July Fabric Charm Giveaway Contest, enter 7/14-7/24/2010

Win this Scrappy Set of 80-5 inch quilt charms!

7/25/2010: THIS CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED. Yes, it is July Giveaway time here at The Curious Quilter! You can win this free scrappy set of 80 five inch cotton quilt fabric charms, no duplicates. These fun squares are not die cut, but are carefully cut by an experienced (but highly human) quilter. They are cut from prewashed fabrics, and come from a smoke and pet free environment. The set includes calicos, novelties, batiks, geometrics, metallics, and more. Click on the photo for a closer look.

You can earn up to four entries by entering in three ways.

  1. Leave a comment anywhere on the site, telling how you would use these charm squares.
  2. Subscribe to my blog by entering your email address in the Email Subscription box on the right hand panel.  Current subscribers are entered automatically. Note: checking the subscribe box in comment sections on blogs only adds you to that comment thread. You must use the Email Subscription button on the right hand side to subscribe to blog.  Another note 7/19: If you subscribe to  a blog reading service, they do not notify me, so you will not receive an entry for that.
  3. You have to work a bit harder for this one, so it is worth two entries.  Think of your favorite color, and your favorite traditional quilt block.  Now write up a limerick or a haiku using both those terms and share it in a comment.  Have some fun with this!  Examples are below, but copying will not count!

Entries are accepted now through midnight on July 24, 2010.  A random drawing will determine the winner, who will be announced here on July 25th. International entries are welcome. Thanks for entering!

(Remember to check out my links to Other Quilty Giveaways on the right hand side bar!)

Haiku:  Simply put, a three line poem having five syllables in the first line, seven in the next, and five in the last. Rhyming is not required.

A traditional Haiku poem:

Branches stretching out
To grab the sunsets colors
Night is approaching.

A ‘quilty’ Haiku poem:

Lady of the Lake
Intricate blue and white
Triangles embrace.

Limerick:  A five line poem where lines one, two, and five rhyme with each other, and lines three and four rhyme with each other.  Usually the longer lines one, two, and five have nine syllables, and the shorter two lines have five or six, but they do not have to be perfect for THIS contest!  Less rigid than a haiku in form, but most commonly humorous.
A blue and white Lady of the Lake
Was thought to be quilted by Jake.
When it won a prize
He confessed his lies
Saying “I cannot quilt, I’m a fake.”

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

119 Responses to July Fabric Charm Giveaway Contest, enter 7/14-7/24/2010

  1. Martin says:

    Me first Me first! I would make a quilt with them, silly! Actually, I was thinking shams to go with a quilt I am working on.

  2. Martin says:

    I already subscribe, so here is my poetry attempt:

    The curious quilter got lazy.
    Her triangle points were all hazy.
    Her red blazing star
    Looked great from afar
    But up close it clearly was crazy.

  3. Martin says:

    Oh heck, a Haiku too…

    Yellow moon over
    the mountain casts soft shadows
    of black across green

    That was FUN! Come on peeps, join in!

  4. cindy says:

    WOW, I’d like to enter. At this time I can’t think of anything clever. I’d use the 5″ squares in a couple of totes and purses that I have planned to make. If I can think of a Haiku, I’ll enter that also. Thanks for the give-away.

  5. Alexie says:

    I would love to make a lap quilt for my uncle. He is in a wheelchair, and always cold.

    And I will try a haiku…

    tumbling blocks fall
    helter skelter pink blue white
    a baby’s delight

  6. Hannele says:

    I’d love to win: I’d probably use part of them for a Libby Lehmann technique I saw in the TQS show a couple of months ago. By the look of the picture it seems there would be just suitable color value variance for it.

  7. Penny says:

    Ohhh…how fun…a quilt for DH’s granddaughter? Additional pieces for my stash? A couple of sewing machine covers? Many choices!!! Thanks for the generous give-away!!

  8. Oh, how I would love to win this. They look so pretty. I would dig into my someday pile and make one of the many quilt ideas I have been saving for someday. Love that people are now designing just for these pre-cut fabrics. Love it.

