One of THOSE Days!

I did a really stupid thing today. Surely, there must have been some outside force at work, I KNOW better than to do what I did. Yet, I did it.

Perhaps the incessant pounding of the jack hammers drove me to distraction, tearing up my neighbor’s sidewalk to repair their sewer line.

It just may be sleep deprivation. After all, I stayed up super-late to finish a really good book, only cramming in three hours of sleep.

Maybe I can blame it on yet another day of oppresive heat and humidity. I tend to wilt in this weather, my brain turns mushy, and I lose clarity.

Somehow, though, I just made a mistake.

I had three yards of indigo kona cotton, fresh off the bolt. I know from experience that indigo is worse even than black for having excess color. So, late yesterday, I washed it with a load of blue jeans to get the first round of excess dye out.

OK. You all KNOW what is coming.

This morning, I tossed the jeans in the dryer, and started a large load of ratty old undies, kitchen towels, and some other items. Wanting to make a full load, I noticed my son’s pile of white tee’s sitting there and tossed them in as well. I set the washer for warm, and added a wee bit of bleach, not realizing that the indigo fabric was still clinging to the inside of the washer.

Oops!

Can we say DUH???

Interestingly, the indigo kona is still very solid indigo, despite the bleach. Of course, absolutely everything else is now splotched with indigo as well. I will re-wash the whites without the indigo.

I am trying to decide if I should use a dye-grabber, or bleach. I am ambivalent about blothcy undies, but suspect the tee shirts would not be very well received. After all, my son has insisted upon doing his own laundry since he was 13!

Since the heat index just topped 100 degrees, and I have only fans to cool my home, I have decided to defer further laundry decisions. Or maybe I just do not trust myself to get it right this time! I am going to go wander to a movie theatre and enjoy some air conditioning for a while. Reality can wait!

So what mindless things have all of YOU been up to lately? And, if you do not mind a personal question, what color have you dyed your undies lately?


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One of THOSE Days!

  1. nanayane says:

    the t-shirt actually looks quite lovely…you could tell him you just thought he could use a lil color in his wardrobe… 🙂

  2. Sarah Schultte says:

    I agree, nanayane, but the real question is, how MANY of his tee shirts are now blotchy blue?

    I had salmon pink dish towels for a long time after a dyeing accident. I can relate!

  3. Martin says:

    Well Well Well! Well Done, girl!

    I dyed fabric once and failed to wear gloves, took over a month for my fingernails to not be green.

  4. J. Johnson says:

    Been there, done that! Pink, but not mine, my DH’s undies. He was not happy.

  5. Marge says:

    At least you dyed your son’s shirts blue… I did my guy’s shirts purple once by accident. I had to go buy him all new shirts because there was no way he would wear purple undershirts. He drew the line on colored underwear a LONG time ago, LOL

  6. cindy says:

    I agree that I think the t-shirts look good. As for my mistakes, washing new denim fabric with my ‘color’ clothes and my t-shirts all had a bluish tint to them. Oh well….that’s life.

  7. Nancy Sue Phillips says:

    I think the shirts look great. He’ll be the coolest 13 year old on the block!

    • LOL, alas, if he was STILL 13, he woudl buy that theory. He started doing his own laundry at 13, and is now firmly a 20 something who uses mom’s washer!

      I resorted to bleach. It seems to have worked. Left my undies blue though.

  8. Shari says:

    A lot of people pay a lot of money for specially dyed shirts…

  9. AliExi says:

    I once accidently dyed all mine and my hubby’s white personals a disgusting shade of yellow-green, and NOTHING would take it out! He bought all new, I lived with mine…

  10. Kim says:

    If you rewash this load with a color catcher it may very well pull the indigo dye out of the clothes, however, if you have already dried the clothes with heat this may not work as well. I have done this with success. I do like the indigo t-shirt though…if you tried to do that on purpose it would probably never work out so well. 😀

  11. gina says:

    I dyed mine blue aswell. I have a skirt that starts off white and then the colour graduates to a deep blue. Not thinking I put it in the wash without a colour catcher and it is now all mid blue. Along with some of my daughters socks, her ‘good’ white bra and my husband’s was blue with white pinstripe shirt which is now blue with blue pinstripe. I wasn’t popular

    Love and hugs Gina xxx

Leave a Reply

