Tidbits, Contests, and Such

Stash Manicure invited The Curious Quilter Glee Club to ‘perform’ today.  Come join in the silly-business.  Hop on over to frolic along with the Glee Club as they sing a tune inspired by The Sound of Music. While you are there, let Rae Ann know you enjoy the Stash Manicure site.
NOTE 2/2012: Stash Manicure has evolved into Sew We Quilt, and the archive containing this CQ Glee Club song is no longer there. Because we all love to sing, I have inserted the original post from Stash Manicure into this page. This is still one of my favorite Glee Club tunes:

The Hills are Alive…

…With the Sound of The Curious Quilter Glee Club!

Originally posted by The Curious Quilter on July 23, 2010 as a guest blogger on the Stash Manicure blog.

A big hello from Mary, The Curious Quilter! I know, I was just here this month, sharing with all my friends at Stash Manicure. But this time, I am not alone. I brought the chorus. (Well, in my head at least!) And I hope that all of you will join The Curious Quilter Glee Club!

As founder of the Glee Club, I thought Stash Manicure needed its own special song. Apparently so did Rae Ann, as she invited us. Perhaps we will visit YOUR blog one day too! If you are not familiar with our Glee Club Anthem, or the soon-to-be-classic Sew, Sew, Sew Your Stash, click on over and check them out.

Please join in the singing loudly, so Rae Ann can hear us all the way to Utah! I bet most of you know the tune, but it is a little tricky. Dancing along just might help, with visions of Julie Andrews sewing kid’s play clothes from curtains.

My Manicured Stash
Sung to the tune of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music
(dancing optional)

Curious Quilter Glee Club, a chorus of quilters.Jelly rolls in baskets, and yardage in piles.
Fat quarters stretching for miles and miles.
I have saved everything, none’s in the trash
And now I find myself buried in stash.

(dancing)

Shelves full of patterns, and boxes of toppers.
Huge bags of batting hide secrets of shoppers.
All of my treasures, they’re my special cache,
And now I find myself buried in stash!

I feel no guilt.
I love to quilt,
Love to stitch and press.
But now that I’ve gathered
More things than I need,
I’m starting to feel…
Some stress!

(even more dancing)

guitar sketchEmpty the tubs and I’ll sort out all the baggies.
Clean out the closets, the nooks and the craggies.
Gather from home, will not run to the store.
It’s perfectly clear – I don’t need any more!

(dancing)

Armies of thread spools line up on my table.
Rulers and bobbins lie ready and able.
Stacking by color, by value, by dyes…
I’m going to sew my stash way down in size!

(big ending!)

One thing I know,
Now I must sew,
Threads must fly like fur.
I’ll sew quilts straight through
From beginning to end,
And have a Stash
Man-i-cure!

WELL DONE! APPLAUSE TO YOU ALL!! Thanks to Rae Ann for inviting me back. Rock on!

– Mary, The Curious Quilter

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com

  • Have you entered The Curious Quilter’s July Giveaway yet? Entries accepted through July 24, 2010. Keep those comments, haikus, and limericks rolling in.  You can win a scrappy set of 80-5 inch square fabric charms.  Good luck!
  • Want to enter more giveaways? Keep an eye on my Other Quilty Give-Aways links on the right hand side bar.  If you know of one to add, please email me – there is a link there for that too! 
  • My friends out on the East Coast at Delaware Quilts are inviting quilters to make some very special miniature quilts.  They are working with the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative (AAQI) on a very special project for the November International Quilt Festival.  Marge at DQ is working to gather 100 little quilts before August 15, 2010, each no larger than 9 by 12 inches.  These will be forwarded to the AAQI for use in a fundraiser.  If you submit a qualifying quilt, you could win one of two $50.00 gift certificates.  Get all of the nitty-gritty details here, and have fun sewing a nifty mini-quilt for a great cause. Let Marge know that The Curious Quilter sent you!

Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tidbits, Contests, and Such

  1. cindy says:

    I checked out the tune – even sang it, did you hear me? I tried to leave a comment at the Stash Manicure blog, but they don’t have an anonymous option to leave comments.

  2. Rae Ann says:

    We love the song over here at Stash Manicure. Thanks for making our day!

  3. Martin says:

    Encore! Encore! These songs are fun!

  4. Pingback: Hello World, Again! My Blog Turns One. | The Curious Quilter

  5. Pingback: Finally Spring, Time to Sing | The Curious Quilter

  6. Pingback: Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  7. Pingback: Saturday House (and Blog) Cleaning | The Curious Quilter

  8. J. Johnson says:

    So glad you re-posted this, I loved it when it appeared on Stash Manicure! It is going to stick in my head all day.

  9. Pingback: Tuning Up the CQ Glee Club Again . . . | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