  9. My haiku

    Use some blue and white
    My quilt will be quite a treat
    So soft, warm and cute

  10. tjquilter031 says:

    I would love to have the scrappy squares! 80 of them – WOW! I could either make a huge quilt or 2 smaller ones. I think a kid or two would love to have them.
    I’m already a subscriber – yahoo – get a 2nd entry!
    And here is my Haiku and Limerick for entry 3 and 4!

    Haiku:
    There was a lady
    Who wanted to quilt
    Now she is batty!

    Limerick:
    There once was a lady with three kids
    All they owned in their clothing were bibs
    So Mom got real busy
    Made quilts in a tizzy
    When the quilts were all made they called Dibs!

    Hugs,
    TJQuilter

  11. Jocelyn says:

    Wow! These charms would make a very lovely and cheerful lap quilt for our new family room! Thanks so much for entering me 🙂

  12. katieQ says:

    I have been thinking about making a scrappy Square in a Square quilt and these charms would be perfect for it. I am already a subscriber to your blog so my next chore is:

    There once was a girl named Kate,
    Who fell in love with the Dresden Plate.
    She made it in blue
    And wound up with two
    But her quilt really needed eight.

    A blue Dresden Plate
    Sitting on a square of white
    Brightening the room.

    Thank you for the fun giveaway.

  13. Jocelyn says:

    A tisket, a tasket
    Pink makes a perfect Basket
    to fill up a wall
    there’s no carrying at all
    cause beauty is the job of this Basket

  14. jackie says:

    i would make a quilt of course with your charm squares

  15. Donna says:

    I am a subscriber!

    I would add a solid and make a small quilt for the guest room.

    My Haiku:

    Rows of flying geese
    proudly follow the leader
    across grey-blue sky.

  16. Martin says:

    Oh dear! My apoligies to Curious Mary and her reader Cindy! I guess I was a bit hyper last night.

    The poems are fun to read.

  17. sandra says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    I would use them in a quilt!
    I’m so sorry, my english isn’t good enough to paly with rymes…

  18. Barbara says:

    I would add them to my ever-growing fabric stash — where they will happily reside with fabric pieces of all shapes, sizes, ages, fibers, and national origins until just the right project for them comes along.

    Which Star pattern is my favorite to use?
    Feathered, Ohio, Lone — I can’t choose!
    I really don’t have a clue
    But I know I’ll make it with blue —
    Which guarantees a quilt that can’t lose!

  19. shannon says:

    i would add to the squares from The Stash and make HST and make a cool starry wall hanging.

    my limerick:
    wait, what did the directions say?
    crap, my stripes go the wrong way….
    beginner pattern, my a$$
    i should’ve taken the class…
    still it’s not a bad way to spend a day.

  20. Priya says:

    I would make a quilt for my little gal…

  21. Michelle Balletti says:

    I would use the squares to do some hexies!! Maybe count them down to 2.5 and then give away 3 sets to other peeps!!

  22. Jill Harkins says:

    I would make myself a quilt. Please pick me.

  23. Sandy Allen says:

    Wow I’d love to win these! I have always wanted to make a scrappy snowball quilt and these would be perfect! Thanks for the chance to win.

  24. Marcia W. says:

    I would make a cute quilt with the charms, perhaps trying a new technique for making pinwheels from charms. Thanks for your curiousquilter giveaway.

  25. Marcia W. says:

    Here goes my Haiku:
    An Iris flower
    Freezer paper foundation
    In purple batik.

  26. Jackie Sue says:

    What would I do!? I would see if any go with my current projects. I had come across a disappearing 4-Patch quilt that may go well with these treasures!!! 🙂 Fun fun!!!
    *hugs*
    Jackie(at)jackiesue.com

  27. Jackie Sue says:

    I am subscribed to this blog getting your posts in my email 🙂
    *hugs*
    Jackie(at)jackiesue.com

  28. Krista says:

    I just love everyone’s poems! Here’s my contribution:

    colours splash our eyes
    friendship stars dance together
    beautiful rainbow

  29. Jackie Sue says:

    favorite color: dark red (maroon)
    favorite traditional quilt block: Heart (http://www.quilt.com/BlockOfTheMonth/1998/Heart.html)

    My submitted Haiku for you:

    a heart full of love
    beating deep dark red for all
    unconditional


    Wow I did it! You sure challenged me!!! Thanks! 🙂
    *hugs*
    Jackie(at) jackiesue.com

  30. donna clary says:

    I have an Aunt that is 85 years old who still loves to make quilt tops, and nothing makes her happier than for someone to give her a piece of beautiful fabric. She cuts her shapes using scissors the old fashion way, these squares would make it easier for her to design her top…..thank you for the chance to win……donna

  31. Carrie says:

    Oo! I’d love some charms!

