100th post, and it’s my birthday too!

This is my 100th post on The Curious Quilter. It is also my birthday. I did not plan it that way, but it happened.

100 posts, and it's my birthday, too!Yep, that is me, on my first birthday many moons ago. A bygone era, linens on the table, lovely dishes, a dress made by my mom, and a cake that would make Betty Crocker or Martha Stewart stand in awe. It’s a far cry from the colorful paper plates that were used for my own kids’ celebrations.

The traditions may have changed, but the sentiments remain the same. Things made with love, to share with the family. Celebrating the end of one year and the start of the next. Taking a minute to reflect on how fast life moves. Perhaps letting a child get all sticky and gooey from too much frosting.

Quilting is like that too. Certainly our grandmothers would be amazed by our quilted creations. They might marvel at the colors and varieties of our fabrics, to say nothing of the opulence of our local fabric shops. I suspect that our diverse sewing machines would seem like magic to them. I can barely imagine what they would make of computer assisted designs and long-arm machines! 100th post, and my birthday too! Then again, they might shudder at the sheer quantity of it all.

But they would recognize that we share the desire to create something lovely, yet practical. Like them, we love the process of making things for friends and families, and occasionally for ourselves. We hope that our quilts cover people with an extra glow of love beyond the warmth that they give. Each quilted creation stands as a record of a moment in time, and we can touch them, look back, and reflect on how fast life goes.

Among the birthday emails, calls, and cards, one stands out for me today. One of my sisters, who is a knitter not a quilter, sent this card. How she managed to find one that looks like fusible appliqué, I do not know. But I appreciate the thoughtfulness that lead her to select it, as well as the sentiment.

Perhaps that is another similarity between birthday celebrations and the quilts we make for others, the thought that this one is right for the person who will receive it, and that we are delighted to send it their way.

And tomorrow, life starts moving towards the next birthday, and the next 100 posts! I wonder just what is in store, and am looking forward to the journey.

Thank you to each of you for sharing some of your own journey with me! – Mary

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 100th post, and it’s my birthday too!

  1. Brenda says:

    happy birthday! thanks for sharing that vintage picture and your reflections on birthdays and quilting. happy 100 posts too!

  2. Trish L. says:

    Happy, happy birthday Mary! It sounds as if it’s a great day for you. Lovely photo of you when you were younger. Thanks for sharing it with us all.

    Birthday Hugs, Trish

  3. Mez says:

    Happy birthday! Wow, what a cake. I love the big candle :o)

  4. DianeH says:

    Birthday Blessings to you!

  5. Dana says:

    Happy Birthday and congratulations. I hope you have a wonderful day.

  6. Patty says:

    Happy Birthday and I wish you many more!

  7. katieQ says:

    Happy birthday and congratulations on your 100th post. How lovely that your sister managed to find the perfect card.

  8. Many Happy Returns Mary, hope you’re having a great day.

  9. Lynda in Spokane says:

    Well, Happy Birthday to you!…and to me!, on Saturday. Pisceans are the best. We are celebrating at my favorite seafood restaurant with a dozen friends, so it should be fun.

    Lynda in Spokane

  10. Elaine says:

    Happy Birthday Mary, that was a lovely blog talking about past and present and how really things still remain the same, just in different packaging. Way to go!
    Elaine

  11. nanayane says:

    Happy googily moogily birthday!!!

  12. Donna says:

    Happy Birthday! Your birthday blog brought back many memories. I too have pictures just like that. Thanks! Hope your birthday was great and hope you have many more happy memories to come!

  13. Sandy A says:

    Happy birthday a day late! Hope you had a great day!

  14. Cindy says:

    Happy belated birthday!! Thanks for sharing your pictures and thoughts for the day. Congratulations on your 100th post.

  15. Coloradolady says:

    Happy Birthday Mary!!!! You should have spoke up sooner!!! I hope you had a great day!! Congratulations on your 100 post…..Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

