Why, Oh Why, Did I Buy THAT?

tag sale signsGiveaway included in this post…

I have spent the last couple of days helping a couple of friends de-clutter, and working at a yard sale. The oppressive humidity did not stop people from coming, but finally the torrents of rain did. So the assorted people selling at this sale had some great time for conversation, once the plastic sheets were spread on the tables.

Every person there, seller and buyer alike, commented on having a few things at home that they look at today and ask “Why on earth did I buy that?” As quilters, we are all guilty of this: sometimes a fabric calls to us, but later we realize we have no desire to do something with it. Often it is our intentions that cause us to acquire things. One person shared that she had always intended to take up golf, and she eyed the set of clubs out at the sale. The seller of those clubs later shared that she had picked them up at a yard sale, intending to take up golf one day. The intentions are not bad, but one day you simply realize that you do not care enough to follow through, and you let go of the item.

Pineapple Stars Book by Sharon RexroadA friend gave me some great quilting books, most in pristine condition. Books that were full of intentions. Some are right up my alley, and have already been inspiring me, or have even been used. But a few will only acquire dust, unless I release them to the world. One book really intrigued me, Pineapple Stars: Sparkling Quilts, Perfectly Pieced, by Sharon Rexroad. I set it aside, knowing that book would be a joy to work from one day.

Well, time has passed. Reality has set in. While I like doing a bit of foundation piecing from time to time, I have no real desire to do a large, intricate pineapple star quilt. Which struck me as a pity, as the book is really well written and has great instructions and templates inside. But the conversation about the golf clubs made me realize that this book needs to move on, to find an owner who wants to take it beyond intention, and create something from it. Or, to a quilt book collector who relishes this type of book.

I took it out and checked it over. That is when I realized that the friend who gave it to me had acquired it from someone else too! Aside from that owner’s name written inside, the book is in like new condition. The paper templates have not been opened. It remains a lovely book. And it is looking for a new home. Perhaps yours?

You can win the book, simply by leaving a comment here or on my Facebook page.

You can get THREE more chances to win, by sharing a recipe using pineapple in your comment. I am including one recipe below, and look forward to reading yours. That way we can all share some pineapple delight!

And, you can also increase your chances of winning, by sharing this giveaway on your own blog, giving you another entry. Be sure to comment here and let me know that you posted it.

Entries accepted through Saturday, June 25, 2011. Winner will be selected through random drawing, and announced here on Sunday, June 26, 2011. International entries are welcome. I will send the book to the winner via USPS Media Mail.

Good luck to you all! – Mary, The Curious Quilter
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
Easy Pineapple Teriyaki Grilled Chicken: a recipe to start the sharing…
Combine:
– one cup crushed pineapple (Drained, but save the juice and use while making rice, if wanted)
– one half cup teriyaki sauce (I used Kikkoman’s but any will work)
– (Mix a little extra and stir into prepared rice as a side dish if desired)
Spread half of the mixture over one cut-up chicken, and let marinate for 30 minutes.
Cook chicken on grill over medium coals, starting with skin side down. After turning skin side up, baste with remaining pineapple mixture, and finish cooking the chicken.

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Why, Oh Why, Did I Buy THAT?

  1. Debbie jackson says:

    I would love to win this book-and to make it…….

  2. Martin says:

    YUMMY, think I will fire up the grill. I have looked at this book, and I want it!! My recipe:

    Pucker Up Sweetheart Cocktail
    (makes 2-4 servings)

    Combine in pitcher full of ice:

    6 ounces of any RUM that you like
    2 ounces Triple Sec or Grand Marinier
    1 cup pineapple juice
    1 cup orange juice
    1 cup cranberry juice (not cocktail, but the tart juice)

    Stir well and serve up!

  3. Sandy A in St. Louis says:

    Oh, I have eyed this book, too! I love to foundation piece since it is the only way I can get sharp edges and points. I don’t have a recipe to share since pineapple isn’t one of my favorite fruits.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  4. AliExi says:

    I would love to make that quilt.. I have looked for a used copy of that book in local stores!

    Geesh, Martin, your “Pucker Up Sweetheart” cocktail sounds yummy!

  5. quiltfever says:

    Ooh, I’ve seen this book before and would love to add it to my bookshelf. That is a great looking star on the cover!

  6. Deborah in Atlanta says:

    I’d like to try the Pineapple quilt. I recently completed a paper-pieced quilt (swore I’d never do paper piecing), and I kinda got fond of it. So yep, I’d love to be in the drawing for the book!

