Finally Spring, Time to Sing

It's Spring, Let's Sing!

The birds are singing, the CQ Glee Club should sing too.

Just one week ago the temperatures here in Minnesota were struggling to reach the low 40’s, and my back yard was still covered with a few inches of dirty snow. We have had one of the snowiest winters ever, with fluffy white masses covering gardens since early November. But a warm wind has blown in this week, melting away slush and filling the air with the sound of cheerful birds. I love winter, but I am totally ready for spring! It is heartening to see the tulips leaves forcing themselves out of the ground.

This cool, slow spring has been very welcome in the flood-prone areas around the Twin Cities. Forecasters were predicting record flooding, but the prolonged cold has helped to keep it to a level that is more inconvenient than deadly. In my childhood hometown, the bridge that takes you to Wisconsin is precariously close to being underwater, but the downtown remains dry at the moment. Our neighbors in the northern parts of the state are still bracing for the worst, so we should be glad to put up with more cold and spare them the damage.

Spring 2011 Stillwater, MN Floods

2011 Flooding on the St. Croix River by the historic Stillwater Lift Bridge, which usually has ten or twelve feet of clearance underneath. In 1965 the water came several feet over the bridge deck.

Yesterday was a glorious day, with the sun warming us to just over 60 degrees. I uncovered some perennials and cleaned up around the yard, even breaking up the pile of snow hiding in the shady corner by the garage. The Minnesota Twins baseball team played their home opener in the warm sun. Instead of the usual noon hymns, the carillon from a nearby church chimed out a rendition of “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.”

As my regular readers know, that particular tune is the setting for The Curious Quilter’s Glee Club’s Anthem! Of course I sang out loudly while raking. Well, it got me started…and now I suggest we all need to warm up our voices and sing! I hope you will join in loudly, in any language, as no level of musical skill will be turned away.

We simply must start with the anthem, so I am taking the liberty of reposting the original:

Take Me Out to the Fabric Shop
sung to “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”

Take me out to the fabric shop,
Take me out with my pals.
Buy me some patterns and batting too,
I don’t care if I’ve got lots to do.
Let me buy, buy, buy for my fabric stash,
I hope I have enough cash!
For there’s one, two, three rooms of bolts,
At the fabric shop.

My, but you all sang that very nicely! Let’s keep thinking spring, with a new song for The CQ Glee Club. May your eyes twinkle like Louis Armstrong’s did as you sing this one, with gusto!

When Ya Gotta Have It, the Need for Fabric is Strong
sung to “When the Red, Red Robin Comes Bob-Bob Bobbin’ Along”

When ya gotta have it, the need for fabric is strong, so strong.
You may have a houseful, but adding more, well, you can’t go wrong!
Don’t fret, don’t fret, go shop instead.
For sure, this craving must be fed.
Cheer up, cheer up, the store’s ahead.
Drool, shop, sew and be happy.
You can choose some blue, red, or maybe some green, with flowers,
And when you get home, you’ll be sewing for hours and hours.
Go ahead and find your zen, doing what you love again, stitching along.
‘Cause ya gotta have it. The need for fabric is strong.

Thanks for thinking Spring and singing along, even my friends in the Southern Hemisphere who are heading into Fall!

As with all The CQ Glee Club songs, linked below, guilds and quilt groups may copy these lyrics and share with their friends. Please attach a copyright link back to my blog and cite The Curious Quilter.


Thank you!My Readers Are Awesome! I want to take a minute to thank you for following my blog. This week, ‘page hits’ passed the 100,000 mark, and my blog is just over ten months old! The fun Flag Counter tells me that people from 106 countries have visited since late January 2011. But the most amazing thing to me is the fact that over 9,000 individual readers have stopped by in just the last two months. Thank you all!
 
And a note to the large number of you who emailed me questions this week. I am behind on my responses and hope you will be patient. You will get answers to your emails soon. Clearly there is a lot of interest in postage stamp quilts out there, as well as mug rugs, and cotton pricing. No shortage of future blog topics, I assure you.

Don’t forget the Giveaway!


More Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club Songbook:


©2011, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finally Spring, Time to Sing

  1. Pingback: The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  2. sandra says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway! I would use your precious little squares on a postage stamp quilt! I love your’s!

  3. Martin says:

    ut oh – she’s at it again! Making us chuckle, reading our minds. Let’s get a big bus and we can all tour the country, singing, and visiting fabric shops everywhere!

  4. Martin says:

    Oh, I forget to say – Congrats on reaching 100,000 hits and 106 countries! Darn good for your first ten months.

  5. Marge Gordon says:

    Take me out to the quilt shop…
    Trying to get Red red robin out of my head, LOL!
    Thanks!!!

  6. J. Johnson says:

    Me too, Marge, I read this post earlier today, and have been singing “Drool. Shop. Sew and Be Happy” ever since! Thanks for the great one, Mary!

    And I think you deserve 100,000 hits, your blog is never dull, and you write so well. Thanks for sharing with all of us!

  7. Lynda says:

    What a HOOT! This may be your best tune yet, well, next to “Shall We Sort!” Thanks for the chuckle.

  8. AliExi says:

    I can tell you, I will be singing this one all the way to the fabric store! Thanks for keeping us entertained.

Leave a Reply

