Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club

Christmas Tunes from the Curious Quilter Glee ClubThe CQ Glee Club simply cannot resist a chance to share some holiday cheer with you. I hope you will all sing along loudly, in any key or language!

In November, The Curious Quilter had a giveaway, and people shared their lists of things to sew before Christmas. The insanity of it all lead to The Mad Quilter’s Ball. Reality has now set in, so it is time to own up to the unfinished projects. It is okay, singing about them is good therapy. Name them, claim them, and let them go! Then have some fun with a few other songs.

The Twelve Gifts Not Finished
Sung to the tune of The Twelve Days of Christmas.
Note: I am only posting a few verses, but think you can wing it from there. This song is very repetitive!

Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club - bellsThe first gift for Christmas
That I did not get done:
A king-sized quilt that wasn’t much fun.

The second thing for Christmas
That I did not get done:
Two tote bags,
And a king-sized quilt that wasn’t much fun.

The third thing for Christmas
That I did not get done:
Three mug rugs,
Two tote bags,
And a king-sized quilt that wasn’t much fun.

Keep singing ALL the other verses, ending with:

Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club - carolersThe twelfth thing for Christmas
That I did not get done:
Twelve small wall hangings,
Eleven hearts for trimming,
Ten Christmas stockings,
Nine new potholders,
Eight fancy aprons,
Seven pillowcases,
Six placemat sets,
Five baby quilts!
Four table runners,
Three mug rugs,
Two tote bags,
And a king-sized quilt that wasn’t much fun.

Let Me Sew!
Sung to the tune of Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow!

Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club - snowOh the pattern I’ve picked is striking,
The fabric to my liking,
It’s washed and all set to go.
Let me sew! Let me sew! Let me sew!

I intend to have fun while cutting,
My skills I will be strutting.
On to piecing I’ll gladly go,
Let me sew! Let me sew! Let me sew!

When I’m finished with this new quilt,
On some old UFO’s I will start.
But for now I will feel no guilt,
I’m happy to practice my art.

My seams I will soon be pressing,
My blocks will be progressing.
My smile, how it will glow.
Let me sew! Let me sew! Let me sew!

Tillie, the Red-Thumbed Quilter
Sung to the tune of Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer.

Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club - notesTillie, the red-thumbed quilter,
Had a very well pricked thumb.
And if you ever saw it,
You would think it must be numb.

All of the other quilters
Sympathized and gave advice,
Some even talked about her,
Which was never very nice!

Then one fateful Christmas Day
Tillie was heard to say,
“Dearie me, my thumb’s so sore,
“I can’t hand-quilt anymore.”

But all her friends said, “Oh no!
“Tillie you must never stop!”
So they gave Tillie thimbles,
And took her to a fabric shop.

Next week, when a more routine lifestyle is sounding good, gather a few fellow quilters and sing this final song together in a round.

Christmas is Over
Sung to the tune of Christmas is Coming, the Goose is Getting Fat.

Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club - notes2Christmas is over, the gifts stripped of their wraps,
All of the relatives have gone home for their naps.
I had fun while it lasted, but I’m ready to move on,
For the food is all devoured and the cookies gone!

Christmas has ended, the house is mine again!
Take down the tree and trims and find my Zen.
Can I please take out my quilting? Can I get back to my craft?
If I cannot touch some fabric soon, I may go daft!

Christmas is finished, the shopping rush is done.
Off to the fabric store to have some fun!
If I cannot buy some yardage, then a fat quarter will do,
If I want more than a fat quarter, then I’ll get two!

Mary, The Curious Quilter
Best wishes to you and yours as you celebrate your own holidays! – Mary, The Curious Quilter


Past CQ Glee Club posts:


©2010, The Curious Quilter, thecuriousquilter.net, maryeoriginals.com. Individuals and guilds may copy for personal or group singing, but not for publication without permission.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club

  1. Carole says:

    TEARS here! Especially the last one – I want to find MY ZEN too!

  2. susan says:

    Merry Christmas and thank you for the smile that your songs brought.

  3. Pingback: Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious … | Glee Antics

  4. I know a group of singers who make great quilters … I am sure they won’t do justice to the music, but the words will entertain!

    Judy B

  5. Merry Christmas! I hope you have a wonderful holiday. :)

  6. Pingback: Christmas Tunes from The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious …Quilt patterns | Quilt patterns

  7. Martin says:

    Miss Merry Mary Sunshine, you do keep us smiling!

    Humbug, I have NO unfinished holiday gifts! (But three new UFO’s, oops!)

  8. Donna says:

    My name may not be Tillie, but my thumb was red when I first learned to hand-quilt! I love the “Christmas is finished” one!!!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughtful creativity with all of us this year, and Merry Christmas to all!

  9. Lynda in Spokane says:

    Mary~

    These are just fabulous Christmas gifts to us, your singing (slightly offkey!) public! Many thanks. The Spokane Fireside Quilters will be singing these at our Fall Retreat in the North Idaho woods. Talk about inspiration to get all our projects completed! Great job.

    Merry Christmas and many thanks for all your posts,

    Lynda in Spokane

  10. MJ says:

    Awesome blog! I found you through Holly Jolly Blog Bingo. Happy Holidays to you.

  11. grami says:

    I am just wandering the Blog Roll from Holly Jolly Blog Bingo. You have such a cheerful blog!! The songs are wonderful, put a smile on my face!
    Happy Holidays,
    grami

  12. Love your Christmas songs! Every year I have high hopes of having an all handmade Christmas, but it never happens. This year I saved myself from the failure, and didn’t plan any handmade.
    BTW I found you from the Holly Jolly Blog:)

  13. JayTee says:

    loved the songs

  14. Pingback: Karaoke Revolution Glee

  15. thank you for posting the Christmas sewing carols I laughed so much whilst trying to sing them that has really brightened my morning I will be in a very good mood today thanks to you ttfn Nicole.
    Merry Christmas
    &
    Happy New Year

  16. Shasta says:

    These are great! I especially like Let me Sew!

  17. Pingback: Finally Spring, Time to Sing | The Curious Quilter

  18. Pingback: The Curious Quilter Glee Club | The Curious Quilter

  19. Pingback: The CQ Glee Club Holiday Tunes | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

