Giveaway #2: Celebrating 500.000 hits

This giveaway is now closed. Update June1, 2014: thanks for the great song suggestions! I made two hats full of comments, and asked my birthday boy son (30-something) to draw. Congrats to Angie S who gets Fabric Artistry. Angie suggested a tune about the not always nice quilt police. And congrats to Janet J. who wins Row by Row. Her tuneful thought was a song set to Move Like Jagger by Maroon 5.

This month is slipping by so fast, and I am late with getting this giveaway going. But here it is! This round I am giving away two books. When you enter, tell me which one you want, and I will draw for each.

Fabric Artistry Cover

Fabric Artistry applique jacket detail

An embellished jacket from Fabric Artistry.

The first book is for all sewers, not just quilters. It is an oldie but goodie. Fabric Artistry is a Singer production from 1996, and chock-full of techniques and projects for embellishing clothing, pillows, and anything made from fabric. This copy was in my local used bookstore but show absolutely no signs of wear.

If you have every wondered how to do openwork, cutwork, weaving on fabric, embossed velvet, pleating, trapunto, couching, double needle trim, and other embellishments, there are detailed directions and projects for all in this book.

Row Quilts from AnniesNext I have a brand new book, just issued this month. Row Quilts by Annie’s has several projects, for beginners to intermediate quilters. All the quilts are assembled row by row, but some include stars, patchwork, or even pieced fish! Click on the book title to see an Amazon preview of some projects. Both of these books would be great additions to any quilter’s library!

TO ENTER: Leave a comment here and suggest a tune or a topic for a future Curious Quilter’s Glee Club performance! If you aren’t familiar with the Glee Club, click here to see some of the posts that include classics like “Shall We Sew?” I am really hoping to expand our non-Christmas set of tunes, and would love to hear your ideas. THEN tell me which of the two books you want. I will draw two winners on May 31, 2014.

Again, leave a comment stating which book you prefer, AND suggesting a tune or topic for a CQ Glee Club song. Open to International readers, of course!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot com
AMB Blog Tour Widget buttonAre you following the fun on the American Made Brand Blog Tour? Some of the state license plates are stunning! My turn will be June 9th, when you will see the Minnesota license plate, and have a chance to win some of these great new solid fabrics. But don’t wait! All 50 blogs have giveaways! Visit the Blog Tour website for the updated list of blogs–and visit them all between May 19-June 20, 2014!
Needle and thread line copyright The Curious Quilter at WordPress dot comGiveaway #2: Celebrating 500.000 hits © 2014 by The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. All rights reserved.

About thecuriousquilter

Quilter, sewer, writer, gardener, mother, sister, friend, always learning, always curious.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Giveaway #2: Celebrating 500.000 hits

  1. jfruehwirth says:

    If I am so lucky to be a winner, row quilts would be my choice!  Thanks again on continuing to  keep inspiring all of us qilters.  I love checking the creativity that we all bring to the table.  Keep piecing!

  2. Diane Bowron says:

    I would choose Row Quilts. Hope I win!

  3. Bonnie Sharpe says:

    I have sewn forever but quilting is my choice for the past 4 years. I love the challenge and I would love to try row quilts. Thanks for sharing your passion about quilting! .

  4. Jenny says:

    This is new to me so excuse me if I get it wrong but how about a topic about Bees! The sewing kind that is. There are many bee songs which would fit. An old British comedian called Arthur Askey used to sing a Bee song which started “oh what a wonderful thing to be, a healthy grown up busy, busy bee ….” You can google it. It was a silly song but as a child I used to love it.

  5. Jenny says:

    Forgot to say which book I would like to win. I would love the quilting one.

  6. Narelle says:

    “Row Quilts” sounds exciting to me … building a quilt row by row. I like to watch my postage stamp quilt grow block by block although it’s ever so slowly.
    Thank you for the chance to win :o)

  7. Betsy says:

    The happy song by Farrell. I like the row by row book

  8. Jean Benson Thompson says:

    I would love to win the Book ” Fabric Artistry” and My song suggestion would be for the Glee Club is ” Somewhere over the Rainbow of Fabric” ! ! :D Both Books would be a Great addition to anyone’s personal Library….