  32. Carrie says:

    And now for a haiku:

    Simple nine patch squares
    Tiny straight needle stitches
    Son needs a new quilt

  33. wendyworn says:

    I am brand new to quilting. I have no stash, except that I am starting to buy little grab bags because fabric is expensive! I would use the stash to make a couple lap quilts or one big?

    Beginning quilter
    Ripping up old clothes to start
    Heard there are no rules

  34. Dawn says:

    I would use them to add color and variety to my stash reduction projects. Because I am in a use it up mode, I am finding that much of what I have to use up is more traditional style fabrics, without as much flair. These would perk those otherwise boring quilts right up.

  35. quirksltd says:

    Wow–great giveaway! And winning or not, you have sparked the idea for how I am going to do my next set of experiments! That’s even better for me…..wait, wait–I don’t want to give up the possibility of winning!

    Orange is playful
    Unique design is a must
    Art quilt I will make

  36. Kris says:

    I would love the charms to make some charity quilts I am working on. What creative minds as well as hands – great poems!!

    Here is my limerick:

    It’s Utah I call home,
    It’s hot, hot, hot, so I don’t roam,
    I stay inside to quilt, quilt, quilt,
    Otherwise I’d wilt, wilt, wilt.
    I think I just wrote a poem!!!

    Haiku:

    My soul love a quilt
    quiet and safe
    I’m stilled

  37. I do not know about all you readers out there, but personally I am enjoying the poetic offerings, be they serious or silly. Thanks for participating, invite your friends!

  38. Cecilia says:

    I can’t think of a limmerick right now, but I would add the squares to my stash of 5 inch squares and make a scrap quilt. Thanks for the giveaway.

  39. Pingback: The Ladies’ Ripping Society…and enter the July Charm Squares Giveaway! | The Curious Quilter

  40. Jeanette pilson says:

    Love your blog! Am always interested in seeing what people are doing sewing and quilting.

  41. I would combine these charms with some neutral solids and give them to my daughter and tell her to go for it. She (age 10) is really enjoying piecing right now and those squares are just her speed. It would probably be a charitable donation when she was finished. Fun for her and good for others. Thanks for the chance.

  42. Jenni Kift says:

    I would make a gorgeous, quilt the colors are so nice. I would love them to fly all the way Australia , Tasmania. for me to sew . I would be thrilled.

  43. Pingback: The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  44. Haiku:
    The carpeting holds
    All of the threads of my life
    That fell off the table

    Limerick:
    There once was a quilter named Sue
    Met a long armer man in the loo
    They bumped and grinded
    Til someone minded
    And banged on the door with her shoe.

    I could go on forever and I just might be back with more.

  45. Uh oh…I didn’t read the instructions before submitting my prior comment and have to write more poetry. Oh well, at least it’s fun

    My yellow couch is
    A haven for cats and charm
    Quilts…no room for me

    An Ohio Star
    Was found in skies of Maine
    Near a red sunset.

    There once was a quilter named Sue
    Whose wedding ring fell in the stew
    Orangish and brownish
    It bubbled and drownished
    The ring ’til it had turned blue.

    A quilter named Joy said one day
    Please help me pick colors of hay
    For cabin of log
    And borders that hog
    All the space on my new duvet.

    A blogger of quilts one day
    Posted a message that say
    Gimme the charm pack
    Or suffer the bad hack
    Destroying your blog for pay

    Whaddya think? Am I a talented poet?

  46. Jennifer says:

    I would make a snowball quilt with the charms. Your story of home ec is so sad. Glad I just sewed with my mom and at my local quilt stores.

