A Topper to Finish

This reminds me of tropical waters! You are seeing one quarter of the completed topper.


With the tight economy and my bare bones work right now, I am committed to buying only what fabric I must to finish projects.  I have also challenged myself to work through a hefty set of UFO’s and WIP’s.  That is why I pulled out this completed topper, and this afternoon I am contemplating backing ideas.   It will probably get a pieced backing made from some solids in blue and green that are in my stash.  Then I have a decent supply of peacock and blue green variegated quilting thread, which should be fun with this fabric. I want to finish this one up in the next couple of weeks, and find it a nice new home.

This lovely batik gem makes me think of diving into tropical waters!  It is made from two and a half jelly rolls, whose origin I do not know.  Earlier this year I swapped a tub of white-on-whites for a large box of jelly rolls and charm packs, and have been busy playing with them.  I usually avoid these precuts—if you follow me you know I am a stickler for prewashing—but when the swap came up, I jumped for it!  I needed variety.  This is the only completed topper from that box, guess I better get busy.

Are you also finishing UFO’s these days, and scrimping away, using as much stash as possible? Or are you drooling over some fabulous new line, anxious to play with enticing new fabrics?  As we approach the new school year and change of season, what are you working on?

If you have not checked lately, there are many very nice giveaways going on in quiltblogdom.  There are even some biggies, like sewing machines, trips, sets of books, and lots of fabrics. Do wander through the “Other Quilty Giveaways” list—scroll down the right hand sidebar. Let me know if you find others to add. And yes, there will be another giveaway (much more modest than some of those) here at The Curious Quilter soon!


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Topper to Finish

  1. AliExi says:

    oooooooo – it is pretty – so cool on a hot summer day

  2. Caroll D says:

    Beautiful quilt. I love the design layout you used.

  3. martin says:

    Minty Fresh! Actually I like it a lot, looks big too! I zoomed the photo so I could see the details, the various batiks and hand dyes are great, the yellow makes it pop. Looking forward to seeing the finished quilt.

  4. Sarah C. says:

    That is a gorgeous quilt! I love the colors…. And in answer to your question, I am working out of my stash almost exclusively these days, but I’m fortunate – lots of my bloggy friends have sent fabric from their stash to help out with my quilt ministry, so it’s like having new fabric to sew with – at least, new to me! I’m currently working on a sudoku quilt for the quilt ministry, and a stripes quilt for my husband. Both are ready to be sandwiched and quilted – the tops and backs are all ready. Hopefully I’ll get to those tomorrow, but it’s been so hot here it’s been hard to think about going outside to spray baste them!

  5. gina says:

    Gorgeous. I adore the colours
    Like you I am stash diving but there are a few quilts that I need to get fabric for as I just don’t have the yardage in my stash. I’ve started making mainly smaller quilts in a bid to use up what I’ve got.

    Love and hugs Gina xxx

  6. Patty says:

    Oh I love the look of your quilt. So calming like water. It’s just beautiful.

  7. J. Johnson says:

    Sometimes simple things are very lovely. It looks so inviting already! The new owner will be very lucky. Looking forward to seeing the finished version.

    I AM drooling, but refraining for the most part. There are so many wonderful new fabrics out there too. We seem to be in a color shift again lately, perhaps the season are affecting the designers too.

Leave a Reply

