Another Cheerful Baby Quilt, Completely From Stash

Cheerful Baby Quilt from Stash

This cheery little quilt looks ready for a happy baby to come nap in the shade!

With my kids in their 30’s now, there is a baby boom taking place among friends and family, and that makes for lots of fun. This week I wanted to put together another baby gift, and once again I was committed to only shopping from my ‘stash.’  I had a handful of bright orange, pink, blue, and green charm squares—not enough for a topper—and a generous yard of white Kona cotton. Vóila!  I almost always bind baby quilts with that satiny blanket binding that babies are so drawn to. Regular readers may recognize the tail ends of the binding from the last four baby quilts I made. The backing is cut from a recycled 1960’s vintage sheet that was in pristine condition. Yep, I am a frugal quilter too, committed to full use and repurposing whenever I can. I think it made a very cheery little quilt!

Vintage Sheet for Backing

I love the vintage backing.

Can you pull a full baby quilt out of your supplies, and make a gift without spending any money?  Or do you always find you need to run for more batting, or the right thread? What is your favorite "stash only" project?
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
Followup note: The Minnesota government shut down has ended, with no one particularly happy about any of the solutions, but glad to be open for business again. Now teachers, doctors, drivers, and bars can renew their licenses, the road construction can get done, and the state parks are back in service. Until you are faced with something like this, it is hard to understand the scope of the problem. May all those in government everywhere take note, and avoid going through what happened here this year!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
Signature©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another Cheerful Baby Quilt, Completely From Stash

  1. The baby quilt is really adorable.

  2. Brenda says:

    cute quilt. and I’m glad your state is up and running. I was there in early July and I was disappointed not to be able to get into the state parks.

  3. Martin says:

    Birds, butterflies, owls, squirrels, and….. hedgehogs??? Who has hedgehog fabric? How cute is that!

    I probably could pull ten king-sized quilts entirely from stash, but frankly, I don’t want to. I love shopping almost as much as fabric!!

  4. Donna says:

    Oh, I could do it too! But everytime I see fun new fabric, my ‘no buy’ intentions go out the window. Love this sweet quilt, Mary!

  5. Jocelyn says:

    Yay, I love shopping my stash. I have accumulated quite a healthy stash, and I am now able to do just that. Shop my stash and make something worth giving 🙂 And thanks for the idea. I was working on a baby size quilt, and I like how you used the solid in the middle.

  6. Sharon Camp says:

    Just joined your blog and I love the baby quilt you just finisjed.
    Making baby quilts is SEW much fun and I agree with Jocelyn that you had a great idea on how to use the solid in the middle – perfect!

  7. Donna says:

    Your baby quilt is so nice! I made two baby quilts last year for my two nieces entirely from my stash! Well almost…I had to buy the backing fabric. If I had looked further into the closet I wouldn’t have had to do that! When I cleaned out the closet this summer I found another whole bag of fabric in the back of the closet.

    • LOL, I think we all have those forgotten stashes! I have been trying to purge many things, pretending I am moving, and find fabric, patterns, photos, books, serving dishes, clothes, and all sorts of things I forgot I had! People who move more than once in 35 years are lucky. It must help control the ‘forgotten clutter.’

      -Mary

  8. Judy says:

    I love making baby quilts only from my stash….this challenges me to use fabrics I maybe tired of in new and interesting ways…..

Leave a Reply

