Baby Quilt #2 Emerges From Stash

Baby Quilt 2 totally from stash My personal challenge—to create two fun baby quilts using only stash batting, binding and all—is now done. In my last post I shared the first crib quilt with you, and today I am pleased to present the second one.

This simple little quilt is for a baby boy, due soon. It started with the same great polkadots and Kona solids as the last one. When rummaging through my stash, I was glad to find a one yard piece of turquoise fabric, and some bright orange satin binding. I really needed them, as there were only tiny bits of the other colors left.  

Funky Quilt for a Baby Boy. Love the polkadot backing.

While laying it out, I kept simplifying my original idea more and more.  The minimalistic, graphic quality that emerged is fresh and cheerful. And, like the first baby quilt, I used a high loft batt with minimal quilting to make it ultra warm.

That happily takes two items off my Gathering Dust list. After making four large postage stamp quilts, these little charmers were a real joy to turn out. Now I get to go start something else!


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby Quilt #2 Emerges From Stash

  1. Donna says:

    I like it a lot! Isn’t it funny how sometimes the simplest things are so attractive.

    And I can picture the baby as a three year old, driving little toy cars around the quilt rows like roads…

  2. quiltytherapy says:

    Got to love using the stash so effectively.

  3. juliejoy says:

    wow, great stuff………..I hope the babie that get these quilts will enjoy them for years to come.

  4. Karen Eggleston says:

    That little boy is going to end up driving his cars on the “roads” on his quilt.

Leave a Reply