    A pineapple recipe? Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe
    Topping:
    1 cup of firmly packed dark brown sugar
    1/2 cup unsalted butter
    1 can (20 oz) of pineapple slices
    Cake:
    1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
    6 Tbsp cake flour
    6 Tbsp of ground almonds (from about 2 oz of whole almonds)
    3/4 teaspoon baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 3/4 cups of sugar
    1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature
    4 large eggs
    3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
    3/4 cup sour cream

    1. Start by making the caramel topping. Take brown sugar and butter and combine and melt in a saucepan on medium heat until sugar dissolves and the mixture is bubbly, this should take several minutes. (After sugar melts, don’t stir.) Pour mixture into a 10 inch diameter stick-free cake pan with 2 inch high sides. Arrange pineapple slices in a single layer ontop of the caramel mixture.
    2 Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Whisk the flours, almonds, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to beat the sugar and butter together until light. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Add dry ingredients alternately with sour cream in 2 additions each, beating well after each addition. Pour cake batter over caramel and pineapple in pan.
    3 Bake cake until tester inserted into the center comes out clean, about 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes. Cool cake in pan on a rack for 10 minutes. Turn cake out onto a platter. Serve warm or at room temperature.

    Makes 12 to 14 servings.

  7. Lynn D in NC says:

    I love paper piecing and have wanted to make a pineapple quilt. I’d love to win this book

    This isn’t really a recipe, but I like to mix crushed, drained pineapple with cream cheese and use it on toasted bagels. Yummy. Pineapple on top of cheesecake is also one of my favorites. I love pineapple just about any way I can get it.

  8. suzette Neal says:

    I’m sorry I don’t have a recipe with pineapple but I did buy 2 fresh ones yesterday and they are wonderful just cut up. I think all of us have quilting books and patterns that we have aquired and never used. I bought a beautiful book on quilting about 20 yrs ago with good intentions but now I can’t even find it. Hope everyone had a successful yard sale even with the rain.

  9. AliExi says:

    you are all making me hungry for pineapples!

  10. Marcia W. says:

    Pineapple quilt book — yes please
    We just cut up a fresh pineapple yesterday – we like to eat it as a “boat” hunk.
    Someone already posted an upside down cake recipe. Ours is a little different in that we put maraschino (spelling?) cherries in the center of the pineapple, use pecans instead of almonds, and cook it in the cast iron frying pan that my mother received as a wedding gift. It comes out perfect every time.

  11. Carol Flynn says:

    Looks like a great book!

  12. Carol Flynn says:

    Since this post was about buying things at a yard sale I thought I’d share what I bought at a yard sale last week.
    I got 2 twin size quilts that were hand pieced and hand quilted. They look to be 1930’s fabrics and they are in perfect condition. They were never used! My daughter is expecting her first child, so I’m going to give her one of the quilts for his bed. I’m keeping the other one. I know it will be hard to hear, but I paid $10.00 each and the seller was thrilled!

  13. LisaT says:

    Im intrigued by the book. I think because of your comments Id have to view the pattern and then see if it was for me. Ive actually tried foundation/paper piecing and it’s not too bad once you get the hang of it. Its pretty amazing how you can actually create the sharp points and they look awesome. Thanks.

  14. LisaT says:

    Pineapple…. well, today I voluteered to provide dinner tomorrow night to a bunch of folks – it’s VBS week at church. I wanted to make something quick and easy for dessert because of time constraint, and, its also Father’s Day and I was already cooking. I made my hubby his favorite apple pie this morning so he had some with his dinner. For tomorrow the folks at church will have ambrosia, you know, throw together crushed pineapple, mandarin oranges, green grapes, nuts, I skipped the coconut, added the mini marshmallows and coolwhip and ta da, quick and easy and very tasty.

  15. Janet says:

    I’d like to make the pineapple quilt some day. Or at any rate I’d love to have the book hang out at my house for a while, giving me inspiration and letting caress it’s lovelies.

  16. Donna says:

    Looks tricky, but stunning.

    My kids always liked a Sunshine Jello –
    Prepare one package orange jello using only 1&1/2 cups water. Stir in 1 cup grated carrots and one cup crushed pineapple. Chill till set.

  17. Janet says:

    Here is a pineapple using recipe that my mother used to make. I haven’t had it for years but it was very good.