  47. Terry says:

    Great giveaway! Hope my one entry is lucky because I’m not a poet! LOL I’d use the charms to make my daughter a quilt. I owe her one! :0)

  48. JoAnne says:

    Pick me, pick me so I can make another quilt top! I’m becoming a topper!

  49. Sandra Davidson says:

    I would make a charity quilt for a child ,maybe an I Spy type

  50. Sandra Davidson says:

    I have joined your blog, unfortunately I have no poetry in me.

  51. Meri says:

    Fun, fun!
    Patriotic quilts are my fav,
    Red, white and blue I must wave,
    With each stitch I delight,
    It must be in my sight,
    I’m no longer a quilter, I’m slave!

  52. Linda says:

    A friend of mine just sent me one of her designs to make a quilt from charms…and I don’t have enough yet!

    (Hope the link works!)

  53. Meri says:

    Oh, yes…I’d make a quilt for a friend that’s undergoing twice-weekly dialysis treatments. She brings a rather humble looking blanket with her…I’ thought wouldn’t that be special for her to have her own “lovey” quilt? It’s on my to-do list…

  54. Sarah C. says:

    Hi! I would use the charm pack to make some more Jacob’s Ladder quilts for our quilt ministry! I’ve found a pattern that can be made completely with 5″ squares, so I’m in the process of converting my scrap box into charms so we can make these quickly!

  55. Sarah C. says:

    I’m now subscribing to your blog!

  56. Sarah C. says:

    And here’s my limerick –

    There once was a quilter from Breen
    With a nine-patch designed for a queen
    She started with jade
    But it didn’t get made
    ‘Til she switched to a bright shade of pea!

  57. Jeane says:

    I would make prairie points with the charms to use on a very summery patchwork quilt.

  58. gladys says:

    I would use the charms in making a favorite scrap quilt.
    So here’s my limerick:

    My favorite quilt is a sampler
    I guess I’m quite a rambler
    A block, can’t choose just one
    I like having all the fun
    In posting to win, I’ve become a gambler!

    I’ve enjoyed reading all that post
    Don’t know which one I like the most
    I confess, I have no guilts
    To being addicted to quilts
    Better get back to work or I’m toast!

  59. Melissa R says:

    Hi – I came here from Stash Manicure. I’ve got a small stash, but winning 80 charm squares would fatten it up quite a bit. 🙂 When I think about what I would do with them, I would separate them and give most of them away, probably!! 🙂 My church makes small quilts for babies in the NICU of the local hospital, so I’d add to that stash. And I’d keep my favorites for myself. 🙂

  60. Melissa R says:

    You are so easy
    Robbing Peter to Pay Paul
    In rainbow colors

    (I’d love to see that made, actually!!)

  61. Jane says:

    I’m new to quilting, so this would be lovely stash to make a lovely quilt

  62. carla louise says:

    I would love to make a tote bag with those delicious looking squares! Thanks for letting me enter your giveaway!

  63. Val Laird says:

    All that gorgeous colour – they would have to go into a quilt!

  64. Val Laird says:

    A quilter named Val made a mess;
    She took a long time to confess.
    Her pinwheel was blue
    But needed some glue
    To get matching seams, more or less.

  65. Deb says:

    I would use the scraps to make a small scrappy quilt! Sounds like a fun end-of-summer project. Thanks for the chance.

  66. Deb says:

    I also just signed up for email subscription to your blog.

  67. Dot says:

    Hi! First off, I’m already subscribed to your blog via My Yahoo. So there!

    Second, I’m gathering 5″ charm squares to have a Mother-daughter quilting day at our church–even though I have no daughter. 😦 I’ll have to adopt one for the day!

    Third, and only because you asked:

    Mesmerizing sight:
    Needle, thread, and fabric join
    In art and comfort.

    and

    There once was a quilter named Dot
    Who was stashless; or so she had thought.
    But from projects she’d made
    Scraps and snippets remained,
    So in truth, she had quite a lot!

    Thanks ever so–this was fun!

  68. Patty says:

    I would use them to make a quilt for my daughter. She’s been asking for a scrappy quilt and the charms would be perfect.

