hit …Some of these were technique classes…..Did I really want to finish the? I gave myself permission to take the ones I really did want to finish and passed them on to Goodwill. It has really taken a load off my mind.
    Some of the projects were ones where I got stuck in the process those I put in plastic clear boxes with a label and date. Maybe I’ll get back to them and maybe after awhile I will pass those on too.
    I worked in a quit store that had a UFO contest. each person registered their ufo’s and when one was finished that were given and entry ticket. We drew the winner at the end of the year….Of course everyone who finished was a winner.

  8. Astrid says:

    LOL! I made a UFO list of 11 projects January 2011 and I’m very proud to say I finished 7! I am going to make another UFO list now. I’m afraid the new list will be longer than the previous one! 🙂 I don’t like to call them all UFO’s, only if they are more than 6-7 months old. The newer ones I’ll call WIP’s, so the list should be WIP’s & UFO’s! 🙂 Thanks for your lovely comment on my latest post! 🙂

  9. pat p. says:

    Ah the wonderful potential of the u.f.o….. All that glorious creativity just waiting for an inspired finish! I just LOVE it when the light bulb clicks on and the fabulous finish for that poor little orphan project is so obvious I can swear that I meant to do that all along,i just did not realize it right away!! I gave some quilt blocks to a friends daughter who was learning to embroider and had a ball embellishing them ala crazy quilt style. She now has bed pillow and a tote bag she is extremely proud of! That was most definately the reason I had those blocks tucked away for who remembers how long!!

  10. Sharon Camp says:

    I hear that many quilters are thinking of making a list to finish UFOs. I do believe none really do succeed or we would still not be talking about completeing our piles of UFOs!!!

    • LOL, but people DO succeed, I see people finish quilts all the time. Sure, some fall off the plannning board, but others come up. Me? My UFO count GROWS every year! Perhaps I should actually finish all the WIP’s and UFO’s before I start anything new!!

      Shucks, that would be NO FUN!

Leave a Reply

