Space: The Final Frontier

I have started on a major new project. Not a quilting one, but definitely a recycling one. And scrappy too! I am reclaiming my back bedroom as a sewing room/office. It will be a scrappy, recycled room because my budget is pretty much zero.

I actually started by realizing that I had to accept the small space, and let its 9×10 foot size set the storage limit. That is a hard thing for a committed fabriholic. I set about purging my stash, and had fun writing about it on Stash Manicure two days ago. As I said there, this is not a mere manicure, but an amputation, as I cut my fabric supply (quilting, apparel, craft, and upholstery) by just over 65%! I set my goal and established my sorting criteria, and hope it inspires others to do the same.

BEFORE: This nightmare is my small back bedroom, soon to be transformed into my sewing room.

Once done, it was oddly liberating. Now that I have my quantity under control again, I am really looking forward to figuring out the space, and have been scavenging the house and the neighborhood reuse center for furnishings. I am finding that using the same sorting criteria I used for cutting the fabric stash is helping me with furnishings too. All three criteria had to be met before a fabric got to stay.

  • First, I have to love it. Be it fabric, furniture, storage system, or artwork.
  • Then, I must have a specific planned use or purpose for it, not a dream but a real use.
  • And lastly, I have to commit to using it soon. In the case of fabric I gave myself a 12 month window, but with room items I am going with now. Sewing tools or gadgets that have not been used in years, out they go.

This process is going to be pretty slow, partly because I am also in major purge mode in all areas of my home! Funny, once the itch to streamline hit, it has completely motivated me to make some serious changes. After living in the same house for 33 years, there is a lot of stray clutter (and some things I am simply tired of seeing every day.) It is a wonderful feeling to ‘lighten the load,’ but a lot of work too.

My recent yard sale helped a lot of fabric find new homes.

With only my desk and computer left in this space, I am feeling a marvelous sense of freedom. I can change the tone of the room, reinventing it to better suit my needs. I have given myself permission to let go of old things and send them on to new homes. This little bedroom has been a nursery, a kid’s room, a TV room, a guest room, and then my office that grew into a sewing room too. Now it will no longer be a black hole collecting things I use, or may use, or dream of using.

Now I have a room full of possibilities. These physical changes have set about a change in attitude that surprises me.

I pulled out all my leftover paints and got a few from neighbors, and will try to mix a lovely new color from them this weekend. Fresh paint, fresh attitude, a new frontier. This should be fun!


Enter to win StoryQuilts.com patterns!

If you haven’t entered my Fall 2010 Giveaway yet, there is still time! Check it out, pick a prize option, and enter before 10/12/2010. And take a look at the complete list of Fall Into Fall Quilt Blogger’s Giveaways, and enter over 130 contests before October 15th.

And keep checking my own “Other Quilty Giveaway” links on the right hand side bar. Newly updated, lots of fun!


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Space: The Final Frontier

  1. Brenda says:

    good for you. I recently did the same thing when we shifted bedrooms around. I lost my office and my sewing room had to be shrunk. So I purged too,and it does feel good. I even resorted to mailing a UFO to an unsuspecting friend!

  2. Jennifer C. says:

    Mary, YOU have a problem! I am trying to decide if you are BRAVE or having a MENTAL LAPSE!! I do not think I could part with that much of my fabric. You can have my kids, my DH, but not my fabrics!

    Hmm, then again, maybe I am the one with the problem!

  3. Angela says:

    What a great start you’ve made. It is funny how the urge to purge can take over. Imagine how much easier it will be to enjoy what you have when you don’t have to worry so much about having too much of it. What a liberating feeling!

Leave a Reply

