Resolutions, Intentions, Hopes, and UFOs

Scrappy Minnesota Maple Leaves. I can say with great RESOLVE that this will be finished this coming year!

Scrappy Minnesota Maple Leaves. I can say with great RESOLVE that this will be finished this coming year!

‘Tis the season for New Year’s Resolutions. I made a short list of some UFOs I intend to deal with in the coming year. I sent it to the moderator of my favorite quilt group, hopefully thinking that I will knock these off my list in the coming months. Hoping to finish them is not the same as resolving to, however!

Looking at the list, which I limited to ten, half would have been on my list last year, the year before, and even on lists from several years ago. Like those proverbial resolutions to lose weight, exercise more, and so forth, the idea of accomplishing most things on my list seems to slip away over time.

Perhaps this means that I have very little resolve. I certainly am brimming with intentions and hopes, but ensuring they come to fruition is not always my strong point. Is this a character fault that I should immediately resolve to change? I hope to improve, I intend to, but this very trait may need to show up on a future list of New Year’s Resolutions.

Sun Moon and Stars quilt, an eternal UFO.

This one is high on my list if things I INTEND to finish this year.

The idea of hoping to finish something feels uplifting, like an elusive emotion will carry me happily into action. Intending to complete a project seems like a great idea waiting to happen, if life doesn’t get in the way. But committing with absolute resolve to finishing a given quilt gives me a foreboding sense of dread. Not that I do not like the quilt, but having to finish it instead of wanting to makes me feel a bit like a two-year-old faced with a bowl of lima beans and asparagus.

Maybe it is all just a matter of semantics. After all, I usually do great work when up against a deadline, which may be why baby and wedding quilts get done before projects that are not tied to a date. Deadlines tend to improve my resolve. But how am I supposed to finish a quilt just for me, when there is no deadline? And would there be any delight in making a quilt just for me, if it was tied to a sense of obligation? Perhaps there are situations where resolve is not the appropriate approach.

Resolutions and UFOs, one from the hopeful list.

One of the numerous projects on the list of quilts I HOPE to finish in 2011.

After thinking about all these things, I have resolved to revise my list of New Year’s Resolutions. I will include three categories—things I hope to accomplish, things I intend to accomplish, and a few things to which I must truly apply my resolve, and make happen.

I sincerely hope this helps. I intend to see it through. I am resolved only to write the list, however. Time will sort out what actually gets accomplished.


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Resolutions, Intentions, Hopes, and UFOs

  1. Martin says:

    Well said! I are glad that you RESOLVED to create a blog, and HOPE that you INTEND to continue for a very long time.

  2. Jennie O says:

    I so enjoy your writing! How true, we certainly do take the word ‘resolution’ rather lightly.

  3. Peggi says:

    I have my own pile of UFOs, but I do find that if I don’t think about it too much – just pick one up and start working on it – it does eventually get finished. Part of my problem is overthinking – and dreading – all the work that remains to be done on any one quilt.

  4. Jill says:

    I like the blog today especially with the New Year looming. I am looking forward after finishing the quilt I am working on now to purge my sewing room of extra items and donate them to a local senior citizens group needing items. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

