Hello World, Again! My Blog Turns One.

Mary, The Curious Quilter

My head is full of squares!

Time flies when you are having fun! I launched The Curious Quilter one year ago today. That first post, a simple hello, had seventeen readers. I suspect all of them were friends and family, and very few of them were quilters. Sure, there have been moments when I wondered what I got myself into. But most of it has been a happy adventure. Grab a mug of something, pop a treat on your mug rug, and join me in a bit of a flash-back.

Several themes have been recurring in The Curious Quilter. Perhaps you will recognize them!

Stash Bags in Every Size.I am stash obsessed. There were moments that I know I struck a nerve with all my new quilting friends out there (that’s you, my wonderful readers!) Early on, Thoughts From a Fabriholic resonated with enough people to get me a guest blogger gig on Stash Manicure, now called Sew We Quilt.

A chorus of quilters.Musical comedy runs through my mind. Being a musician in a past lifetime, with a constant soundtrack in my head, bringing forth The Curious Quilter Glee Club was a natural progression. I was pleasantly surprised when other blogs (like Pleasant Home and Stash Manicure) started to invite the CQ Glee Club to visit them and sing. I hope that there will be more invitations this year. Every month I get requests from guilds looking to print the lyrics for their meetings and retreats. Perhaps it is time for a songbook section!

I am not only curious about things, but driven to share what I learn. In case you haven’t noticed, I truly am curious about a huge variety of topics, and I love to dig out info and share it. I am curious about how, why, and the origins of, well, nearly everything. Holidays and events take on new meaning for me when I look at people like Betsy Ross, or think about the historic role of fabrics, as in The Fabric of a Pilgrim’s Life. Homespuns Have History, and Quilts that Communicate Politics and History, are two postings that still attract readers months after they were published. Women weaving, circa 1910.The CQ ‘Cotton We Love’ Chronicles remain popular as well. One teacher makes all her fifth graders read it and they have class discussions! (I really am trying to get the next installment out, but it has been delayed while working with some designers and manufacturers.)

A lovely Remembrance Heart.I have my good moments for teaching, sharing, and inspiring, often turning into tutorials. Who would have thought that youth groups everywhere would now be making Classic Squares Quilts? Or that a tutorial about turning Tattered Quilts into Remembrance Hearts would get read several times a day for months on end? In my wildest dreams, I had no idea that a series of posts and a tutorial about Making a Basic Quilted Mug Rug would continuously get hundreds of hits every week. The patterns for the Lady Bug Mug Rug and the Cupcake Gift Bag get downloaded every day, as does the CQ Batting Selection Chart. My thanks to all of you!

Tie Dye Fabric Guy loves all fabricsOn occasion my thinking skews in weird, but humorous, directions. Then, out pops a tidbit like Secret Dealings, and hits pour in from quilters. And also from detectives on narcotic squads, where they are sharing the chuckle. The campaign ads that barraged us all prior to the last elections drove me to seek distraction in I Am The Curious Quilter, and I Approved This Message. I still think that If Quilters Wrote Spam, we would love our junk mail folders.

Playing with Two Inch Treasures: Postage Stamp QuiltsI see fabric squares everywhere. Under my bed. In piles on the dining room table, out on eBay, and in bins tucked away in the basement. My love of postage stamp quilts means that I look at every fabric as fodder for my two-inch treasure collection. In keeping with the theme from Secret Dealings, teaching young people to quilt with layer cakes just might mean I am pushing this addiction on a new generation of quilters.

Some days I ask you to put up with me being a bit more philosophical. Weddings, Quilts, and the Gift of a Wish was inspired by Chelsea Clinton’s marriage, but the sentiment applies to every new family starting out. When preparing The CQ ‘Cotton We Love’ Chronicles, I kept thinking about the actual hands of the people who made the fabrics I love, and then about those who made fabrics 100 years ago! And the Wandering Wednesday posts let me peek at other perspectives in quilting, textiles, and life. Thanks for bearing with me, even on a reflective day like today.

I have a family, a garden, and a life outside of sewing. Balance in all things, right? Well, except in fabric collecting! A big thanks to my younger son who took many of the glorious garden shots that are scattered about in my blog, and to my older son, who got me into blogging in the first place. They have inherited the love of cooking and food that has run through our family for several generations as well.

I love my readers! Yep, that is all of YOU! What fun would writing a blog be, if no one came to read it? I love your emails, your questions, your stories, photos, and everything else that you share with me. I love visiting your blogs too, and seeing all the wonderful things you are making. Your comments are always appreciated. You are welcome here, whether you come for the content, the contests, or the company. But mostly, I just love to think that we are all connected in our love of quilting and fabric. Thank you, one and all. – Mary, The Curious Quilter

    Thank You!

  • 125,600 hits in one year
  • 124 posts in one year
  • 12 pages this year
  • 1,942 comments in the first year
  • 19,530 unique visitors in the just last four months
  • Visitors from 129 countries in just the last four months
  • One blogger who is amazed, and says THANKS to:
  • A ton of wonderful readers!

©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hello World, Again! My Blog Turns One.

  1. Martin says:

    Congratulations, Mary! We are lucky you chose to do this, because your blog is always fun to read.

  2. AliExi says:

    WTG, CURIOUS QUILTER! I will toast you with champagne tonight!

  3. YAY YOU! I enjoy stopping by on a regular basis. And, we share a love of two inch squares.

  4. Barb Colvin says:

    Love the recurring themes 🙂 I promise to keep reading!

  5. Jane says:

    Congratulations on your blog anniversary! I only found The Curious Quilter a couple of months ago, this posting inspired me to read many of your previous posts, and I am glad!

    Actually, I read Secret Dealings aloud to my family, and later heard my DH telling his buddy about it! Reading about Betsy Ross was amazing, why did we not learn anything about HER in school? And I really am enjoying the cotton chronicles too.

    Great tutorials, what can I say, I love your blog, and hope you will have many more anniversaries!

  6. J. Johnson says:

    Well done! I have been reading for the entire year, and p[eek every day to see if there is a new post from Mary, The Curious Quilter! Thanks for doing this.

  7. Shari says:

    Happy Anniversary Mary! Just love your blog and all you share with us! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

  8. Shari says:

    PS I am bookmarking this blog post as you have links to some of my favourite posts. Lots of love coming your way!

  9. VickiT says:

    Wow. Your first year of many. DONE! Congratulations! You mentioned my biggest fear in that if I ever figure out how to get a blog up and running on the site my husband set up for me, I’ll have two readers; him and me. LOL

  10. Katie Q says:

    Congratulations Mary! Thank you for a wonderful year of interesting posts. I’m looking forward to another great year full of posts that inspire, educate and spark creativity.

  11. Cindy says:

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary. Hoping to see many more posts in the coming years. Your scrappy quilts are an inspiration – I love them.

  12. Allison says:

    congrats on your blogiversary! I’m so glad you do what you do – your blog is a fun place to visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

