I Haven’t Sewed At All This Week…

Have you entered my Pineapple Stars book giveaway? Last chance to enter is June 25, 2011. You can check out the great pineapple recipes too.

I haven’t sewed at all this week. I think I am in fabric and sewing withdrawal. I need a fix. Besides the usual obligations of life, the universe, and everything, I have been busy with other things.

Happy June Garden

The garden seems happy, despite all of the cold rain.

It has been raining almost constantly, but I have squeezed in some rather muddy garden time. The weeds seem to thrive in the rain, bolting up far faster than the flowers. Today the sun came out, and I swear that I can sit and watch the tomato plants grow taller as they bask in the warm light. In summer, outdoors time always cuts into my sewing time. I suspect this is true for many of you too. However, I will never complain about being able to be outside, in my yard, walking, camping, or whatever. Sewing can wait.

I put in a few more hours of volunteer work to help families who lost homes because of the tornado in Minneapolis last month. Spending time with kids who are still retelling the story of the freight train sound and the wind tugging the roof off while they hid in closet or tub changes your perspective. My life seems calm and wonderfully boring by comparison.

Deer CrossingI had a chance encounter of the wrong kind when a deer decided to cross the freeway, where traffic was moving along at nearly 70 mph. I saw him leap towards me, but fortunately he pretty much deflected off the hood of my car. It freaked me out, but did practically no damage to my car, so I feel very lucky. And that is an understatement! The car in the next lane did not fare as well, and a food shelf in town has fresh venison to share this week.

I have been trying to clean out my front porch, which has become a storage area instead of a sitting room. This is not a fun job, but being able to sit out there and enjoy dinner some evening will be nice. My house sits on a hill, so the porch looks out onto treetops instead of the street. A good thing, as the city decided that we need new sewer lines and has workers turning our street into a crater. The rain has slowed them down, but it has also kept the dust level low. This will change as the sun takes over.

Still, I really am in withdrawal. On my way home today I simply had to stop in a fabric store and grope some wonderful cotton goodness. A little tease of a ‘fix,’ a promise to find some time in the next week to get serious with finishing some projects.

hummingbird_moth courtesy fnal.gov

One type of hummingbird moth.

Upon coming home, there were two hummingbird moths in my garden. If you have never seen one, they are quite amazing to watch. Smaller than a hummingbird but larger than a bee, they hover and feed on flowers unafraid of humans within a few feet. I tried for a photo, but apparently they were camera-shy and they flitted away. Now I know I will have my camera close every time I am out there.

Then again, maybe not, as waiting for hummingbird moths would mean less time for sewing. And I really do need a sewing fix!

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. signature

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Haven’t Sewed At All This Week…

  1. Sarah S. says:

    Oh man, that Hummingbird Moth site was CORNY, but they are really interesting bugs. I do not think that I have ever seen one.

    I also sew and quilt less in the summer. Too much going on with the kids.

  2. Martin says:

    I am so glad that you were not hurt in the deer collision! I know you are curious about many things, but please stay curious about the dangerous ones from a distance!

  3. i’m having withdrawal too!! it has been a couple of months since i’ve been able to make anything. but i have some projects lined up for this week. it feels really good to get back into it!

  4. Roger Frame says:

    I’d like to use the deer crossing sign in a presentation I am doing. Is there a copyright on it? May I use it?

Leave a Reply

