The Curious Quilter Glee Club Rehearsal Time

Sip your lemon tea and loosen up your vocal chords, The Curious Quilter Glee Club is ready to rehearse!

A chorus of quilters.It has been a few months since we learned our rousing anthem in the introductory session of The Curious Quilter Glee Club, and started on this singing adventure. We had a lot of fun sharing tunes, and even took it on the road to Stash Manicure (now known as Sew We Sew, unfortunately this post has been deleted). You just never know when or where the CQ Glee Club will show up.

Today, we are drawing from the musical The King and I, but no dancing shoes are required. As always, I invite all of you to join me in song. Everyone welcome, no critics here; opera stars and tone-deaf singers will all be embraced. If you are inclined to sing in another language, go for it. Whatever works for you.

Instead of Shall We Dance, it is …

Shall We Sort?
intro, sung reflectively
My stash is in a mess,
No order can come through.
I simply want to find a piece
The perfect shade of blue.

So many of my friends, have bins and piles too.
It makes me think
We might be
Ready to try something new.

refrain, with gusto
Shall we sort?
Into bright clouds of color, shall we try?
Shall we sort?
Can we tell if it’s blue or purple dye?
Or perchance,
As the mountains of color pile high.
Will our reds be together,
Countless greens all with each other,
And shall we find things at a glance?
On the clear understanding
That this may be real important
Shall we sort?
Shall we sort?
Shall we sort?

Is this taupe?
In this horrible lighting, can I tell?
Is that gold?
Cause it might be a yellow just as well.
Oh good grief!
On which shelf should this multicolor dwell?
With huge flowers all over
Every color in the rainbow,
Oh perhaps I need some relief!
I’m confused, but determined.
Can you take a look and tell me?
Is this blue?
Is it teal?
Is it green?

Shall we sort?
When it give us a headache, should we try?
Shall we sort?
Will it be a mess again by next July?
But we know
As the quilt shops inspire us to buy.
When our stash is all pretty,
Color blending will be easy,
We may finish a UFO!
On the clear understanding
That this kind of thing can happen
Shall we sort?
Shall we sort?
Shall we sort?

Excellent job! How inspiring to hear! I hope you will keep practicing, as the CQ Glee CLub will be traveling again soon. But for now, I am off to prepare for my next giveaway, and to sort fabric while watching football, singing all the while…

Note: The CQ Glee Club traveled to Pleasant Home (Sorry, she has removed the old post!) on October 29th to lead you on a musical tour of Jodi’s great site! Hop over and learn the latest song, or click here to read them all!


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Curious Quilter Glee Club Rehearsal Time

  1. Sequana says:

    Give it up for the CQ Glee Club!!!!……..*deafening applause*

    WOW! *S*…..and so TRUE!…….I’ve been sorting and folding for days now, finding things I had no idea I even had! There is still a set of shelves over there in the corner that needs attention. At least I’ll have some music to keep me company.

  2. Donna says:

    Ah, I feel like dancing through my stash! Wonderful, thank you!

  3. Martin says:

    Visions of Yul Brenner dancing lightly across my sewing studio floor, what fun! LOVE the Blue/Teal/Green reference… some colors are SO hard to define.

  4. Rae Ann says:

    YOU ARE AMAZING! Another perfect tune to help us all out here in Blogland to want to dig right into that stash of ours and start sorting. It’s got me kicking up my heels and wanting to get going on doing just that~ Fabulous!

  5. gina says:

    I’ll never be able to watch the King and I in the same way again

    Love and hugs Gina xxx

  6. AliExi says:

    Shall we Sort?? HA HA HA

    Very funny!

  7. Auntie Em says:

    Glorious re-interpretation! I sang right along with you.
    I especially got a kick out of “on which shelf shall this multicolor dwell” !
    Looking forward to the next glee club rehearsal.

  8. J. Johnson says:

    Blue? Teal? Green? LOL! Been there, done that! Until you see them beside each other, very hard to tell.

    Now I picture the March of the Royal Children from the King and I, each of them bearing a small pile of my stash in the room…

  9. Pingback: The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  10. Lynda in Spokane says:

    I just wanted to let you know how well the Fireside Quilters (and a few scrapbookers!) performed last weekend in the north Idaho woods at a quilt retreat on a river. At first, doing “Take Me out to the Ball Game” we were a tad bit tentative, but gathered strength and even a smidge of harmony when we performed “Sew, Sew, Sew Your Stash”. By the time we got to “My Manicured Stash” with the optional dancing naturally, we were robust, and surprisingly on key! There were other groups at the conference site , and they came in upon hearing us, and applauded! We were, to say the least, stunned!! One of our group had a husband having surgery, so she stopped by later and requested an encore performance. We even managed to sing rounds for the “Sew, Sew, Sew Your Stash”, amazing ourselves. We are really getting good at this and laughed ourselves silly. Thanks for providing us a clever way to celebrate our passion and have fun at the same time! Know that the Glee Club in the greater Spokane, WA area is active, if slightly musically challenged!

    Lynda in Spokane

  11. Pingback: Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  12. Pingback: Finally Spring, Time to Sing | The Curious Quilter

  13. Pingback: Postage Stamp Quilt 2012: Mini-Challenge Number One Begins | The Curious Quilter

  14. Pingback: Tuning Up the CQ Glee Club Again . . . | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

