The Curious Quilter Glee Club

Welcome to the first session of the Curious Quilter Glee Club!

Warm up your voices, tune up your guitars. Today I invite all of you to join me in song. Everyone welcome, no critics here; opera stars and tone-deaf singers will all be embraced. If you are inclined to sing in another language, go for it. Whatever works for you.

For our first tune, please join me in singing our new Curious Quilter Anthem:

Take Me Out to the Fabric Shop
sung to “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”

Take me out to the fabric shop,
Take me out with my pals.
Buy me some patterns and batting too,
I don’t care if I’ve got lots to do.
Let me buy, buy, buy for my fabric stash,
I hope I have enough cash!
For there’s one, two, three rooms of bolts,
At the fabric shop.

Excellent job! I think I will memorize that one for entertainment while driving to the quilt shop later.

Let us join in a round, sing it through two times, with some pep! All you ladies and gents in cities, you start. All of you rural singers, please start when the city dwellers reach the third line.

Sew, Sew, Sew Your Stash
sung to “Row, Row, Row Your Boat”

Cut, cut, cut your stash
Into nifty squares.
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily,
Chain them into pairs.

Press, press, press your seams
Nearly quarter-inch wide.
Steamily, steamily, steamily, steamily,
Toward the darker side.

Sew, sew, sew your pairs
Into larger squares.
Over, and over, and over, and over, and
Stitch away your cares!

(Thanks to blog follower Martin, who suggested this next great verse!)

Quilt, quilt, quilt your layers
any way that’s fun.
Stippling, stippling, stippling, stippling
Bind it up, then done!)

A chorus of quilters.Oh my!

That sounded wonderful, I am very proud of you all! I think I heard a Spanish stanza somewhere out there, and perhaps a Finnish one too. Do share the translation, please. I hope you will practice these tunes and be ready for the next Curious Quilter Glee Club session!

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Curious Quilter Glee Club

  1. cindy says:

    Oh my! is right. You are too funny. Now I’m going to have those tunes in my head all day. I better get the words memorized.

  2. tjquilter031 says:

    Love your Blog! I’ll be having these in my head all day too especially with sewing on the agenda for the day.

    Hugs,
    Trish

  3. Donna says:

    Was up all night sewing, heading for a nap, but now I have these stuck in my head! Next time, a lullabye? Thanks for sharing your wit and wisdom with us!

  4. Sarah Schultte says:

    What a great way to start the day! Thanks!

  5. Martin says:

    Seriously, girl, you light up the quilt blog world! And inspire…

    Quilt, quilt, quilt your layers
    any way that’s fun.
    Stippling, stippling, stippling, stippling
    Bind it up, then done!

  6. J. Johnson says:

    Funny stuff, stuck in my head now.

  7. Alice Hamilton says:

    Ha! I’m in! When is our first performance date! DO NOT sing with pins in your mouth. Choke…

  8. AleExi says:

    Come on all you other rural quilters, I can’t hear you and feel like I am singing alone. Thanks for the fun post!

  9. Sharon says:

    Oh fun. Can we do holiday song versions too?

  10. The House of the Rising Sun Tune:

    There is a guild in New Orleans
    That’s called the Quilted Den
    They cut and sew all seams backwards
    Thank God I’m not one of them.

  11. Molly says:

    Thanks! That was loads of fun! I’ll be singing that all night …. to the chagrin of my children.

  12. Somewhere Over the Rainbow:

    Somewhere past the street light on the right side
    Is a store that I care for and long to be near tonight.

    Fabrics piled up to the ceiling and on the floor
    Books, nooks and notions in plenty with bells ringing on the door.

    A way up high I see a bolt in red and green and brown and blue that’s pretty
    I can’t reach it nor can the clerk but we will find a way, you know, we’re giddy

    Sometimes I get to the register and have no money
    But I can charge my boyfriend’s credit card
    Cuz he is not with me.

  13. Lynda says:

    You said it, oh my! So many clever people out there. Will the Curious Quilter Glee Club be performing on other blogs as well? Thank you for creating this entertaining moment. I read it this morning and have been humming “Take me out to the…” all day! DH thinks I am taking a sudden interest in baseball.

  14. Auntie Em says:

    These both brought a big smile to my face. My favorite line of all is “I don’t care if I’ve got lots to do”. Ain’t it the truth!!

  15. Leila says:

    Too funny!
    thanks for the laughs 😀

  16. Pingback: Tidbits, Contests, and Such | The Curious Quilter

  17. Pingback: The Curious Quilter Glee Club Rehearsal Time | The Curious Quilter

  18. Pingback: Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  19. Pingback: Finally Spring, Time to Sing | The Curious Quilter

  20. Pingback: Hello World, Again! My Blog Turns One. | The Curious Quilter

  21. Pingback: Wandering Wednesday: The CQ Glee Club Takes a Road Trip | The Curious Quilter

  22. Pingback: Tuning Up the CQ Glee Club Again . . . | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