    1 1/2 lbs pork loin or shoulder cut into 2 x 2 1/2 ” strips (like making a quilt. Maybe you could use the rotary cutter)
    Toss with 2 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tbst sherry. Marinate 1 hour.
    Drain, saving marinade. Brown pork well in a little fat. Discard fat. Add marinade and 1 cup chicken broth. Simmer covered until tender, about 45 minutes.
    Drain 1 15 oz can of pineapple chunks, saving syrup. Mix: 14 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 1/4 cup pineapple syrup, 1/3 cup vinegar, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1/8 tsp salt. Add to pork. Cook, stirring, until sauce thickens.
    Add 1 small green pepper, cut into strips and 1 medium onion, cut into eighths. Cook until vegies are tender. Add 1 large tomatoe, cut in wedges, and the drained pineapple. Cook a few more minutes. Serve with rice.
    Serves six.

  18. Tanzie Brown says:

    I would love to have the book… I am a new quilter and would love to try it…

  19. Shari says:

    I don’t often cook with pineapple, but I do have a recipe that uses some. It’s not original to me. My husband pulled it off the internet in 2005. It is one of his very favourites. I haven’t made it in a while – so it will probably get an airing soon…

    Spicy Apricot & Pineapple Chicken

    Serves 4 – 6

    4 chicken breasts, cut in half lengthwise
    1/3 cup plain flour
    1/4 teaspoon each ginger powder, celery salt, chilli powder
    freshly ground peppercorn
    425ml can apricot nectar
    225ml can pineapple pieces, reserve juice
    1 packet(makes 1 litre) French Onion soup mix (low salt)
    2 cloves crushed garlic
    1 tablespoon apricot jam
    1 Massel chicken stock ultracube, crumbled
    Jasmine rice, cooked

    Combine flour, ginger powder, celery salt, chilli powder and season with peppercorn. Coat the chicken with the seasoned flour and shake off the excess. Arrange on the bottom of a shallow overproof dish.
    In a medium saucepan, bring apricot nectar and French Onion soup to the boil stirring until the mixture has thickened. Reduce heat. Add pineapple pieces and reserved juice, garlic, apricot jam and the stock cube. Mix well. Gently pour the mixture evenly over the chicken. Cover with foil and cook in a pre-heated oven at 170C for approximately one hour. Serve with rice.

    So I’m just sharing a recipe. Please don’t enter me in the giveaway. I don’t have this type of quilt in my future.

  20. Anya says:

    Great giveaway! Thanks for the chance!

  21. That book sounds interesting. I don’t have any pineapple recipes though. We just eat it chilled fresh from the pineapple.

  22. Donna says:

    Wow, a gorgeous book! I looked through it at the bookstore. And then I made Shari’s pineapple recipe! Delicious, thanks for sharing.

  23. GG says:

    Looks like a very cool book!

  24. I love to look through quilt books. I have great intentions to do so many projects, but with 4 children, I just don’t have the time or the room!

  25. Dawn says:

    I would love to drool over the book, knowing that I probably would never get to the actual quilting….

    Mango Salsa Please note, this recipe is very vague as taste is subjective

    1 large Mango chopped fine
    1 can crushed pineapple – drained
    1 red onion – chopped fine
    2 small tomatoes – chopped fine
    1 or 2 chopped jalepenos chopped fine
    1 bunch cillantro – chopped fine
    lime juice

    Enjoy!

  26. Pingback: I Haven’t Sewed At All This Week… | The Curious Quilter

  27. Donna says:

    I just want to say…thank you for sharing. We all pick up books (and other items) promising ourselves that we are going to try that. I would love to look at the book (because that quilt on the cover looks amazing!) but I would never get enough courage to attempt that. So thank you for sharing…but don’t pick me! Here’s my favourite variation of the Sunshine Salad –

    Pineapple Cheese Carrot Salad
    Dissolve 1 pkg. pineapple or lime or lemon or orange jello in 1 cup hot water.
    Cool until syrupy. Then add:
    1 small can crushed pineapple and juice
    1 handfull of grated cheddar cheese
    2 grated carrots
    1 cup whipping cream (½ pint whipped).
    Let set until firm.

  28. Stacey says:

    Great giveaway – there’s just something about a quilting book that makes me cozy up with it and then create! Thanks for the opportunity!

  29. Stacey says:

    Here’s my pineapple recipe

    Pineapple Summer Pie

    1 can crushed pineapple, drained and squeezed
    1 small container whipping cream
    1 can sweetened condensed milk
    1 graham cracker pie crust

    Whip the cream until it’s stiff (but not to the butter stage). Combine the condensed milk and all but two tablespoons of the pineapple in a bowl. Fold in the whipped cream. Pour into the pie crust. Top with the two tablespoons of pineapple. Refrigerate for 2 hours. Gobble up.

    Thanks for the opportunity to win an intriguing book!

  30. Pingback: And the winner is… | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