  69. Patty says:

    I am a new subscriber

  70. Patty says:

    Piles and piles of green
    the prettiest fabrics you’ve seen
    they are ready to be cut
    but I’ve been in such a rut
    Some inspiration would really be keen

  71. Linda W says:

    I’m thinking a lovely lap quilt – using the charms to create a 4-patch and then sashed with 2″ white (or cream); simple but elegant with the fabrics. I was just telling my family at lunch today how much a dislike rhymes since I read all those rhyming books when they were toddlers. So I’ll skip the rhymes and enjoy colors instead!

  72. I am a new follower and a new member of the Bloggerette Society. I am making my rounds to “meet” all of the lovely ladies in the society. I would love for you to visit me @ http://www.mommiesandbeyond.com
    I would happily use these in my first patch work quilt. I have never seen a quilt made so im starting simple

  73. Naomi Vela says:

    Hmmmm as there’s 80 of them, I’d make a bag, use some in a table runner and if there’s any left over, make some 9 patches to have on stand by. Hugs Naomi

  74. Naomi Vela says:

    I’m now a subscriber to your blog. Hugs Naomi

  75. Naomi Vela says:

    Gulp….brain now in meltdown mode after having to work…lol Here’s my Haiku for what it’s worth!

    The Colour Purple
    Exploding Pineapple Block
    Is my hearts’ design!

    Hugs Naomi

  76. Pingback: No Apologies, Please! | The Curious Quilter

  77. I would probably organize them by color and do monochromatic quilts.
    I’m going to add your give away to a post on my blog!
    http://www.lemonwoodclock.wordpress.com

  78. nanayane says:

    I am a follower of you blog….can’t get enough of other quilter’s follies! not my hyku

    I will sew silly
    charity lovies sweetly
    preemies at risk love

    I sew for preemies and newborns at risk…your charms will look just lovely blended with some girl/boy sashing and quilted up with a massive dash of love!
    thankyou for your kind attention!
    !elaine
    http://yanezweelovies.wordpress.com

  79. howtobejenna says:

    What a lovely giveaway! I would use these squares to make a quilt for the wonderful babies in my life!

  80. howtobejenna says:

    And here’s my haiku!

    Follow the movement
    Forward, backward, side to side
    My dutchman’s puzzle

    howtobejenna.wordpress.com

  81. Melinda says:

    Oh, I *love* charm squares!!! I am working on some lap quilts for chemo patients at Baptist Hospital where my mom volunteers. These would be lovely!~

  82. Melinda says:

    Subscribed via email! 🙂

  83. Melinda says:

    Beautiful batik
    Oh, how do I love you so
    Each design unique

    🙂 Hey, that was fun!

  84. Melinda says:

    Oops, I didn’t use quilt block pattern:

    Lovely green batiks
    Make beautiful snowflakes each
    design is unique

    How’s that? ~blush~

  85. Joanna says:

    The squares are beautiful, and very colorful. I think I would use them to make a lapghan, and if I had any leftover, to make a runner.

  86. Joanna says:

    I have subscribed to your blog. Thanks for the giveaway.

  87. Joanna says:

    It’s old and simple and plain
    A log cabin is easy, not a pain.
    A red one is right
    With contrast of white
    That’s my favorite block, never made in vain.

  88. Lina Fryckman says:

    I would love to win these little squares to put in my scrappy Triple Irish Chain (currently a UFO!)

  89. Shane says:

    golden quilt hanging
    above my bed covered with
    bear paw prints in browns

  90. Sarah C says:

    I would use them to make playscape items – trees, animals, etc – for my daughter. They are the perfect size!

  91. Sarah C says:

    I subscribed via email! soluckyducky at gmaildot com

  92. Pingback: Tidbits, Contests, and Such | The Curious Quilter

  93. Rockgranny says:

    What would I do? First I would look and admire those wonderful pieces of colours.
    Then I’ll introduce them to the other members of my stash family.Then I’ll grab a cup of coffee and pull out my magazines to find suitable project. Then I ‘ll put my thinking hat on and start making plans how to use them. And then I’ll wake up…
    Keep sewing & smiling

    Simona

  94. Sue K says:

    A little late to the party but I’ve just discovered Schnibbles. I would use these charms to make the most adorable little Schnibble quilt so please please pick me!!!! 🙂
    Sue K

  95. I would make them into a quilt. I know, shocker! I just made a new design for charm squares so I would try them out on that.

