It’s Giveaway Time at the Curious Quilter!

You can win this book, and a yard of assorted homespun fabrics. Bring the garden indoors for the winter and snuggle up. Enter through August 31, 2010.

This giveaway is closed. The Minnesota State Fair is underway, and living close to the fairgrounds puts a festival aire on our neighborhood. We can faintly hear the bands, smell the food, and even seen the fireworks every night.

I want to celebrate the coming end of summer with a great contest. You can win the soft-cover book Garden Club Quilts by Mary Etherington (Country Threads). Included with this giveaway is some wonderful unwashed homespun cotton fabric. The lucky winner will receive the book, plus a half yard of light green/cream homespun check, a fat quarter of green/orange/wine plaid, and a fat quarter of orange/cream plaid.

The book is packed full of wonderful garden-oriented patterns for a quilt, plus 12 companion pieces including wall hangings. Designs feature stars, blackbirds, sunflowers, flying geese, birdhouses, watering cans, and more. Published by Leisure Arts in 2001, the book has a timeless theme, with lovely, rustic appeal.

How do you win? By leaving comments and spreading the word, of course! Entries accepted now through August 31, with the winner announced here on September 1, 2010.

A sample of a smaller project from the book. Click any photo to enlarge.

Please leave a separate comment for EACH entry type listed here:

Required: One entry for leaving a comment which shares something that YOU are curious about, quilt or fabric related.
Extra Entry: One entry for sharing my giveaway on your blog.
Extra Entry: One entry for sharing my giveaway on Twitter. See the right hand column for my Twitter link.

That’s all! Win this book, and create a quilt that will be cozy all winter, but have you thinking about gardening even when it snows. International entries are welcome. Best of luck to everyone!

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to It’s Giveaway Time at the Curious Quilter!

  1. Martin says:

    Oh, am I the first? Cool! I am curious about learning to do trapunto!

  2. Carol in E TN says:

    Have always loved Country Threads shop and their patterns. Looking forward to going there next year when we are in Iowa. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  3. Janet says:

    I’m curious about all things quilty… how do you sew hexagons, how do you make free motion look good, how do you pick the right fabric…. etc. etc….Nice giveaway. Thanks for the chance to enter.

  4. Trish L. says:

    WOW! Great giveaway!
    I’m curious on how to do free motion quilting on a regular home sewing machine and wrestling with all the bulk. And how you get those beautiful quilting designs quilted in with the bulk.
    Love your site. If I have 10 emails pop up and one is your updated ‘notes’ to us all, I click on yours first!
    Hugs,
    Trish L.

  5. Lovie Ball says:

    I’m curious about “Triangles in a Square” designs. It is one of my favorite blocks, and I have been trying to locate different patterns that use this block. I want different layouts, color options, and mixing with other design elements. I enjoy playing with color and seeing where it will lead me.

  6. Pat says:

    I am curious about shortcuts!! Who’s the genius that figures them out the first time!!!?? Thanks for the giveaway!!

  7. Piroska says:

    I’m curious about applique quilting.
    Thanks for the chance to enter the giveaway.
    :o)

  8. Donna says:

    Nice book! I am curious to learn more about the chemicals in cotton. Everything you have shared so far in the Cotton Chronicles is really interesting. Hope there is more soon.

  9. Jane says:

    What a lovely looking book. I’m new to the quilting game, and am interested in how the craft has developed. I can’t even imaging doing by hand some of the designs I’ve seen on older quilts, and yet it seems even more daunting doing it by machine. I’d love to see an “expert” in action to see how it all flows.

  10. Shari says:

    I’m curious about what future generations will think about our quilts. Will this be considered the ‘golden age’ of quilt making when it became more than making blankets and became wondrous works of art? Or will quilt making be considered qaint and old fashioned in a high-tech future or will it become even more important because everything else is so high tech? I don’t make heirloom quilts for the future at this stage of my quilt making – I’m still enjoying making simple ‘blankets’ of quilted love…

  11. LouAnn says:

    I am curious about making a Baltimore Album Quilt. Thanks for the chance to win!!!

  12. Rose says:

    First of all, I absolutely love homespun and I’m also a quilt book collector, so how could I not be excited about your great giveaway. I’m curious to learn everything I possibly can about quilting. I’m still in the “wannebe” stage and am open to all ideas.

  13. I’m curious about learning needle turn appliqué’…one fine day perhaps I’ll find a class that can be crammed into my schedule! 🙂
    ~Yane

  14. Carrie says:

    Does it really matter if I prewash my fabrics?

    If I’m making a quilt for me/my kids, and we live in the hotter Houston area, is it ok to not use batting but use flannel as the sandwich instead? (has anyone done this?)

    Is it possible to machine quilt anything larger than a twin size quilt on my Singer? (yes, I know, not exactly one of the better machines for quilting, but it’s all I have)

    How often should I take my machine in for a lube/clean/tune? Or can I do some of that myself (and save a few bucks)?

    • RE: Cleaning and oiling your machine at home..

      Do it yourself, and save yrou money for when you need more serious adjustments or repairs.

      I do mine regularly, all of them! There are dozen of websites offering instructions, even some on YouTube. If your machine is newer, it is probably covered in the manual. I looked at websites for seven sewing machine manufacturers and they all had directions for simple cleaning and oiling.

