This Magic Moment

Curious Quilter's Ceiling of Ornaments and lights

My ceiling is nearly covered with holiday lights and ornaments!

No, I am not talking about the fact that this is Christmas Eve. The Magic Moment I am referring to comes when I can see the entire dining room table.

The sewing machines, cutting mats, and fabric pieces are put away. That is a Very Rare Occurrence here! In my little house, the dining room serves as primary sewing, cutting, piecing, quilting, and ironing headquarters for my little obsession with fabric. Having it actually cleared and prepared for a serious party tomorrow is a very special thing.

It will not last long, just a few days. Then the UFO’s will creep back into the room, and the ironing board will be returned to its rightful place next to the table. Chair-backs will be draped with fabrics sorted by color or project. It will feel like home to me.

But for tonight and tomorrow, I will simply enjoy this magic moment. My house is pretty set for the annual Winter Feast party. The ceiling is decorated, the lights are strung between the hanging plants. It might not surprise you to know that I (being a curious soul) do not have a Christmas tree. Instead I opt to hang ornaments from the entire ceiling. Having a small house that has historically been full of rowdy young men, and a living room filled with musical instruments, TV’s and only a few places to sit, well there isn’t any room for a Christmas Tree! My little house, adorned with lights and a huge collection of ornaments, is incredibly festive without a traditional tree.

May you all enjoy the Magic Moments that the holiday season brings to you and your family. Whether you are celebrating Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza, or just celebrating life, may joy and magic find a way into your life all through the coming year.Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com Signature©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Magic Moment

  1. patty says:

    What a wonderful post. My table is the same, clear right now, but in a couple days it will be covered again! I even put a runner on it, something i haven’t done for a long time. And I LOVE the idea of the lights and decorations on the ceiling. How neat it must look at night with the other lights off. Like being outside star watching without the cold! Have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. KatieQ says:

    There must be a lot of us who only see our dining room tables seasonally. Your ceiling sounds magical and more than enough competition for any ordinary Christmas. I hope you’re having a Merry Christmas with your family.

  3. Marilyn says:

    We are inviting too many for the dining table – so I had to clear my sewing table and do a swap out! Then we decided to use the dining table, now cleared as a buffet! So I have lost both of them for a few days. Merry Christmas to all and may your holidays be safe ones spent with family and friends.

  4. piecedgoods says:

    Ahh. The moment the dining room resumes being the dining room rather than the home office. I agree that’s magical. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