  96. I love to get charms for free
    My money stays with me
    my hubby don’t fret
    free fabric I get
    and my stash grows more colorful, see?

  97. Mimi says:

    Thank you for an awesome giveaway!! I would have to look at the fabric pieces and decide what they want to be…. something will be perfect. Thanks for the chance and your generosity.

  98. Mimi says:

    I have so enjoyed reading the poems – quilters are creative in so many ways…. here is my attempt:

    Pinwheels spinning out
    Variety in colour
    Spirits lifted high

    That was fun!

  99. Mimi says:

    I am a subscriber and look forward to more fun that you dream up!!

  100. Oh! Look at the goodies there. I do lap quilts for the local nursing home and an organization we formcd to facilitate the distribution of charity quilts via a huge show of them in the Spring every year. Lots and lots of work, but it feels so good.

    Black quilt on the wall
    What are those white things I see
    Thread tails I must clip

    Quilt placed in their hands
    Hospital bed forgotten
    Hearts warmed, bodies heal

    glen of Quilts and Dogs

  101. Laura says:

    I’m brand new here and had to bid like the dickens to get the 10 inch squares that i hope to learn to use. Im in Cana,Va right now I live sort of in the fingerlakes of New York. My mom is on hospice and Ive discovered quilting to keep my fingers and mind busy.
    I have no clever poem…so I will use what comes to mind …
    Dear Lord, Please let me find peace and comfort in quilting and if you can’t manage that please put a hand over my mouth and take my keyboard away if frustration over takes the beginner 🙂 haha

  102. Judy Purman says:

    I would use them to make a quilt!

  103. PaulaK says:

    I am putting together a gift for a quilting friend who has found herself on hard times after the passing of her husband, both financially and emotionally. I have been cutting 5″ squares on each of my fabrics for her and I would love to add your charms to the package. Sewing is very therapeutic for her and she loves to make charm quilts to give as gifts.

  104. Laura M says:

    I would make a quilt for son #3, who is still quiltless at 17 months of age (hanging my head in shame…). I find I can sew with 3 little ones around, but cutting with the rotary makes me a bit nervous. Thanks for this chance!

  105. Okay, I’ll do all three in one comment.
    1. I’m leaving a comment.
    2. I signed on for a subscription.
    3. Windmills make my day.
    Red and white, my centers touch.
    Warming masterpiece.

    Have a great day!

  106. Annmarie says:

    I’ve been making “coin” quilts for charity so those 80 charms would work up as 160 coins – WOOO HOOO! Thanks for the fun – reading all the limericks was great. I’m going to go weed now & try to think one up!

  107. Nancy Sue Phillips says:

    Warning: Groaner alert for the following limerick. It’s a cheeser!

    I’m a mommy who’s partial to periwinkle,
    But don’t have a lot of time to tinkle.
    My son soon will be three,
    So I’ll have more time to pee,
    And work on my favorite block, “Twinkle Twinkle”.

    I sort of cheated. My favorite block’s name is Starshine…. close enough….
    nsue21702 at gmail dot com

  108. Nancy Sue Phillips says:

    Am working on a basket quilt and these charms would be perfect for the various squares (flowers) in the baskets!
    nsue21702 at gmail dot com

  109. Carol in E TN says:

    I would add some solids and make a fabulous scrappy quilt!

  110. Carol in E TN says:

    I subscribed to your blog!

  111. kathleen c in ct says:

    I’d love to add these squares to my fabrics, especially because I haven’t purchased much fabric lately. I know I would use the squares for a scrap quilt divided into light, medium and dark values. Thanks very much. K.

  112. kathleen c in ct says:

    I’ve signed up for your subscription, with my email address. I’m very glad that I came here when I was browsing the quilty blogs. Thanks.

  113. kathleen c in ct says:

    I will make a quilt
    In colors blue, green, golden
    An evening star

    Thanks for this haiku challenge; my first ever. Kathleen

Leave a Reply