      Use sewing machine oil, sparingly. Cover your work surface as some oil will seep down. After you are done, run some scrap fabric through to catch any extra oil.

  15. Pingback: it’s give away time at the curious quilter « Yane’s Wicked Blog-i-ness

  16. I’ve always wanted to do this quilt. A couple of quilting friends made theirs before I began quilting. I am curious about machine quilting. I’d love to machine quilt some of my own quilts.

  17. Patty says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway. I am curious about the patterns using paper piecing. I’d love to try it because I’m seen some amazing quilts, but do not understand how they do it.

  18. Brenda says:

    I am curious how one gets an idea into a pattern, who decides the latest fabric trends.

  19. Donna says:

    I am curious about how a person becomes a fabric designer or gets to work in the industry.

  20. Laura M says:

    I’m curious about so many aspects of quilting… though, at this point in life, I’m most curious on how to balance life so that time to quilt is more abundant! Thanks for the chance to win such a great set of prizes!

  21. Laura M says:

    I’ve shared your give-away on my blog, though the blog is so new, I doubt anyone will see it!

  22. Andria says:

    I’m curious about learning how to applique….

  23. J. Johnson says:

    I am curious about paper piecing too. And also about dyeing fabric at home.

  24. Mimi says:

    I would love to learn how to make cathedral windows – they look so complicated. Great giveaway – count me in!!

  25. Miss Mew says:

    I am new to quilting and sewing but am curious to learn how to do applique. Thanks for the chance to win a fabulous giveaway!!

  26. Deb says:

    Hi! i always enjoy receiving your email updates also. I’m curious about paper piecing and also free motion. I’ve not tried hexagons either, and really I’m not sure they’re my thing. I love wonkiness and would love to try a wonky log cabin.

  27. Sarah G. says:

    I’m curious about how to do hand-quilting – I have a big project coming up, and I really don’t know how I’m going to do it!

  28. Sandy Allen says:

    I’ve never worked with homespuns before. I’d love to win so I could experience it!
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  29. Lynn D says:

    I’m curious about working with homespuns. I’ve heard they are temperamental..have more give than regular quilting cottons. If I win, I will try them out…here’s hoping for an opportunity to try something new.

  30. Marcia W. says:

    I am curious about the best way to applique using homespuns – dealing with the ravelling, tendency to stretch, crooked weave – raw edge? Fusible? Needle turned? Machine? I am also curious about the best (and easiest) method for making hexagons. Thanks for the giveaway.

  31. Kathy says:

    I am curious about shading! I have been cutting up some of my stash and last night I was laying the 10″ strips flat to make squares and it started me thinking about a color wheel type of quilt – not the shape but the gradation!

  32. Bonnita says:

    Lucky number whatever I am! Thank you for a great giveaway!

  33. Vicki says:

    I’d love to know more about quilt design. Thanks for the chance to win:)

  34. Vicki says:

    I tweeted about the giveaway and am following you there, too!

  35. Nancy Sue Phillips says:

    I’m curious about choosing the white background or sashing fabric for a quilt. Are all white cotton fabric basically the same? Does everyone have a favorite that they steer towards everytime, or as long as it’s thick, can’t see through it, and quilting quality…well that’s ok too?
    Good question for the giveaway!
    nsue21702 at gmail dot com

  36. Donna DuMouchel says:

    I’m curious about how to become more organized so I can better use what I already have.

    Nice giveaway, hope I win!

  37. Sherri I says:

    I am curious to know how others have been able to set up a small space in order to be the most efficient quilter. Thanks!

  38. Annmarie says:

    Great giveaway – I’m curious about online fabric stores that sell designer fabrics quite cheap – is it the same quality as when you buy it in your LQS?

  39. barbara says:

    I’m curious about dyeing my own fabric. I see lovely examples on blogs but just not brave enough to take the big dye plunge.

  40. OOOO Pick me Pick Me – Wonderful giveaway – I am so wanting to learn quilting and I am just starting to collect patterns and supplies. I would be so blessed – wonderful giveaway !!!! I will post a link on my blog
    Take Care

  41. Pingback: Homespuns Have History | The Curious Quilter

  42. Melissa Meilleur says:

    I am interested in all quilting! I have recently started applique, so I am definitely interested in techniques for applique. I’m not a great quilter, so hand quilting is something intriguing to me as well!

  43. kathleen c in ct says:

    Thanks very much for the information about homespuns on today’s post (Aug. 31).
    The giveaway book looks delightful, and I would like to try my hand with homespuns, following your tips for sewing and washing.
    I continue to be curious about Liberated Patchwork techniques and about ways in which I can liberate traditional applique designs. I am curious to see if I can do more original designing, too.
    Kathleen
    villagequilterATgmailDOTcom

  44. jackie says:

    I hope am not too late to enter.

  45. Pingback: Last Day for August Giveaway Entries! | The Curious Quilter

  46. Kim says:

    I would love to know how machine quilters create those beautiful feather wreaths.

  47. B. Singer says:

    I struggle to choose batting sometimes, high loft, low loft. Now there is bamboo to consider too! Too many choices! How do I know which to pick?

  48. Shelley C says:

    I’m curious about fusible applique; which fusibles are best to use that won’t be stiff or gum up the needle.

Leave a Reply