  9. PeginCO says:

    Row quilts would be my choice. And oh, oh, oh – you’ve GOT to do “Silver Threads and Golden Needles” written by Jack Rhodes and Dick Reynolds, many different singers – Wanda Jackson, Linda Ronstadt, and the Honky Tonk Angels (Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette, and Loretta Lynn) among others. So much potential there for some fun switched up lyrics. :)

  10. Angie S says:

    Fabric artistry! I want to learn cut work! I think we need a song about the quilt police! I quit my guild because of the whispering that was rampant.

  11. Mindy says:

    If i win Id like the Row quilts book. My song suggestion would by ‘Happy’ by Pharrel Williams. Wait!! I see someone beat me to that suggeation… How about the ‘I adore you’ song by myley cyrus?

  12. minibea12 says:

    I’d love to win the quilting book! My tune would be The Climb!

  13. Janet J. says:

    Row by row, for sure! I was actually looking at it in a shop.

    I think that Move Like Jagger by Maroon 5 would be a great tune for a glee club song. Loved the Christmas carols this year.

  14. Deb Lovejoy says:

    How about one with a topic about Sunbonnet Sue and/or Sam? I would love to receive the row quilt book. Fairly new to quilting but I am loving it as I learn and get better at it :)

  15. Mary K says:

    I just want to say thanks fir the chance. I would love the row quilt book. I have a friend I would gift this to because I ordered this from Amazon and I am waiting for it to arrive. Congrats on such a good blog.

  16. Shar says:

    How about “Leaving on a jet plane”? You could say “Sewing on a jet plane”. I think I will pick the Row Quilts book.

  17. Mary K says:

    I forgot the song or theme. How about a suuny warm type Christmas. Not everyone has cold weather or snow. (I like the snowy Christmas though)

  18. buntyw says:

    I like the Row Quilts book!
    How about Stairway to Heaven ? heaven of course being full of fabric!!

  19. Star Murell says:

    I would love the new book ‘Row Quilts’, as a new quilter, I need all the help I can get. My song suggestion would be “Frosty the Throw Quilt”. Thank you.

  20. Row quilts would be my pick, I am just learning and really enjoy learning about the craft. My song suggestion would be “Where the Stars and Stripes and the Eagles Fly” by Aaron Tippin

  21. djmat says:

    Wagner’s Ride of the Valkyries would be a lot of fun to make up humorous lyrics to, just envision the needles going through fabric like horses with a wild woman urging the horses forward. Fabric Artistry book sounds interesting & fun. Thank you for your consideration.

  22. Dorothy Schreyer says:

    I would love your new book, Row Quilts, as for a song, I am so not good with things like that, but maybe the song by Ray Boltz, Thank You, you could say you got to ‘quilter’s heaven’, you had a chance to thank the people who influenced your sewing/quilting.

  23. Beth T. says:

    “Row Quilting” would be my choice, and here is my suggestion: (sung to the tune of ‘Good Morning’ from Singing in the Rain) “Good Quilting, Good Quilting, we’ve sewn the whole night through, good quilting, good quilting, with you!”

  24. Iris says:

    The new book “Row Quilts” would be my choice – and what about “… what a wonderful Quilt” – sung to “Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong.

  25. How about FrereJaque…”I am quilting. I am quilting. Until dawn. Until dawn.” And the Row Quilts book would be my choice.

  26. ROberta Wilson says:

    I would love the row quilting book. My song choice would be You are my sunshine. I think quilting lyrics would fit that song but i am biased to that being from Louisiana.
    thank you and congratulations

  27. Barbie Kanta says:

    Strangers in the Night….? “Stitchers in the Night exchanging glances, wondering in the night, what we’re the chances- we would finish a row before the Night was through….” Row Quilts of course!

  28. Sheila Davidson says:

    The Row Quilting book would be my choice. As for the song, “This little quilt of mine, I’m gonna let it shine”.

  29. Janet J. says:

    Oh, thank you! I’m excited to get this book. My daughter is expecting twins in August, I have some quilting to do!!

Leave a Reply

